This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp

Reviews of Desert Rhino Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

112 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Rhino Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Rhino Camp.
Lion

35% success

Leopard

14% success

Cheetah

7% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

91% success

Zebra

65% success

Spotted Hyena

63% success

Elephant

56% success

Brown Hyena

28% success

Meerkat

20% success

Wildebeest

15% success

Showing 101-110 of 112
Duration
Arrival date
Miss P & Miss E
UK

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2008
"Wonderful location in this scenic area and very warm welcome from the delightful staff - always available for a chat and to help. Rooms were nicely decorated and facilities excellent.

The food/wine was great and the communal eating very pleasant. The quality of the guides was a little mixed - some appeared to take the 'easy' option for themselves rather than think about what would be best for guests who only have a couple of days." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"We were expecting a relatively basic camp so were suprised when we arrived to find a very luxurous camp. It was a very friendly camp with all the guests eating meals together at the camp or during the activities.

We found a Rhino within 1.5 hours of the start of the game drive which gave us plenty of time to watch the Rhino and see other game." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Netherlands

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"This camp no doubt deserves the status “superexcellent” ! The area is too beautiful to express in words. Very pure nature and quite a lot of animals. We saw two rhinoes (thanks to the trackers and guide we could approach them on foot!) as well as desert elephants, a very small baby oryx and a giraffe drinking near a pool, among others.

Our hostess and guide, Daphne and Ignatius, and their wonderful colleagues just did everything to make us feel at home. Which we did! What we liked especially about this camp is that staff, trackers and guides joined us at the campfire and meals. It gives you a sense of community.

In May this year they built new tents, in Out of Africa-style, with hot water & shower. So, it is very luxurious. And we enjoyed the lovely hotwaterbottles at night!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"In a holiday full of superlatives this camp stood out as the most beautiful, remote and peaceful place we have ever been to. The guides were the very best we have come across in about 6 trips to Africa. Gotlod (our guide) had a quite extraordinary and detailed knowledge of animals, plants, birds and local geology and the animals were always shown the proper level of respect.

The camp was most comfortable, the food was delicious and at all times we were made to feel at home. We especially enjoyed eating round a communal table and meeting round the camp fire before supper.

Whilst pretty much everywhere we stayed was "excellent" this place deserved a category all of its own!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2008
"The Meru-style tents had been renewed days before we arrived which was a nice surprise.

We saw a pride of eight lions, and four black Rhinos." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Syre

"Palmwag Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"This was wonderful.The camp was in a fantastic location looking out at the mountains.

Tents were comfortable with flush loos and a bucket shower - a bit dribbly, but fine. Food here was excellent, and meals around a communal table, and drinks around the camp fire made it a sociable and entertaining place. Again, everyone was friendly and helpful. We only stayed for 2 nights and would have liked longer.

One of us wanted to go rhino tracking and one of us didn't! However, we both really enjoyed it. Our safety and the welfare of the rhino and her calf were well taken care of.

We highly recommend Palmwag Rhino Camp" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
London

"Palmwag Rhino Camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"We enjoyed the rhino tracking but were surprised to be in a group of 2 vehicles and 12 people.

Enjoyed the company of other guests at the camp - 2 parties were also with Expert Africa!

We did find Chris, the camp manager knowledgeable and a big personality but also over-bearing and too dominant." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Bridgewater

"Get close to the rhino"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"Palmwag Rhino Camp is in a great spot, far from anywhere, and allows visitors to really get close to nature. We heard that a lion pride had made a kill right outside the camp a few weeks before we arrived - visitors had ringside seats! The camp is very comfortable - it does get very cold at night they provide plenty of bedding and even hot water bottles.

The guides are excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly - happy to answer any questions. They were keen to emphasise that a rhino sighting isn't guaranteed but with trackers going out every day to find rhinos, in reality chances are pretty good.

We drove to about 1km from where a mother and baby were sleeping and then got out to walk to within 80m of them. Unfortunately they got wind of us within a few minutes and trotted away [after a split second where we wondered if they would charge].

We would recommend staying here for two full days [three nights] so that you can go out two days' running - this will improve your chances of seeing the rhino quite close and for longer periods of time.

The camp is doing great things to save the black rhino and protect them, it's worth visiting this camp if only to support their work and spread the word of what they're doing. At Etosha you'll see [white probably] rhino just as close [if not closer] but these ones were truly wild." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"Memorable"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"An exciting stay with rhino encounters on successive days and two excellent guided walks tailored to our needs.

Although generaly well organised the second rhino trekking experience proved somewhat unnerving when some members of the group felt that the guide did not have complete command of the situation (as far as this is possible) and some people lost confidence in him which detracted from the experience. There was arguably insufficient info given beforehand as to what people could expect so that one of the group complained at the amount of walking required and could not return to the vehicle by foot.

The whole group then had to wait in the open for a considerable period for the vehicles to come to us and again there was a general feeling that the situation was not under control with the guide eventually having to climb a hill to try and spot the vehicles and make contact with them. This is more about the perception of others rather than our own but it did make for a less than comfortable atmosphere at times because of the way the situation was seen to be (mis)handled.

In the camp itself the tents were attractively presented and equipped but were a little worse for wear in places and the 'housekeeping' was inconsistent with hot and cold water flasks not always topped up and eg hot water bottles provided on a warmer night and not when they were really needed when it was so cold people could hardly sleep! This was general concensus not just our opinion as was the fact that laundry wasn't returned until worryingly late in the day and that during 'siesta' time in the middle of the day no member of staff could be raised to request a shower, drinking water or water flasks despite the indication there was always someone around if needed.

2 out of three dinners were very good , the picnic lunches were excellent and breakfast was enjoyable though cooked orders were sometimes very late or forgotten altogether.

Our individual needs were catered for in terms of activities when we asked to do (longer) guided walks in place of the scheduled sundowner drives and these were very rewarding and informative. We realise lodges prefer to stick to certain regimes for all sorts of legitimate reasons but it IS worth asking for something which might suit you better. We would have been very frustrated physically if we had been confined to camp, in vehicles or on short nature walks for the 3 nights we were there.

Overall a very memorable and worthwhile experience but strange that in such an isolated place guests should be made to feel slightly 'neglected'." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A
St Paul

"Well worth the bumpy ride to get there!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2007
"A true wilderness experience!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 112
97%
112 reviews of Desert Rhino Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
96
15
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (447 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (139 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (117 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (110 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa