This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel

Reviews of Vineyard Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

53 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Vineyard Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 53
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Twickenham

"Vineyard Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2018
"Stuart and Sue didn't stay here (our friends did)." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs J
Bristol

"Beautiful hotel in a great location"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2018
"This is a really wonderful hotel with the best breakfasts I have ever had - sitting outside with a great view of Table Mountain.The hotel is slightly out of Cape Town but there is a regular shuttle or the hotel will send a taxi for you (about 20 minutes). The room was extremely comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. A relaxing place to stay away from the bustle of the waterfront but with easy access to the centre." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Romsey

"Nice rooms and good location"

4 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2018
"Vineyard hotel was ideally located for getting out of Cape Town to go to other places. The rooms were nice and large and the pool was lovely. The gardens were well kept and it was nice to see tortoises and different birds roaming around. The breakfast was lovely, and we would highly recommend the eggs benedict. However, we did have trouble eating in the restaurants in the evening - we had tried to book to eat in the bar for evening we arrived but were told we could not book, then we tried to eat there that evening but there were no tables due to a conference having been on during the day. We ate in their main restaurant on that first night and the bar the next, but we were not impressed with either food. Overpriced and got our orders wrong, the food was then not brilliant either. The pool food was good however and so were the milkshakes. Would stay here again but would book to eat out every night. " See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & family
Lincs

"Vineyard Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2018
"The beds were comfortably. The room had no view to speak of and was on the dark side.

The food in the bar (when you could get a seat) was not good.

In the restaurant the breakfast was good, the evening meals were not." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Great start at Vineyard"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2017
"We really enjoyed our stay here.

The garden suite we had was a bit removed from the main hotel giving us a great deal of privacy.

The kids also really enjoyed the tortoises around the property." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Comfortable hotel with excellent facilities"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2017
"We had a mountain view overlooking the gardens and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Car parking was good and secure. We enjoyed the riverside walk to the vineyard itself, a project in partnership with local producers whose excellent wines feature on the hotel wine lists. We enjoyed dinner in The Square restaurant twice with an excellent pianist one evening and a harpist the other.

The food was excellent and service at dinner was very good, but that at breakfast less so. The buffet was very good but the availability of coffee was inconsistent.

We ate outside the hotel one evening. We tried to book a taxi through the Guest Relations desk. It didn't materialise but the hotel organised a replacement immediately so it all worked out OK. " See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"See previous"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Vineyard Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2017
"A lovely hotel and it is an oasis of calm near the centre of Capetown.

The rooms are very well appointed although the view from the Mountain cheaper room was better than the more expensive courtyard room we had initially.

Myogi restaurant food unbelievable but service not up to the same standard. Gym good. Some staff excellent, some staff what you'd expect in rather a large hotel.

Overall it was comfy and nice but it didn't quite live up to it's billing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Nottingham

"Super holiday at the Vineyard Hotel"

7 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2017
"We have stayed here before and it was as good as ever.

The key ingredient is the staff who are wonderful, always cheerful and helpful and make you feel that they really care about your comfort.

The surroundings (garden and view of mountain) are wonderful and the place retains its individual character while offering every comfort.

Definitely not a plastic, could be anywhere hotel which is why we like it." See all these reviews: 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Vineyard Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Talk about saving the best till last! We had opted for a "garden cottage" - little were we to know that the cottage in question was a huge first floor flat, with 2 double bedrooms, bathrooms, etc., within the beautiful gardens of this fabulous 5* hotel, nestled in the foothills of Table Mountain, which formed a stunning backdrop. It was a little way out of the centre of Cape Town, but we didn't find this a problem, as we had a car. Its location was perfect for getting to Kirstenbosch.

Everything about the hotel was quality, and we wanted for nothing. The travel desk staff were also very helpful when we had problems checking in for our return flight to Cape Town. Worth every penny!" See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 53
93%
53 reviews of Vineyard Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
15
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa