This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr MA
SE London

"Loved it -almost my favourite lodge...."

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"Totally unexpectedly wonderful and enjoyed being sung through every step. Wish I had had two nights. Desert elephant excursion excellent and totally successful. Almost my favourite landscape of the trip too..." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Surrey

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"A pleasant stay, but not sure we really needed to be on the one day all inclusive rate as we were only staying there to catch the flight to Desert Rhino camp, so it was really a stop gap. Although we did go out on the drive in the morning it was cut short because of our flight time, so I would say this wasn't value for money." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr AB
SW London

"Comfortable"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2017
"We only stayed one night here as the base both for visiting the Bushman rock engravings at Twfelfontein and driving onto Etendeka.

The rondavel is very comfortable and the main lodge, clad in dark grey, atmospherically set on a slight raised hill, offers excellent views of the plain and surrounding hills.

Perhaps we were overly spoilt by our other experiences in Namibia but Doro Nawas is the only place we stayed where we would not return.

We had no specific complaints, the staff were friendly, the lodge and rooms comfortable, the food fine but for us Doro Nawas didn't provide the knock out "wow factor" that our other places did." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Australia

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2017
"Had a large room with a wonderful view out to the wilderness. Really enjoyed rooftop barbecue. Felt we should have had a mosquito net around the bed as we were bothered by mosquitos - but apparently nets are due to be installed soon." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr JM & co
Portugal

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2017
"We considered this camp as the most special in the whole trip.

We saw several elephants in the river bed (within touching distance) and could sleep outside with beds pulled out on to our room verandah which was magical looking at the night sky and during full moon period.

Excellent food and service." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
N & R
Essex

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 28 Apr 2017
"It was an interesting stop over. The bush dinner was great and to seen the contrast between Classic and Adventure camps was good" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Portsmouth

"Amazing!!!! Atmospheric location"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2017
"We loved our stay here. Our room was very spacious and clean. The indoor and outdoor showers were a great feature, as well as the ability to sleep out on the balcony under the stars which we did one night. The stars were amazing and the view across the desert was spectacular!

The lodge was brilliant, - great to go on the roof and see the views across the desert and watch the sun go down, nicely located pool and we enjoyed sitting by the fire pit after dinner.

Just after we arrived there was a huge desert dust storm! This was very exciting and like being in a film. Our room was covered in sand but the staff cleaned it immediately and we would never have known all the sand had been there!

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. It was amazing hearing their tribal language and songs.

We did the Desert Elephant nature drive which was outstanding. Beautiful scenery and we were lucky enough to find the elephants and see them mating. We also did a guided walk in the desert in the morning. This was very different from other types of safaris and we were able to focus on animal tracks (e.g. aardvark tracks leading to aardvark hole), plants and birds. We were glad we did this and it was reasonably priced.

Food was great - we ate far too much. We also had a bush bbq one night which was a nice experience, although we would have preferred not to have to sit at a communal dining table.

Probably the best lodge of our trip; highly recommend staying here!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"What an airport hotel this is!"

1 night Arrived 19 Apr 2017
"It may look dark and forbidding but the main lodge is designed like a desert fort and the colour allows it to blend in with the surrounding boulders .The chalets are authentic in design and well placed and equipped . The views from your private deck area are fabulous and you are not overlooked. I just wished they had mosquito nets however. We did not sleep out under the stars as the night time insects were amazing to see but we didn't fancy them as bed fellows!

The bush dinner for guests is every Monday Wednesday and Friday and there does not appear to be an option to opt out. The food was a basic BBQ but it is beautifully done and eating out under the stars and being welcomed by the staff singing in a candlelit area of clear bush was really quite special and unforgettable.

The drive to the airfield to fly in any direction is a mere 5 minutes.

We saw desert adapted elephants in numbers here and Damaraland is such a beautiful area of Namibia ,not to be missed. The drive to here from Swakopmund was long and rough but the scenery certainly made up for it." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
raedrian
Canada

"Magnificent Hill Top Doro Nawas Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2017
"Driving up to this resort was like approaching a medieval fortress as it sits by itself on top of a hill looking out over the desert.

It has a roof top terrace for watching sunsets and star gazing as well as a small court yard with a fire place and bean bags for socializing. The cabins were great....lots of room and comfortable... spread around the base of the hill.

The safaris to see the desert elephants were terrific as we found ourselves in the middle of a large herd (50?) of elephants.

Other game was seen along the way." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Surrey

"Welcoming"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2017
"This was the most welcoming of all the places we stayed in, even though the restaurant area does look a bit forbidding from a distance. The views are fabulous. It was great having a pool as it was really hot.

Evening meals were made to be an occasion - the first was in the dining room - it was fun listening to the menu in 'click' language & the singing was fun ; on the second night we were led out into the bush where a long table had been set out under the stars - a lovely touch. It was good to have house wine included in the price.

As we only had 1 full day to explore the area we didnt go on the elephant safari (my guidebook said it was the wrong time of the year for them to be close), which we regretted as people who went had a great experience. We did enjoy our visit to see the rock paintings, organ pipes & fingerklip." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa