This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 321-330 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Royal Albatross
UK

"Overnight at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2008
"Olive Grove was easy to find and is out of the main Windhoek centre, so was quiet during our visit.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful - it was a lovely start to our vacation. The dinner was very good and there is a nice lounge area to relax in, as well are restful outdoor area.

We found our room a little spartan and stubbed our toes and knees on the concrete bed frames more than once during our overnight stay!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Artist
Connecticut

"very pleasant place and delicious kudu stake"

1 night Arrived 28 Mar 2008
"noisy room [number one] no mosquito net and some of them.....very good food
inspite of no mosquito nets very recommendable place / rooms upstairs are less noisy" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr I
Combs

"Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Windhoek."

1 night Arrived 4 Jan 2008
"Excellent food, great rooms, good service, convenient location, wonderful hosts with charming staff." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 28 Dec 2007
"Pleasant place to adjust to traffic and crowds.

The manager was able to let us keep our room until noon which meant we could do some last minute shopping in Windhoek." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr J
Rose

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2007
"FANTASTIC.., We will return to start and end another adventure. Rooms and staff great. Food the best.
Thank you" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J & L
UK

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"This was a bigger setup than we had realised and for some reason we weren't too taken with it. Nothing specific as the rooms were good so I can't really explain why we felt slightly unhappy here. Perhaps it was because it was the end of the holiday!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"Elegant and realxed start to our holiday"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2007
"Lindy and Roger were lovely hosts, and we really liked the quiet elegance of the Olive Grove with the Morooccan feel to the rooms and decking. We did not have dinner there but thoroughly enjoyed a meal at Joe's, which was recommended by Lindy.

I also thought it really sensible that the soaps and lotions came in big bottles rather than many hotels which give little amounts in small plastic bottles which clutter up washbags and are not environmentally sound at all. Having a his and her basin was a lovely luxury and a jar of cookies with the tea and coffee a nice touch!

Thanks for a really enjoyable start to our adventure in Namibia." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr Sand Martin
UK

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2007
"A pleasant location to stay in WIndhoek. It's a lovely place and is in easy walking distance of the shops in WIndhoek." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs K
Toro

"Lovely stay at Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2007
"Cannot say enough good things about this little gem: supreme comfort, with many thoughful touches and attention to detail by warm and welcoming owners was in evidence all the way through. The minimilast decor may not be to all tastes, but we found it attractive and in harmony with the surroundings. Large airy room with French Doors leading to terrace: plenty of storage space, minibar (same prices as bar), coffee/tea tray with home-made cookies.

Spacious en-suite with quality toiletries, hairdryer, fine cotton robes, and artisan candles for that romantic bath. Breakfast from a comprehensive menu served on the patio:dinner by request. Just because nothing is absolutely perfect I would mention that a luggage stand would be useful for guests on an overnight who will not be unpacking.

We were sorry to have only one night. We had originally wanted to add a couple of days to the Bateleur but were not attracted by either Eningo (OK for overnight) or Okonjima (I am against monitoring devices on wildlife). Should you have a similar request, you might suggest a pre-safari stay at Olive Grove relaxing on the sundeck by the pool, and then daytrips for sightseeing into Windhoek and surroundings." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
B & F
Hexham

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"Really nice place and would highly recommend it.

Embarassingly we realised when we got to the airport that none of us had left the staff tip - many apologies." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 321-330 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (6 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa