This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Salop

"Exciting situation in the mountains"

3 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2011
"We were upgraded to a better room
We liked the situation and the walks from the door
We enjoyed the meals sitting around a big table
Very comfy room with tea and coffe and hot water
The owners were very friendly and helpful
saw Hartmans Zebra on a walk locally" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Chester

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2010
"V friendly and helpful staff. Good info on local walks.

Saw mountain zebra and oryx on walks." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Dr B
Richmond

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"We initially felt rather disappointed when we arrived at Bullsport though our experience improved.

Our room was next to a shop which was open to the public, though we found that we need not have been concerned about this. Rather a lot of flies in the pool area, probably because of all the horses.

Meals were taken around large tables, outside on the first night. Food was good, though it was zebra on both nights. The owners recommended a walk which involved a driver taking us to the start and finish points. This was excellent and we enjoyed it very much, though we were not told, when it was recommended, how much it was going to cost (the amount was not excessive but we felt that it should have been made clear at the outset)." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms S & Mr D
South

"Bullsport Guest Farm"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2010
"We spent two nights at Bullsport. Our room was very large - almost like a small flat - I think that we had been given a family room.

We did a couple of walks from the farm - Kudu Trail and Ridge Trail. On the Kudu Trail, we saw Kudu and some other antelope. All very timid and fled as soon as they were aware of our presence. We found the heat excessive during the day, so didn't take advantage of their longer walks.

The evening meals are communal dining. We had Zebra from farm both evenings - roasted and goulash. Lunch and mid-afternoon cake/tea/coffee are also available for an extra charge. This was very convenient.

Due to the heat, we didn't fancy much walking, but took a scenic drive to Solitaire and back - 1 hour each way. Our hostess suggested an alternative route to Desert Homestead via the D855/D850/D831/C19. This takes you via the Tsaris Pass and was one of the best drives of our trip, particularly the stretch along the C19. The D roads were fine, but with lots of peaks and dips - we didn't encounter a single car on this part. We would highly recommend this alternative route." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"Fantastic location for excellent walks in varied scenery.

The new room accommodation is very modern and well designed. We liked the fact that the bathroom and plenty of surfaces were behind the bed and lounge area so that luggage and belongings were well stored out of sight so the room could remain looking as neat and tidy as when we first walked in! Although there was lots of space and surfaces throughout there was no actual closet for hanging clothes and only a very few hangers provided when other aspects of the accommodation were lavishly done.

The room was strangely out of kilter with the otherwise old fashioined, traditional style and ambiance of a guest farm.

Breakfasts were a very enjoyable spread but evening meals less so." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Woking

"And now for something completely different"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"We arrived embarrassingly early because the drive from Kulala was short and easy. Ernst Sauber was obviously busy (and his wife away) but was welcoming and sorted us out very efficiently. The early arrival meant that we had time for one of the longer walks later in the afternoon and we very much enjoyed that.

We were in one of the luxury rooms (11) which was large, cool (despite no fan or ac), very comfortable and had a gorgeous shower. The following day we opted for the 4 x 4 drive into the Naukluft Mountains followed by a walk through the Quivertree gorge - which had a river with water in it! and baboons that we enjoyed. The printed directions were very clear and easy to follow.That made for a great morning and we planned to do one of the shorter walks from the farm in the later afternoon but somehow didn't get around to it.

The food was fairly plain but good and on the second day when we were the only non German speakers at dinner (after a very mixed mostly English speaking bunch the first night), Ernst was very skillful in ensuring that we didn't feel left out." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr G
Toronto

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"Great friendly hosts, lovely diner experience, lovly rooms" See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs A
UK

"Good for stopover"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"We really only needed a one night stop as there was little to do unless you are in to horses. Scenery not great for walks.

Strong Germanic influence and we were the only Brits there which was somewhat unpleasant at meal times as German was main language spoken so we felt left out. Hostess did make some efforts to help but had to concentrate on others

Dinner food was excellent but breakfast very Germanic" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs G & W
Surrey

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We were lucky to have a mix of visitors from various countries who were excellent company and we enjoyed talking to over Dinner.

After a long drive it was good to do a walk around the area before Dinner, and the following morning we took their Game Drive (where we did see Mountain Zebra in the distance and a few other species) which we enjoyed, mainly for its scenery, and which was quite spectacular. We were then dropped off to do the walk through Quiver Canyon which was good and picked up at the end.

Bullsport fell down on its teas and coffees which were expensive, cold and stewed having been left in flasks for a long time. All drinks and wine were also expensive." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs J & daughters
UK

"Black rhino"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2010
"Very impressed with the tyre maintenance side. We had a flat on the way which turned out to be due to a faulty tyre (it had devulcanised) which we had to replace at Solitaire but the men at Bullsport were very helpful in showing exactly where the tyre had deteriorated on the inside so I could explan to the hire company.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The only activities we undertook were two unguided walks one in the afternoon and one the following morning. It is the morning walk about which I have some reservations. While we were staying there, there was great exceitement because a black rhino had escaped from the conservation area and was roaming the farm - mainly keeping to the river bed. We knew it was likely to be in the area we were walking and asked it there were any precautions we should take, to be told that we were unlikely to see it. So when we did see it sizing us up we were a bit unsettled. Admittedly it was on the other side of a wire fence but close to our path - after due consideration we decided to go back another way as we felt that if the rhino took a dislike to us the fence would not necessarily deter it. I don't think we were in any actual danger, but I do feel that the attitude to the guests safety was a little casual." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa