This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Horsham

"Doro nawas"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"Good lodge. Nice room with a good view. Private.

Had to walk up steep hill to facilities ,went to see cave engravings and a living museum.

Very interesting although we had to climb over rocks to get to some engravings." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"Loved it just lovely people. Go again tomorrow.

What a lovely bush braai we had." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & K
London

"Nice stay at Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"We stayed here for one night. We were impressed by the singing welcome and goodbye. Even the chef joined in.

Our thatched cottage was comfortable and we had a nice view. The night we stayed, a bush dinner was set up, which was great fun. The BBQ was delicious and the bar staff didn't seem to mind that we kept them up late afterwards.

" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"This was our second visit to Doro Nawas and we were not disappointed.

We came to see the Desert Adapted Elelpants and we were fortunate to view them on both the afternoon and morning game drives. Our guide (Markus) was excellent always putting the animals as his focus and respecting their personal space; some other vehicles from other lodges were not as respectful. His knowledge was impressive.

The evening meal and breakfast were to a good standard.

The room was comfortable and clean." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Cambridge 4
UK

"What a welcome"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"We were greeted with singing on arrival at Doro Nawas & again in the evenings and on departure. The staff are lovely.

The accommodation was lovely & the views are amazing.

We took one trip here to search for desert elephants & we were lucky enough to find them. What an experience!

There are other activities available, but as we had a vehicle we opted to see other local attractions independently." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs F & S
Oregon

"Not up to Wilderness Standards!"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Wow this was the most disappointing venue of our whole trip. We have stayed at many Wilderness Safari properties and this one was definitely not up to snuff. We were given the worst room with a parking lot view and no orientation...ie beds could be moved for star viewing.

The game drive was reliant on 5 or 6 desert elephants with not much else. The group dinner out in the coma featured skimpy food...literally my lamb chop had 2 bites of meat on it and the food was running out due to a large Spanish tour group. The breakfast buffet was skimpy and the offer of a hot breakfast was not made.

I really wish we had not paid the price for this place and just driven on to stay at Palmwag lodge where we could have seen elephants on a morning walk before awaiting our 3 pm transfer to Desert Rhino...would have been a much better value.

I really am very surprised this place was so bad." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Paul & Nicky
Keswick

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Despite some concern that the camp looked rather austere from photos, we thoroughly enjoyed Doro Nawas. We chose to drive to the camp via the D2612 and this proved to be a scenic, quiet and interesting drive avoiding the busier route.

The staff singing to us at reception on arrival should be seen for what it is, a truly joyous welcome to their home and not interpreted unkindly and described as cringing by some reviewers. Try just smiling back and applauding their warmth, they are a beautiful bunch of people.

The entire camp is professionally run, with everything clearly explained by staff. The guiding was outstanding and our guide, Nesley, was exceptionally good. We enjoyed an early morning guided walk with him and a late afternoon tracking the desert adapted elephants. The elephants proved hard to find, but he never gave up and we eventually enjoyed 1.5hrs watching 6 elephants, including 2 young, from close range.

We visited Twyfelfontein, the Damara Living Museum and the Petrified Forest on our own. These are all well worth visiting, and our advice is as follows:-
Twyfelfontein - go very early if you can and beat the crowds; sadly the guide we had was not at all interested in her job.
Damara Living Museum - clearly aimed at tourists but great fun; run by an enthusiastic, smiley and warm group. Our expectation was for a quick visit, but we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Lovely people.
Petrified Forest - be careful to get the official site; picturesque walk, scenic and enthusiastic, helpful guide. Very interesting. " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"Comfortable camp, with good food"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"We only stayed at Doro Nawas for one night, in passing between Desert Rhino Lodge and Etosha, in order to pick up a hire car for the last part of out trip, and didn't take part in any of the activities.

The room was large and comfortable with an outside shower and a view out over the bush - though we did have people from the camp walking past the front of the room (and shower!). There is a nice, if small, pool for relaxing, and the terrace area in front of the dining room was comfortable.

Food was very good, served at individual tables" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P M
Derbyshire

"Interesting but a little too long"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"A three night stay here is unnecessary, since the worthwhile activities can be done in less time. Although the petrified forest is quite interesting, it involved a very lengthy journey covering similar terrain etc. to previous excursions and only merited a short visit.

It also meant that two out of three evenings had a "bush dinner" which was entertaining the first time but repetitious after that. Similarly, the singing/dancing routines, which the staff engaged in at every opportunity, eventually became a little excessive.

Service and facilities, like the other Wilderness camps, are of a good standard, but the rooms are a little dark." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
New Forest

"A musical interlude!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"We thoroughly enjoyed listening to both the 'click' language of the staff and the way they regularly burst into song!

Had an excellent guided tour with Leslie (new to the lodge) to see the desert-adapted elephants. After showing us the main herd, his determination to track down the lone bull paid off which was a real bonus.

We also much appreciated the efforts of all the staff to provide us with a memorable 'bush supper'." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa