This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Ms C & Mr B
Inverness

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Terrific location, nice spacious room. Staff very keen that guests should enjoy available activities - in our case walks.

Communal dining is very fine - if everyone speaks the same language. Other guests were all German (and the hosts) but the evening might have been easier if we had our own table. Worse at breakfast when service was non-existent.

Very reasonably priced and well stocked honesty bar." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Mr S
USA

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"We really loved this place.

The room had style and was quite comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The food was quite good and we enjoyed meeting other guests through the family-style meals. Hiking trails are nicely laid out and well marked. Can't say enough about how beautiful the hike in Quiver Tree Gorge was.

Highly recommend both the place and the hike." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Very friendly and efficient. Room was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable with good view.

Good walks marked out around the guesthouse and wonderful Quiver Tree Canyon walk as an optional extra.

Good food and relaxed communal dining. Well-equipped bar for sundowners on the sitting area outside the room. We'd certainly return." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
V group
Italy

"Good stop in Naukluft area"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2011
"Bullsport Guest Farm is located in a very nice setting. Several trails depart from the farm, allowing you to visit the surrounding area choosing the trail by time and difficulty.
Rooms are very large and appropriately clean, I wouldn't call them luxurious but they are more than satisfying.
Common spaces are just adequate, breakfast and dinner are home prepared and are served on large tables with other guests. This is a good opportunity to meet new people and discuss about your trip in Namibia.
Overall, the feeling is very good, it feels like a really local place with good facilities, definitely not like a lodge aimed at tourists." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Middlesex

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2011
"Friendly, helpful, really great food, very enjoyable activities with guiding very good.

Fun to be on a farm with other activities going on." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Prof R
UK

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2011
"We spent a lovely 4 nights here and would highly recommend Bullsport. Ernst and Johanna are very good hosts and there is a wide range of activities on offer. Very nice accommodation (we were upgraded to a spacious cabin with a separate living room). Gas heaters for the bedrooms. Swimming pool and outdoor barbecue area are available, though obviously not in use mid-winter! Excellent meals around a communal table with the hosts and other guests. Comfortable sitting room with lots of books, and you could borrow hiking poles.

We walked some of the self-guided trails, which are generally well signed although the recent rains had washed some marks away and more signs are needed in some locations. The full day hike towards and through the Quiver Tree Gorge is fantastic, for scenery, variety and interesting vegetation, birds and geology. Although there are some steep climbs, you can bypass the difficult scramble which some books mention and I managed it, even though I am in my sixties and have a minor knee problem. We were given a short-wave radio to call the farm if there was an emergency, which seemed a good idea.

We went horse riding for three half-day rides, which were well organised and a great experience - including riding near the rare Mountain Zebras.
There seems to be a good choice of horses for different abilities." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Ramblers
UK

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2011
"This was the most enjoyable place we stayed at, because of the friendly, family atmosphere around the shared dinner table, and the chance to converse with fellow guests of various nationalties. The food was good homely cooking of a high standard. We were upgraded to one of the new rooms which were spacious and comfortable. The walking trails on the Bullsport land are very well marked and the Naukluft mountains are beautiful with the chance to see kudu, klipspringer, dassies & baboons. We also did the Olive Trail in the Naukluft National Park while at Bullsport - this was a lovely walk but the infamous chains section above the pools in the gorge was more difficult than expected. The access to the start of the Olive Trail was by 4x4 or high-clearance 2WD." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms M-E
Nevada

"Great Stay at Bullsport Guest Farm"

4 nights Arrived 15 May 2011
"We thoroughly enjoyed our four-night stay at Bullsport Guest Farm. We had no problems driving to the farm, despite some damage to the roads from the heavy rains. The hosts were excellent, and made us feel like part of the family. Conversations at dinner were always interesting, and involved speaking a variety of languages - but communication was never a problem.

The rooms were great - lovely design and decor, and extremely functional. We loved the relaxed atmosphere, and the staff were always willing to help us out and make things work. It was wonderful that we could hike right from the farm (without driving), and the Quiver Tree Gorge hike was amazing. We also enjoyed the shorter hikes, seeing kudu and mountain zebras, and we were able to run in the mornings on the Kudu trail.

The farm has maps and directions (and personal advice) for all the hikes. One morning, we did the Ridge trail on horseback, which allowed us to get closer to the zebras. Our hosts, Ernst and Johanna Sauber, had to go to Windhoek midway during our visit, but had arranged our trip to Sossusvlei before they left (including giving us a small book describing the area). Ernst's sister, Hedi, came to help out with managing the farm, and we enjoyed meeting and talking with her.

Martin took us to Sossusvlei, and he did a great job. He is very knowledgable about the wildlife in the area, and our drive to Sossusvlei was very interesting and infomative. He was responsive to what we wanted to see and do at Sossusvlei, and let us stay until the park closed at sunset. It was a wonderful day and well worth the expense. We would certainly go back to Bullsport Guest Farm, especially for the great hiking in the area." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AP
NW London

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2011
"An extremely nice place to stay. We enjoyed our 2 nights a lot, Johanna Sauber and all the staff were amazing hosts.

Highlights were the simple and efficient service provided, the walks and views of the mountains, the food, the relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

It is also a great place with a young child." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms M
Dorking

"A good activities base."

2 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2011
"Johanna & Ernst were great hosts who did much to make the communal mealtimes an enjoyably inclusive experience.

Their laidback approach ensured a relaxed atmosphere with bouts of lively humour!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 121-130 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa