This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp
Mushara Bush Camp

Reviews of Mushara Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

236 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Bush Camp.
Lion

64% success

Leopard

27% success

Cheetah

40% success

Giraffe

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Zebra

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Oryx

91% success

Eland

56% success

White Rhino

44% success

Black Rhino

36% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Brown Hyena

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 236
Duration
Arrival date
Mr& Mrs T
Poole

"Mushara Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"We used Mushara Bush Camp as a base to explore Etosha NP. We drove ourselves into the game park and did not use any of the camps activities.

For that purpose the Camp was in a good location not far from the Etosha park entrance. Everything about the Camp was good except the room had no lock on the door and the safe didn’t work. So had to carry cameras and valuables with you at all times about the Camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"All our game activities were self drive in Etosha, the location of Mushara was very close to the Etosha entry gate" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Mushara bush camp exceeded expectations"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"We arrived at 5pm after a long day game viewing in the park The temperature was 34 degrees Celsius and we were given a friendly welcome by Victoria who showed us around the Camp and our tent.

The secluded tent while hot soon cooled down with the fan on and side and front vents open. The tent was well thought out, as was the camp.The pool was cool and refreshing with plenty of sun beds and shade. The first evening we had a barbecue in the boma which was excellent. The second night we ate in the restaurant that always managed to catch the breeze and again had an excellent meal.

We had some reservations about staying outside the park but the morning game drive with the lodge was very good despite the other couple on the vehicle turning up 25 minutes late. The delay was well managed by an embarrassed camp manager. The guide still managed to to find us the big 4 in the park ending with an excellent siting of a leopard in a tree.

All the staff at the camp were very efficient, competent and friendly" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Family A
Scarborough

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"Our second trip. No night drive so just supper and bed but very comfortable.

Wonderful singing by the staff at supper." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Midlands

"Delightful, slightly different 'lodge'"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"We thought this a delightful place. It was comfortable but with enough authenticity to merit the name Camp Though the accommodation is set in the 'bush', accessed is by well lit paved paths.

We loved the large attractive thatched lounge, bar and restaurant area, and, even more, the evening barbecue meal in the nearby boma which was delicious.

Our room had everything we needed, the beds were snug, and the staff universally welcoming and helpful. It had the best pool of all we found and was subtly different to the other lodges, and good for that.

It ran the Desert Homestead Outpost, our favourite, very close. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Samantha
London

"Mushara was fun"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2018
"We enjoyed our time at Mushara Bush Camp. They organised a really upbeat, can-do female guide to take us on game drives into Etosha - and she found everything you could want and more including baby lion cubs, cheetah, leopard, elephants, rhino, wildebeast, giraffe, zebra...................

Rooms were very spacious and clean. Was only place we encountered mosquitos - my 14 year old really suffered - so check your bed nets. Food was fine. Staff were all very friendly. Pool was freezing but kids didn't seem to mind." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Miss P
UK

"Mushara is a MUST"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2018
"Close to the east gate into Etosha so easy access into the park. Interestingly this gate was much more laid back at booking you in and reception where the park fees were paid was efficient with no ledgers to complete.

Open plan seating and dining areas with local wildlife, bushpig family to mow the lawns, squirrels to clear the restaurant floor. Great tented accommodation spread throughout the grounds providing privacy. Lovely friendly staff. Excellent food. Good pool.

Went on a game drive with another couple and saw a cheetah with 3 cubs and then returned later to watch her make a kill. Wow. Later drove ourselves in the park and on our way out stopped at the dik dik drive waterhole that had 3 elephants in it who were then joined by a further 13 and then 5 more. What an end to the day a 21 elephant salute" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

TansySue
UK

"Tented chalet amoungst the wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2018
"We spent 2 nights at Mushara Bush Camp which is situated a short distance from one of the gates into Etosha National Park.

We stayed in a tented chalet which seemed to be right in the heart of the bush, in fact one evening we were delighted to find a common duiker just outside our door when we came back from dinner. (A big gate at the entrance to the camp keeps out all the carnivores)

Mosquito nets hung over the bed, it was quaint to have electrified Tilley lamps as reading lights either side of the beds. Tea and coffee making facilities and cookies in a jar were a nice welcome. The small safe was essential as there was no lock on the chalet's main door which I did find rather concerning as it meant my expensive camera gear was uninsured while in situ.

The first evening we ate dinner in the booma which was a delight with the chefs at their BBQ. Lunch and the next evening meal were taken in the dinning room - very good quality food on offer I particularly remember a wonderful chicken caesar salad.

Nice to find free WiFi available in the main building.

During our safaris into Etosha we were lucky enough to encounter an African wildcat and a cheetah with 3 young cubs of about 4 weeks old." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Frank & Cath
Retford

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2017
"The Bradt guide gives the impression that there are walks around the Mushara estate, which was not the case. After an excellent day spent travelling through Etosha NP, visiting water holes and seeing wild life, we did not feel the need to do a further trip from Mushara.

We did enjoy the accommodation and facilities but activities other than Etosha are needed." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr J
Birmingham

"Reasonable"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2017
"They had a difficult act to follow after we arrived here from Ongava.

Accommodation and pool were fine. On our first evening they forgot to serve us the main course and we had to go and ask for it. There seems to be a system whereby drinks are ordered / served at 19.30, starter at 20.00, dessert at 20.30. Then you have to wait to sign your bill and tell them when you will be having breakfast.

Our second evening there was an outside buffet which was much better run but unfortunately the third evening had the same timetable with plated food being served - so much food piled on top of each other the flavours were lost and much food was wasted because it was far too much, not only for us." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 236
94%
236 reviews of Mushara Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
177
50
8
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa