This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange

Reviews of Camp Hwange

Wildlife sightings and reviews

87 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Hwange and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Hwange.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

53% success

Wild dog

37% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Buffalo

88% success

Spotted Hyena

62% success

Roan antelope

58% success

Sable antelope

52% success

Eland

50% success

Wildebeest

32% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

4% success

Oryx

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 81-87 of 87
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Texas

"Best Off-Road Adventure Guide Ever!!!"

4 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2013
"Julian and Ashley run a great camp in Hwange National Park. They are on a private concession that is about 5 miles in diameter. Julian is absolutely fearless in tracking lion here in thick brush, with us along for the thrill ride. Every day we explored a different area of the concession or the park. We saw kopies, salt pan dams, hides, crocodile pools, Robbins Camp, and hidden water holes. During night drives we even found owls!

Ashley and Sheema did a fine job with a brand new cook. Washington, a guide trainee is a delight.

We would highly recommend this camp" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Very happy new year!"

4 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2012
"We really enjoyed our stay at Camp Hwange. David Carson is an excellent guide who was very happy to accommodate our preferences of walking and birding (168 birds identified in four days so certainly a great location for birders to visit); there was no shortage of mammals around either (we saw 23 different species albeit in relatively small numbers of each as, with the rains falling further south in the park, there had been some dispersal around the time we were there ie new year). We were also impressed by the camp's trainee ZimPro guide, Washington, and by the skills of Dave's tracker, Felix.

The camp is very well run and Dave and Antoinette are excellent hosts. The range of activities offered is first rate" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss B
Canada

"FUN!"

4 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2012
"This camp was amazing!
From the drive in to the 4 nights spent at the camp, we had amazing company... STELLAR hospitality and lots of laughs
We were blown away from how great his place was... and the FOOD! wowzas <3 <3
Bottom line, the staff really made it memorable. Thank you." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr H & Ms E
London

"Eyeball to eyeball with elephants"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"A new camp set up by top Zim guide Dave Carson. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere with the tented rooms and open dining area set around the waterhole.

It's described as simple but we found it really comfortable with lovely airy rooms well kitted out. It felt refreshingly different to some of the bigger camps we'd been to. The managers were away when we stayed but Tony Marsh, Washington and Gareth and all the staff did a great job in making everyone feel at home. We were there in the hottest month (October) and so there was plenty of game at our waterhole and we were eyeball to eyeball with elephants as we sat behind the boma made of branches and dead trees and they came to drink.

Our guide Tony, took us walking and on game drives and was a great source of information. The only drawback at Hwange is that at this time of year the only game is around the pans and driving between can take quite a while. We've never seen so many elephants in one place. Other game was more limited although we did see lion at a distance and also sable and roan. Three nights felt just right." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Northants

"Very knowlegable guiding"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"This camp is a long drive if you come from Little Mak and so I would say better to go there from Victoria.
Please see above for travel time related problems.

As we only had two nights and had essentially missed the first day Julian, the Manager and Guide took us out for the whole of Wednesday so that we could see as much of the area as possible. Julian could also turn his hand to a cooked picnic lunch which was a bonus on a long day out. We were the only guests at the Camp and I don't know whether he would have been able to go out for the day if there were other guests.

He and the apprentice guide were very knowledgeable and it is a pity we did not have the time to do any walking here as this had been an aim of this particular trip and choice of safari. I think given the quality of the guiding that this would have been a good experience at this camp.

The area is very different from Mana and the Eastern side of Hwange NP so a good contrast.

Good food, accommodation and guiding make for a good combination with good game viewing." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Toronto

"New Camp - Lots of Potential"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2012
"Camp Hwange has only been in operation since May 2012 and already they deserve to be better known.

The Camp is well laid out - the six Meru style Chalet-tents are very spacious and comfortable and are well appointed with a ceiling fan and an in-room charging point. The camp is designed in a curve with all of the tents facing a waterhole and the sunset. Food is excellent and service is good. Julian and Ashley run the camp extremely well and they are working towards making this one of the top camps in Zimbabwe. They are well on their way. Julian's skill and enthusiasm make him an excellent guide and host and Ashley's cooking is superb.

The waterhole attracts a lot of elephants and other game during the dry season but unfortunately the local large pride of lions had moved elsewhere just before we arrived and this meant we spent a lot of time on the road getting to where the game and predators were congregating.

We would come here again." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr L
Amsterdam

"Great & flexible guiding in charming new camp"

4 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"We stayed at Camp Hwange for four nights and had a great time. Travelling with my elderly mother could have been something of a challenge but Dave Carson and the Camp Hwange team pulled out all the stops, even building a bespoke set of wooden steps so mum could climb more easily in and out of the Land Rover.

Because of mum's somewhat impaired mobility, we weren't able to spend as much time walking as we would have liked but in all honesty, this wasn't a big deal. We were lucky to have Dave himself guide us for our visit and he was outstanding, spotting prodigious amounts of game at sometimes implausible distances from the vehicle (although much of it was extremely close!).
Having spent time in Somalisa a couple of years ago (another excellent camp), we felt this was the better location in terms of game (lots) and people (we saw maybe three other vehicles in four days which was great). All the animals were in fine condition and very good densities, especially elephants which numbered concentrations in the hundreds as well as Dave's beloved lions. Our only regret on the game front was missing the Aardwolf but we did see a spitting cobra which was a nice treat (honestly!)

The camp itself is very new and we found it hard to find much to fault. Spacious rooms, hot water bottles and good en-suite facilities. It didn't matter much to us (as we didn't try to start too early) but maybe it would be worth considering bringing tea or coffee to the rooms in the mornings at wake up call. And though I loved the long morning drives (much longer than in most other camps we have stayed at), I did miss the full safari breakfast although we had that (and enjoyed it) on our last morning.

Julian and Ashley were also great and one of the things I really appreciated at the camp was their flexibility and willingness to work around our slightly different schedule, given mum's slow starts in the morning (and my own!).

I would certainly return again. I suspect that later in the season it will be difficult to walk to and from the rooms (even with an escort) given the number of elephants in the area but I never felt anything but well looked after with the safety protocols in camp so am sure that Dave and the team will have a plan in place if one becomes necessary." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 81-87 of 87
97%
87 reviews of Camp Hwange by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (36 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


95% (34 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


97% (31 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


98% (22 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (15 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


98% (8 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


88% (5 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp features a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants and offers excellent value for money.


95% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Daka Plains Camp

Daka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 12km Dete Vlei, the recently upgraded and family-friendly Sable Valley sits in a private reserve within easy reach of Hwange National Park.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa