This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mdonya Old River Camp
Mdonya Old River Camp
Mdonya Old River Camp
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp


7°41’7.0"S 34°39’3.2"E

Reviews of Mdonya Old River Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

124 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mdonya Old River Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mdonya Old River Camp.
Lion

92% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

17% success

Wild dog

27% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

83% success

Hippo

75% success

Eland

46% success

Spotted Hyena

27% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Striped Hyena

10% success

Sable antelope

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 124
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Ms ES
Hornsea

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"Scotty asked for a mosquito net but didn't get one, he told Micole that he was allergic to bites of certain insects.

Our guide and driver( emanuel and knight) were excellent, and suceeded in making our stay at that camp worth while, we went out every day and had breakfast and lunch in the bush which was excellent but the food left alot to be desired....

Did not enjoy the food and it was always cold.

We felt the camp was tired and needed an overhaul, but as we said above, the guide and driver made this stay here a plus." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Vanbrugh

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Excellent setting, with elephants right outside our tent in the afternoons.

Very well organised camp, lovely food every night and we enjoyed drinks by the fire and communal meals. Nicole was a brilliant host, and very knowledgable and obliging. Tents were good and spaced out nicely. Guides brilliant and very enthusiastic and professional.

Lovely having lunch out in the bush . . an amazing 'packed lunch' - the most delicious selection of hot food. We loved it here." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Devon

"Honeymoon at Mdonya Old River"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"A long drive from the airstrip provided some excellent game viewing on our journey to camp where we were greeted with a warm welcome from Mcol and her team. Although this camp is more basic than some others it has everything that you need and has a more isolated feel. Campfires, elephants at breakfast and showers under the stars make for a magical experience.

We had different guides each day at this camp, Geremia, Zakaria and Giovanni were all exceptionally good. With their drivers it amazes us how they spot thing with the naked eye that you struggle to see when its pointed out to you!
A walk down the river with Evans the ranger was also well worth doing. Crocodiles & Hippos are really close and leaving the vehicle behind makes it very peaceful.

The communal meals under the stars have a lovely atmosphere and give a chance to meet and swap stories. the food was delicious and full of surprises, we did not expect lasagne and apple pie in the middle of the bush! On the last night the Mdonya team surprised us with a romantic meal outside our tent complete with camp fire and our guide Zakaria to tell us stories.

The game viewing was brilliant. We were very lucky to see 4 Leopards whilst in Rhuaha as well as a Leopard tortoise!! There are very large herds of Elephant, Buffalo, Zebra, which are great to see up close.

Nothing is a problem for Mcol and her team at Mdonya even when the water was off because of an elephant digging up the pipe this did not cause too much disruption for guests." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hawksworth

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"While Selous to Mdonya might be the correct order from the "observing animals" point of view, the more simple living conditions seem like a down grade after the luxury of Impala.

Would it be better to reverse the order of the camps?" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
M family
Hampshire

"Mdonya felt like a real camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2009
"Very friendly well-run camp, well overseen by Nicola. More basic and "real camp" tahn Impala, but still very well looked after. There were only 10-12 of us there so very intimate atmosphere aroung camp fire and at dinner, and nicely cosmopolitan with italians and Spanish.

Because it's a national park the animals are not as shy as at Selous, but obviously you can't drive off road as in the Selous. It was good to do both. Lovely scenery, and walk by river.

Lots of elephant, lion, and our guide excelled at spotting cheetah. Quite a way from the camp to the "main" area around the river, and tsetse flies a problem along this road, but as there was game in the camp/ all round the camp, and all along the road it wasn't a big issue. 100% DEET kept tsetse flies away." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Northants.

"One of our best safaris at Mdonya"

4 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2009
"Mycol and her team run this camp very well in what is probably the best National Park in Africa. The low impact of the camp on the environment adds to its appeal. Sitting under canvas having breakfast while elephant and impala graze a short distance away is what Africa is all about. Food was very good and as with the other camps we visited on this trip nothing was too much touble.

Our guide Zakariah and driver, Knight, were brilliant and worked very hard for us, ensuring we had the opportunity to see a wide variaty of animals and birds. They were with us on all our game drives and even gave up their day off to be with us on our last full day at the camp. On one day we wanted to try and find sable in what is a remote part of the park. We searched all day but didn't find them, but it wasn't for the lack of effort on both their part. On other all day drives we did see cheetah, lion (35 in one day in six separate instances) as well as elephants digging for water in the dried up river beds, as well as lots more besides.

Ruaha is an absolute gem of a park, with so many variable habitats and lots of wildlife. It is also the place to come to if you want to see more animals than tourists." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Leics

"Mdonya Old River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2009
"Just perfect.Managed by an Italian,Micole,with all the style that they bring to the occasion.Nothing was ever a problem.Very good sightings of game and in some respects,better than SelousA better 'wilderness' experience.Communal dining also to be welcomed,especially in the evenings." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
N Yorks

"An amazing experience at Mdonya"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2009
"Mdonya is what it says, 'simple but comfortable, for people looking for a genuine off the beaten track, round the campfire experience'. We were not disappointed! Here was somewhere truly special. Nicole and her team welcomed us warmly, greeting us with a drink every time we returned to camp. Everyone worked so hard to ensure all the guests made the most of their stay in these idyllic surroundings.

Our guide Zacharia and our driver (name escapes me), were exceptional and so knowledgeable. If they did not manage to answer one of our questions, it was researched that night and answered in the morning. Their eyesight was fantastic, spotting the slightest movement of bird or beast, then giving us a comprehensive explaination of their habits etc. They hopped in and out of the vechicle to point out plants, seeds, footprints and dung! (We became quite proficient in identifying the latter!)

All the camp staff were passionate about their environment and their enthusiasm certainly rubbed off. We loved every minute of our time here. The Ruaha is so different from the Selous, making them a great combination together. True, you do have to drive further to view game, but this is compensated for by the changing vistas.

The camp has a great atmosphere, especially round the communal table and camp fire, swopping stories with other interesting and like minded guests. Mdonya is not as basic as we had believed. The sand floors, candlelight and kerosene lamps and vigilant Masai just add to the enjoyment.

We had four wonderful days with Zacharia, having Kswahilli lessons over superb lunches in the bush. Our shared sense of humour and our love of the 'great outdoors' made this a truly memorable and life changing experience. Here you really do have close encounters with the wildlife, both in and out of the camp. We cannot thank everyone enough for making this visit so special." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
S family
Scotland

"Perfect Mdonya Old River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2009
"This was an absolutely perfect camp for our family and suited us down to the ground. The managers were so welcoming, relaxed and interesting and we instantly felt right at home.

Our guide Zacheria and driver Night were phenominal and so full of extrordinary knowledge. Zacheria will forever be known as 'double chui' to us as we got two leopards in one day! Amazing. They were so respectful, knowledgeable and curtious. Such lovely guys.

Particularly memerable moments: Popcorn and beer watching the sun go down on our first night, seeing leopards, a black mamba, eating lunch by the river watching the wildlife go by. A truely fantastic spot. We watched 3 elephants playing around in the water and saw the biggest croc of the trip. Some awesome views around the park. Great chat and a few giggles around the camp fire in the evening with a Tusker or Safari beer, followed by the most outstanding food. We were stunned that so much variety came from a camp in the middle of nowhere.

Awesome setting - the tents were perfect.

Our favourite place by far." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Norfolk

"Mdonya Old River review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2008
"What a magical place! We wanted to get off the beaten track and did so here. Saw almost no one except camp staff for 4 days and spent time in lush and wonderfully wild bush savanah with some very special people who are passionate about the eco-system. I was very, very sad to leave what became my favourite place of the whole trip!

Enough rain had fallen to enable a greening everywhere making it harder to spot game, but our guides used their tracking skills and bush eyes to find lions, kudo, buffalo, hosts of birds and even an eland. We had wonderful game drives in different parts of the park with the same team of generous and kind guides and drivers so that we got to know each other a bit which was lovely.The range of wildlife was enormous and the knowledge they had included flora, birds and animals including tracking and dung reading!

Many flying insects made a trip to the loo somewhat anxious at night as big black throbbing things felt threatening and seemed to have fun dive bombing us. Enclosing the toilet under netting could make a big difference at certain times of the year.

The things I want to remember for a long time are:
Evening campfires and enjoying a drink together with the sounds of Africa at night surrounding us
Lions and hyennas prowling around camp after a kill at dinner time
The calls of the dawn chorus
OUr lovely guides and driver - Yohanes, Zacharius and Night who shared so many laughs and much knowledge with us
Micole's passion about the environment around Mdonya
Trying to learn Swahili and everyone's patience, especially Kypondo, our Massai guard.
The pride of 20 lions stalking a zebra in the heat of our final afternoon." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 91-100 of 124
92%
124 reviews of Mdonya Old River Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
85
30
7
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa