This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

470 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 66 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

2% success

Elephant

89% success

Oryx

58% success

Giraffe

48% success

Zebra

21% success

Wildebeest

9% success

Brown Hyena

6% success

Black Rhino

2% success

Spotted Hyena

2% success

Showing 441-450 of 470
Duration
Arrival date
Photographer
IOM

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2008
"Rather gloomy main building. Outdoor shower was a novelty.

Pool definitely not nice !

Guide tried very hard to find an elephant but we only saw footprints. We would have prefered to stay further north (our first choice was Damaraland Camp which is closed for renovation)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The Baobabs
Kirk

"A fortress on a hill"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2008
"The main building is a rather forbidding castle like structure, which does however fit in with the surrounding rock. Iinside though is very pleasant and well laid out with an area on the roof for stargazing. The staff are incredibly friendly and open; we had a lovely waitress who announced the menu in the Damara language, with all the clicks.

We specially enjoyed the accommodation, large individual units with private patio, wonderful views, complete with outdoor shower and gheckos. We appreciated the opportunity of talking with the local staff and learning about the area from them. We thought the activites in general, apart from the early morning guided walk, were very expensive so we visited Twyfelfontein in our own car, and had more time with our own guide at a fraction of the cost!." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Doro Nawas an unexpected find"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2008
"Our journey to Doro Nawas was long and arduous. But when we arrived, it was an astonishing place! The lodge is part of a community conservancy project and we spent a great deal of time talking with the managers about what it is trying to achieve. It was very impressive!

The individual chalets were designed to such a high level and they were done so imaginatively, we felt we'd never seen anything like it anywhere in Europe or North America. One small design flaw - the ceiling fan only had one speed (very fast) and it would have been more comfortable to have a range of options. But otherwise it was luxury and stimulating detail and comfort all the way.

Food was similarly First Class and sophisticated. Service was fantastic.

The tours offered seemed very expensive. We chose to go to Twyflfontein to see rock carvings - and we would have liked to spend more time there. But we had an interesting drive, stopping at other places going to and coming from the site, so overall we were happy with our morning excursion." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Harvey and Jo
Lewes

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2008
"Doro Nawas looked forbidding with its black stone, but was both luxurious (loved the bed with a view, and the outside shower as well as the inside one) and with probably the most cheerful staff of the whole trip.

We have cringed a bit in the past at the cultural dancing at a hotel in Victoria Falls: the little song and dance here after each meal, being by the people we already knew from serving us food or drinks, and singing some of their own songs with such evident enjoyment and humour, was different. Great fun, and I am a huge fan of African harmony.

The long morning drive not only found the elephants, it gave us at 45 minutes or more of relaxed and absorbing watching on the way out, then another shorter session on the way back, and that was excellent, not least because there were two calves of 4 weeks and 2 weeks.

And the landscape we travelled through on the rest of that trip was so varied, and our guide very informative on bushes, trees and birds.

Expensive place to stay, but well worth it. We enjoyed the rock carvings and the guided tour at Twyfelfontain which we drove ourselves to." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Longclaws
Edinburgh

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2008
"Great location, great room.

The food choice and quality did not match but they tried." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Berkshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2007
"We loved this camp - the location, the rooms, the staff - it was all perfect. Florentia, Johann & Jefta were all very helpful and friendly.

Jefta gave us a memorable day with the desert-adapted elephants and Florentia never stopped smiling - my daughters fell in love with her! On New Years Eve Florentia and the other female camp workers gave us an impromptu concert of African music which was a lovely way to celebrate.

n my opinion this camp has the best rooms out of all the ones we stayed at." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2007
"Trips to see desert adapted elephants was first class.

Very warm welcome.

Outside veranda now has canopy which provides welcome shade but perhaps spoils the appearance." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Cape turtle doves
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2007
"Doro Nawas was actually rather difficult to find as it hasn't got around to issuing a map yet. It is also a rather strange looking place, rather like an experimental laboratory in the desert run by a mad scientist. As ever the welcome was very warm - cold drinks and cool towels. The food and rooms very excellent.

We managed to combine two different activities into a single drive- seeing elephants along the river bed and then continuing to see Bushman art in the nearby mountains. Very interesting....but apart from that there is not much else to do. In hindsight we would have been better off staying only 2 nights at Doro Nawas and having an extra night at Waterberg." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Mr S
Syre

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2007
"Another place that blended well into its rocky surroundings. Everyone here was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were lovely. We pushed our bed out onto the deck to sleep under the stars, which was quite magical.

The food here wasn't great. Breakfast was ok, but dinner really wasn't. Pork chops were very leathery, and the lamb curry was made with scrag neck of lamb, which should be cooked long and slow until it falls off the bone. There was no way of separating that meat from the bones - it was far too tough. Maybe they are trying to cut costs by using cheaper, and in this case, inappropriate cuts of meat? We were late back from an activity so we wondered if the meal might have suffered from sitting around too long, but speaking to other guests, they also found the food left a lot to be desired. It was a bit surprising and a little disappointing considering the excellent food at Kulala Desert Lodge, also a Wilderness Safaris property. We did comment on the food on their feedback form.

Otherwise it was very good here and we coulld have spent longer. We were thrilled to see desert-adapted elephants on our activity." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
US

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"Rooms were beautiful with a great view of the desert. Dinner buffet was not up to par - the meat was tough and the fish was dry.

However, the staff was very helpful - we had a flat tire the morning of our departure and they were more than happy to help us replace it and to fix the original tire in case we needed another spare." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Showing 441-450 of 470
93%
470 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
348
97
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (152 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (122 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (115 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (115 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


97% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa