This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Ms K
Alberta

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2015
"This was a magical place with great facilities. It was wonderful to be able to go through the 'back door' to see the dunes." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
PV
Ireland

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2015
"Welcoming friendly staff

Hot air ballooning is a must as is early morning dune climbs." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Keens
Connecticut

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2015
"The Kuala Lodge was also wonderful. Everyone was helpful and accommodating.

We loved being able to sleep outside on the roof watching the stars.

The excursions were fun and interesting.

The desert scenery there is spectacular." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Hungary

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2015
"Very nice location. Overpriced activities but later I noticed that Wilderness Safaris are using the same price level in all their locations. The Family room was very good. Meals good but not highlight.

Activities were great and our kids fell in love with Suwama - our guide.

We have taken two sundown excursions and one morning to sand dunes. Big advantage of the Resort is the private gate which saves appr. 1 hour drive." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Excellent lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2014
"This is a well located lodge with friendly/helpful staff and very good guides. Excellent accommodation but insufficient veranda shade on individual lodges which restricted the ability to sit on deck after 3pm.

Was very hot - highest temp of the 2 days was 40.2 degrees. On first night only 2 other guests (one of whom worked for Wilderness and was with her sister) 2nd night - same 2 girls plus one other couple and a girl from Namibia Treks and Trails plus a Wilderness pilot. F

ood was disappointing - meat was tough (management informed and apologetic) fruit salad consisted of c. 90% apple, fresh fruit was unripe. No advice given by staff regarding food preparation eg. loin of lamb (more like very old lamb/sheep!) came with mustard sauce poured over the meat - no option advised. Little food choice - may be associated with so few guests.

No Wi-Fi but guests can use main lodge computer - good connection. Lots of activities including quad biking - a first for us - which was a fantastic experience." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Ms M
New York

"Unforgettable place!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2014
"This is a stunning place. After driving the unexpectedly long (but tremendously scenic!) driveway in, we were greeted by lodge staff offering us refreshing homemade ginger "beer." We were then given a tour of the facilities (gorgeous!) and were seated on the veranda where staff members asked us about any dietary restrictions and described the activities we could partake in during our two-night stay.

At first this place seemed a bit fancy and formal compared to where we had just come from (Bullsport Guest Farm) but that feeling soon dissipated thanks to the friendly and attentive staff.

Our kulala was great. It is really more like a semi-permanent tent - the walls of the main room are canvas, though the bathroom is a type of stucco or adobe. It was furnished tastefully and appropriately for it's stunning surroundings. However you are literally at the edge of the desert, so accept that dust will be a factor here despite all the efforts to keep everything clean. The view from our little deck was amazing - the dunes are right there. We did opt to sleep on the roof one night to enjoy the stars - we highly recommend that! It definitely got chilly overnight, and while we were cozy up there, we did go back in our room at about 4 or 5am to get a few hours of solid sleep.

This lodge is run by Wilderness Safaris so you will be "indoctrinated" (in a good way) with their philosophy, particularly concerning water conservation and energy consumption.

The food is just ok. They seem to be catering to westerners and a western diet, so we didn't eat anything unusual - chicken one night and beef another. The starch and the vegetables were heavy. Same breakfast as everywhere else we went. Other than the food, the only other thing that bothered us about Kulala Desert Lodge (and it happened again at the other Wilderness Safaris place we stayed) was that there was a big group (~14 people) staying there too. Their giant table dominated the dining room and even though they weren't rowdy, being around large groups of tourists is just annoying. We went to Namibia to get away from people! Oh well.

The activities they offered us were two different sundowners (since we were staying two nights) and a morning trip to Sossusvlei. We opted for one sundowner and the Sossusvlei trip. Both were incredible. We had the same guide for both who was excellent (unfortunately we don't remember his name). We were very lucky in that we were the only ones on the sundowner, and only one other couple was with us on the Sossusvlei trip. (Perhaps that's the upside of the big group - they were all out doing group activities!) Yes you can go to Sossusvlei yourself for a lot cheaper, but having to go through the main gate at Sesriem would have meant getting up even earlier, and also you learn a lot with the guide (and you can just sit back and relax in the Land Rover!). The morning at Sossusvlei was definitely one of the highlights of our whole trip. We did drive ourselves to Sesriem Canyon which is definitely something you can do on your own.

We absolutely loved Kulala Desert Lodge. The surroundings are some of the most spectacular scenery you will ever see, and we felt very well taken care of. We wish we could have stayed longer than two nights!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs S
Hants.

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Large busy lodge close to the dunes . Had an excellant guide here who made it all fun and interesting. We climbed Big Daddy ,what a sense of achievement. It was easier and even more fun coming down.

Staff very friendly and liked to chat which made you feel vey welcome and relaxed." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mrs S
Scotland

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"This is quite a large camp but the rooms are good {it was too cold for us to sleep out on the roof terrace but at another time of year it must be quite an attraction}. The food was good and the ensemble singing and dancing after dinner just added to that atmosphere.

The camp's 'back door' into the National Park really helps you to get quickly to the amazing landscape of Sossusvlei and it also allows easy access to the hot air balloon experience which was one of the highlights of our trip." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
London

"Sprawling camp which lacks character"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2014
"Despite its excellent location overlooking the majestic dunes, this camp has grown out of all proportion (now it has 23 rooms), and is a far cry from a tranquil desert experience, nor does it any longer have any sense of a luxury retreat. There was one giant party of 17 Americans during our stay, and it was all a bit too much like a Disney theme park.

The resort’s attempt to emulate Moroccan-style huts doesn’t come off and the camp is rather ugly. The central area is large and airy, with a big deck overlooking the little waterhole. You can take meals out here on warm nights, which is very pleasant (although the food is no more than serviceable). Oddly enough, the resort makes little of the waterhole, which is poorly illuminated at night, and the terrace too hot to sit on by day. This is a shame as we saw many jackal, a kudu and the African wild cat during our stay.

Rooms are simple but mosquito precautions are effective. Sleeping on the roof is a bit of a gimmick – it would be very uncomfortable, really cold and you’d be eaten alive by the insects. The camp was very hot in the daytime (40 degrees), and there is a small and icy-cold swimming pool to help cool you down. Drinks are included, as is laundry. Service is friendly and quite efficient.

Activities are arranged like a military campaign, but are largely unsatisfactory. The early morning trip to the dunes is by far the best thing, and the camp is located perfectly for an easy entry to the park, ensuring that you are up on the dunes by 8.00 am before it gets too hot – and before the hordes arrive. But it is quite crowded nonetheless. The other trip, to Sesriem Canyon, is a bit of a waste of time, and the sundowner game drive quite boring (until you get a drink) as there is so little game here. Our guide was clearly totally jaded and fed up with the tourist routine, and could hardly bring himself to smile. He compounded this by forgetting the milk for our breakfast stop on the dunes, so a cup of horrible black instant coffee was all he had to offer.

Overall, we felt that this lodge has grown too big to offer a genuine luxury desert experience, and there will undoubtedly be better options in the area." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 141-150 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa