This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Singing lodge :-)"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"From your arrival until departure, the staff greets you with lovely songs, even for dinner time. They are the best !!

Great excursion to look for desert elephants and memorable bush dinner.

We were given room 13, which unluckily was the one with less privacy and rather noisy (vehicles dropped and picked up clients just behind). They were fully booked, so we could not change room. " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Fleet

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2017
"Again a very warm welcome form the staff. The room was very spacious and could have done with a bit more light. The manager was very helpful over our problems with our car. Eating in the bush was fun but it is a challenge to keep the food warm. We met some very interesting people among the other guests. A great private trip looking for desert-adapted elephants - perhaps the best activity of our holiday - thanks to Regie our guide. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Great Damaraland experience"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2017
"Recent wreck of the Zeila about 50km outside Swakopmund not in most guide books and quite an interesting diversion for a few minutes on the long drive north giving a bit of a flavour of the Skeleton Coast proper beyond. Very windy drive for over 100km inland even in early morning in August with dust spectacular bur severely hampering visibility at times. Last 80km (D2612) from Swakopmund very rough (Aug 2017) to the extent that lodges trying to regrade locally using 4wd + towed tyres etc. - don't arrive late in the day!

Great singing welcome and departure. Great setting.

Stayed in family accommodation - two separate units joined by wooden walkway. Kids wanted one adult in each unit, but this was fine. All slept outside on verandas under the stars.

Nice pool area.

Dinner was on a single table out in the bush (twice a week). Great atmosphere. Food introduced in local language with plenty of clicking and chicken impressions. Kids a bit reticent at first but then loved it. Food largely from the braai and very good. Kids menu available if chosen in advance and excellent. Breakfast fairly basic.

Should have stayed for 2 nights but had to balance where we wanted to go with time available. Didn't do any lodge activities.

Self-drove to Twyfelfontein. Road very poor (Aug 2017) and wouldn't want to do it in a hurry or in a low clearance vehicle. Children interested in rock art to a surprising degree. " See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Weird architecture great location"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"We were not sure whether staying at two different lodges within Damaraland was a good idea or not. It turned out to be perfect. The difference between Grootberg Lodge and Doro Nawas allowed us to see very diverse aspects of this important region of Namibia.

The main building is unusual architecture and looks more like a fort than a lodge, but is very comfortable and had great outdoor seating to enjoy the stunning views. The staff singing your welcome and your departure was a particularly nice touch, as were the hot and cold towels at the beginning and end of each safari.

The chalet at Doro Nawas was excellent ( as the one at Grootberg had been too). The meals were good too.

Our Desert Elephant Drive was a big success and our visit to the Twyfelfontein Petroglyphs was well worth while.

We had a great two night stay!" See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family H & L
Berks

"fantastic - loved it!!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2017
"Doro Nawas was one of our favourites - the bushmans dinner, (Mon, Wed and Fridays) elephant search (and finding them) and singing staff made it.

staff tried to teach us the clicks of the language....failed, but we had fun. Their guide - Marcus - was brilliant and very helpful! he helped us with petrol - the ride there took 7 hrs from Swapo - due to the awful road - and then took all our fuel. Marcus helped by getting us 25L and helping us get it into the car.

Bushmans dinner was great - really nice idea - and well executed. Liked the staff dancing and joined in.

Great to have all inclusive including laundry as we had been in RSA and Namibia a while by then and everything was dusty!! Would always suggest this on future trips - wash every 7 days or so!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2017
"Another highlight. Wish we had had three nights here.

Road in awful tho. On the way from Etosha we detoured to see Finger Rock and had lunch at the Finger Rock lodge. A lovely setting and very good easy lunch. We also visited the Petrified Forest. Highly recommended- suggest you add this to the notes to travellers. We decided against the nature drive to see the elephants and instead drove ourselves to the Damara Living Museum; another place we highly recommend. Got to Twyfelfontein rock engravings but the roads were so unappealing we didn’t get to Burnt Mountain or Organ Pipes that day. The unexpected Bush dinner was superb. Staff and accommodation excellent. We did buy a lunch to take with us which was very expensive but we were glad of it on the Skeleton Coast. The surprise bush dinner under the stars was a highlight.

We drove out to the Skeleton Coast on the C39/34 and were so pleased we had. Firstly the more direct road was the worst we struck (on our way to Twyfelfontein). We met a tour bus driver there who recommended the coast road as being much better - and he was right. It was a very scenic drive out to the coast and a great drive south on the salt road. We would have been very sorry if we had missed this and the extra time was no problem. The weather was kind to us - it would be different in fog/wet conditions.

The road from Henties Bay is being upgraded and the scenery was very disappointing from here to Swakopmund." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Vivonholiday
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"The rooms here are amazing - so spacious. Looked ominous on arrival but we were sad to leave by end.

The local walk was not worth the money though - guide told us very little but we were told we could not go alone." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Brighton

"This is a special place which I will remember"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"This is indeed a special place in terms of people, location and room. Very stylish design, comfy rooms, and lovely welcoming staff who sang to us on arrival and departure! The service was helpful but also laid back, perfect! The guide went out of his to ensure that we saw the desert elephants. Staying here was definitely one of the highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"The best service in Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"The best service in Namibia. Incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. A wonderful setting. Little touches included plenty of cold drinking water with cold flasks of water provided in the rooms too. Don't expect wifi so be prepared! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

We were especially impressed by the layout of the dinning/reception area: indoor or balcony dinning, a central open air boma (surrounded by beanbags if you feel like being 'super relaxed'!) and stairs up to the roof for star gazing.

After dinner we went up to the roof where Marcus treated us to an hour of stargazing. Marcus provided a detailed explanation on stars, planets, constellations, etc. with some direction from his laser pointer.
The rooms were very impressive with indoor and outdoor showers. We rolled our beds out the room and slept under the stars after putting our new found star gazing knowledge to the test. Wonderful. Beware of the mosquitoes though if you choose to abandon the safety of the mosquito net in the room!

In the local area we visited the organ pipes, burnt mountain, petrified forest and Twyfelfontein (selfdrive). They were easily accessible but we only enjoyed visiting the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein " See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Jules & Geoff
NZ

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2017
"Doro Nawas was a lovely stay - the views from the main building are simply sensational.

Personally i didn't like the fortress like look of the main building and felt some of the furnishings in the main building to be a little jaded. BUT, the rooms were lovely ( sleeping out under the stars was so beautiful) and the evening bush dinner was really beautifully thought out.

The staff were generally absolutely excellent - especially our guide for the elephant tracking. The star watching ( which i was looking forward to ) was more miss than hit i am afraid - disappointing because the stars were amazing and it was a great opportunity to learn. Love the Damaran language and the use of it by the staff when appropriate.

All in all a very nice stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 71-80 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa