This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm


24°8’56.3"S 16°21’48.3"E

Reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Wildlife sightings and reviews

175 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited BullsPort Lodge & Farm and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at BullsPort Lodge & Farm.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

67% success

Oryx

15% success

Meerkat

8% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 175
Duration
Arrival date
Mr SB
NW London

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2010
"Very welcoming,
Wonderful location
Great ambience
Highly recommended" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs S
NL

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"We really enjoyed this location, the horse riding was a real experience for us all.

The dinner served all guests at the same time including the hosts - this was a great environment for sharing travel stories, very enjoyable" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr C & family
UK

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"Communal mealtimes with the owner Ernst, & his young volunteer horse-trainer Madeleine were the highlight of our stay - we felt honoured that they took the time to eat with their guests. The food was simple but well-cooked and featured zebra ham & game meat direct from the farm.

Old-style farmhouse accomodation (portable gas fires in bedrooms) in tranquil surroundings. 2 great danes loll companiably around giving the feeling of being a house-guest in someone's home. Very interesting to see how a Namibian born farmer runs his estate, how he considers welfare of his farm-workers etc.

If you plan to go on one of the marked walks, you do need to consider arrival times, dusk etc, as this will limit what you can do on a one-night stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Family P
Cirencester

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2010
"This place isn't luxurious, but it is vey comfotable and homely with excellent food.

We were made very welcome by hosts who clearly wanted us to get the most out of our stay. They even repaired a puncture at little cost whislt we were out walking.

Everybody sitting down together to eat dinner with the family was enjoyed by all. This is just how a guesthouse should be run." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A & family
UK

"Overnight stay in the Naukluft mountains"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2010
"A very efficiently run Guest Farm. Well established stables/stud attracts many visitors interested in trekking, often returning several times to visit.

We stayed one night en route to Sesriem, and walked in the Naukluft hills in late afternoon, follwong a well marked trail from the farm, through the river bed, up to a desrted farm and bushmans cave, before returning via the waterhole to the farm. This was very atmospheric and set the scene very effectively.

We enjoyed a bottle of Reisling watching the sun go down spectacularly behind the mountains, and then enjjoyed a fine dinner in a communal setting.

The farm owners were welcoming and helpful, but the housekeeping/kitchen staff were less forthcoming and chatty than we subsequently became accostomed to." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Worcester

"Walking in the Naukluft Mountains"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2010
"We very much enjoyed our 3 night stay here and the friendly atmosphere generated by Johanna and Ernst. The communal dining worked well with the mix of nationalities and it was good to swap stories and share plans for the following day. The room was simple but perfectly adequate.

We mainly chose Bullsport for the walking opportunities it offers and were not disappointed. One day we did Bullsport's own 12km Quiver Tree Gorge trail. Anyone who does hillwalking in the UK will have no problem with this - with the added excitement of seeing mountain zebra and kudu. The next day we did part of the Waterkloof trail in the national park - it was quite a surprise to see so much greenery and running water." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Great place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2010
"We loved this! Although it was in the middle of nowhere- the accomodation was fantastic and Johanna, Ernst and their two sons were wonderful company. Our room was amazing with a great bathroom - I understand these have been recent additions and they were very nice. The best linen on the whole trip!

We enjoyed the meals around the family table and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

We did do the drive up the mountain to see the Rock Arch which as stated in Bullsport information is quite challenging for those with Vertigo! Sadly, the walk down to the arch, proved too much; both for my vertigo and for my husband who was feeling poorly as it was very very hot!

However, Johanna and Ernst's son took us on an evening scenic drive around the farm which was beautiful. This was a place we would return to. Thank you Johanna and Ernst for a lovely stay. Thank you too to your lovely son for cleaning our car!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2010
"We stayed in Room 8. Cater mainly for German guests.

We would recommend the Quivertree Gorge Trip organised by the guest farm, although the guide we had could only speak German!" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Warks

"Great walks at Bullsport Guest Farm"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2010
"Great spacious, well -equiped chalets in the grounds of this working farm. Meals are taken with the family around the communal dining table. The evening meal we had was pasta with small meatballs (I hate to imagine how big "large meatballs" would be as the small were fist-sized!), which was very tasty. Staff and owners were very friendly and efficient and happy to offer advise and pass on information about farming and running a business in Namibia.

They offer guided or self -guided walks on their farm, we were only staying one night on our way to the Namib but did manage a short walk on the morning we left, lots of amazing birds and the gardens are attractive especially the cactus area." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Newnan

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2010
"Six recently completed rooms have not received the mention they deserve. They are imaginatively designed, spacious and airy with private porch; bed-sitting room; extensive luggage stowage area; dressing area; huge bath with double-sinks and an open walk-in shower sufficient for three to four adults (we imagine).

Oh, yes. After a dusty 5-hour hike, the cold swimming pool is sublime." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 141-150 of 175
89%
175 reviews of BullsPort Lodge & Farm by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
97
67
9
0
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa