This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge

Reviews of Stanley Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Stanley Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Cornwall

"Returning after 15 years to Stanleys"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2019
"Very comfortable lodge in a quiet location. The closed chalet was a real treat.

Food and service very good, and the arrangements for the activities went very smoothly." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"Our final stop at Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"Stanley runs more as a hotel than the other RPS lodges and does not have such a great location. Nevertheless we were well looked after and our driver Babylone was most helpful. We enjoyed our walks at Vic Falls (Zambia and Zimbabwe sides) and our sun-downer at the Royal Livingstone Hotel.

Unfortunately, due to poor communication about the options for our Zimbabwe excursion and the guide being booked for only 2 hours, we didn't get to have morning coffee at the Victoria Fall Hotel as expected and our visit seemed so hurried for the costs involved in going to Zimbabwe for such a short time.. A contact card with a number for our driver or the lodge would have been useful to resolve this whilst we were in Zimbabwe. We would have been happy to have self-guided if we had been properly briefed.

The open cottage was not like Nsefu or Nkwali and the insects were very active. We were moved at their suggestion to a closed cottage which helped, although the effect of the smoke from the many mosquito coils lit for us at night is still trapped on our non-washable belongings nearly a week later!" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs N
Chicago

"Stanley Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"This was our first time in Africa and this lodge was the perfect place to start our journey. We stayed in the Victoria and Mukuni open cottages. We loved everything about it and we will definitely stay there again. Here is why:
The room: wonderful, private with a beautiful view. It was nice to have a mini fridge to have a beer or a glass of wine while we unwind-ed after an excursion at the end of the day. Of course we could also had a drink at the main lodge but it was nice to have the option while we relaxed and showered (plenty of hot water by the way!). The heating blanket in the bed at night was a really nice touch.
Diner and lunch: We really liked the privacy as every group ate separately. Although, it would have been nice to have a late afternoon tea with everyone to share experiences. We managed to discuss with the others guests anyway but it took a conscious effort to do so. We changed table within the lodge for diner which was nice, my favorite was when our table was set by the pool. The food WAS EXCELLENT. Great service too.
Location: perfect. Very close to every activities. Beautiful view. Wonderful serenade by the lions in the mornings and evenings.
Host: Estelle (?) and husband Jon - not sure of the spellings - They made us feel at home. very personable. They also gave us some great advice for the activities and else." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Y
PA

"Very pleaseant and helpful staff."

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Would recommend standardization of village tour as experiences there varied significantly based on the person doing the tour.

Village market at the end is like being unleashed to the wolves." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Stanley Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Wonderful Staff. Extremely accommodating and friendly. Very nice facility but not as luxurious as others on the trip. About 1/2 hr from the airport. The grounds were quite nice, but we did not use the trails or other parts of the camp other than the living areas.

Not all tours included in price.

Suggest visiting the Zambia and Zimbabwe sides of Victoria Falls at the same trip instead of separately Ideally, this would be one of the included tours. Had to pay a second park entry fee to the Zambia side when returned to visit the Zimbabwe side the next day.

Trip to " authentic village" was very cursory appeared to be a means to get you to visit the market there, which did have some good items. However, a couple who visited the village the previous day reported a very different and worthwhile experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Elegant and refined."

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2016
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Stanley Safari Lodge.

The main building and the grounds are very elegant, superbly manicured and well laid out. Each room is very private. Our room was cute, with a stunning view, although the lodge might update some of the accessories and details given the price point. The staff and management could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful, and catered to us at every step.

The only real issue we experienced, which is why we did not give this property 5 stars, was a mosquito infestation that was highly distracting and annoying. Apparently there is a water treatment facilities a few kilometers away that has become a breeding ground for mosquitos – and there were truly extraordinary numbers of them in our room and throughout the property. The staff did the best they could with insect spray, mosquito coils and mosquito netting, but it was a hopeless battle. As we were leaving they had brought in an exterminator to work on it, and hopefully they'll be successful. It's a beautiful place with a great team. It would be very peaceful and relaxing without the mosquito swarms – and we would have happily given it 5 stars but for the mosquitos." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr I
London

"Fabulous secluded Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"This is a quality lodge run expertly by the management.

We had our own personal "butler" called Peter who was one of the nicest, most friendly and helpful people we have ever come across. If you are planning to go to Stanley, you MUST ask for Peter and tell him that the Shiner recommended him.

Each individual "hut" was self-contained, large, well furnished, comfortable and blended with the environment. The units we stayed in were open to the elements (although the Lodge has a fence to prevent wild animals coming into the camp), and this was a great appeal.

Food was exceptional too and our dietary requirements were accommodated.

We were delighted to have chosen this Lodge and would recommend it most highly." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
NYC mom
USA

"relaxing stay at stanley..."

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"Beautiful room, terrific view, accommodating hosts.

We used it as a place to relax, not to do many activities. I'd skip the river safari (pretty but not a "safari").

Wonderful staff." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
SoCal Girl
USA

"Stanley Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2016
"Amazing experience. Incredible attention to detail and customer happiness. Food was amazing." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&MrsJ
Rugby

"Unforgetable at Stanley Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2016
"We thought it could not get better after a wonderful safari but to see the rhinos and calfs plus a sable antelope superb

We then went to the Victoria Falls photagraphs,videos cannot describe the exhilaration of standing there with roar of the falls and spray coming down like a tropical storm it was the perfect end to our holiday" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 21
96%
21 reviews of Stanley Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa