This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs D
Esher

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Great location looking over the dunes. We went on the early morning trip to see the sun rise over the dunes and climb but we didn't attempt Big Daddy.

We took a smaller dune and met others later. Guide was helpful and very good at explaining the geology etc.

This was one of the best organised sites we stayed on. Attention to every detail. Efficient staff but friendly." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms H
Belgium

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"Simply stunning! The highlight of our holiday!

Only point of critique: why put the pool next to the parking lot and entrance?" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Sydney

"Loved Kulala!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2015
"We loved our time at Kulala Desert Lodge!

The trip to the dunes was breathtaking and was one of the highlights of the whole trip. Stefanus was an excellent guide! We also loved the quad bike ride through the desert (complete with hilltop sunset drinks) and sleeping under the stars on the roof of our little hut.

Thank you to all the staff at Kulala Desert Lodge for an incredible stay" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms T
N London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2015
"It is quite a big lodge with 23-24 rooms. Naturally it felt less intimate / personal when compared to other small camps we visited on this trip

The main benefit of staying here is the backdoor private gate to Sossusvlei, hence avoid the unnecessary de-tour and queue to the official main gate in the morning. The activities were done in a 10-seater van, and in our case the van was at full capacity. Not everyone got a window seat. This is in contrast to the usual 6-seater safari vehicles and we barely had more than 4 people at a time. On the other hand, our guide was good at making frequent stops to make sure everyone got a good photo and managing the time. All in all it was a decent experience.

Services at the lodge could feel a little rough around the edges e.g. announcing incorrect menu at dinner, missing utensils at meal times, a drink we didn't order was on our invoice at check-out, etc. But overall the staff addressed these issues immediately and with a positive attitude.

Having said that, we recognised that the price for this lodge was lower than at other places we stayed, and some of the above reflected that. We noted that booking the morning excursion at the lodge directly (they told us c.£45 per person) were cheaper than booking via Expert Africa (£60 per person). Not a big amount in the grand scheme of things.
" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"Great short stay"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2015
"Very good setting and friendly staff. Rooms comfortable but no hot water in one lodge for whole stay." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The L Family
Wilts

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2015
"We stayed at Kulala for 2 nights at the end of July 2015

The drive from Swakopmund to Kulala took around 6 hours, but with amazing scenery on the way. Well worth stopping at Solitaire and visiting the bakery!

The track off the road is long (20km?) and rutted, but it's worth it! The main building had a great veranda for sitting and enjoying the fantastic view as well as indoor areas for a drink before and after the meal. The area round the pool is very nice with plenty of loungers to read a book on although the pool was very cold being winter. The food and service was excellent.

Our double lodge was one of the closer ones with thatched roof and canvas walls with a veranda to sit out and enjoy the view, very nicely done. Being winter it was cold at night but the blankets and hot water bottle kept us warm. However we, and the children decided to sleep out on the roof. This needs to be 'ordered' in advance so that a mattress and bedding can be put up there. It was pretty chilly, especially when the wind blew and we returned to our proper beds, but the boys stayed out both nights - good fun, and of course you get a fantastic view of the nights sky.

Of course the main reason for staying at Kulala is to visit the dunes and we went on the tip offered by Kulala. Early wake up call followed by breakfast and away by 6.30 with just one couple and us in the vehicle. Beautiful views in the early morning light as we headed to the dunes via the private gate into the national park. We arrived at Dune 45 where there were many other people walking up / coming down. At about 80m high it is a bit of a climb but as the ridge was well trodden, it was reasonably easy going. Great views from the top.

Then off to Sossusvlei to see Deadvlei. It really is an amazing place, very photogenic and worth spending time at. Big Daddy (one of the largest sand dunes) rises up 1000m behind Deadvlei and we could see others walking up the ridge and then down the side. Some of the family were tempted to have a go but as we were in a group, it wouldn't have been possible as it would have taken a couple of hours.

The visit to the dunes was relatively expensive (like other Wilderness Safari trips). In hindsight another option would have been to do it ourselves, however only the lodge can use the private gate so it would have meant driving to Sesriem (including the 20km Kulala drive) total about 50 mins, getting a ticket, then driving down the 60km road in the national park to Sossusvlei and if you haven't got a 4WD vehicle, you will need to get a lift the last 5km. This is why we opted to do the early morning Kulala trip. If we has done it ourselves, we would have left late morning and in our own time claimed up a dune (probably not dune 45), had the option of climbing Big Daddy, visiting Sossusvlei and Deadvlei and visiting the canyon. A key point in this is that we visited in the winter so it was cool enough, even in the middle of the day (mid 20's deg C). Kulala was lovely, but if you did want to do the trip yourselves, you may want to consider staying at a lodge close to Sesriem.



" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
backwoods!

"Excellent Desert Location"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2015
"Kulala was a superb place to stay.

We had the connected family rooms which were spacious with a huge veranda and the ability to climb on the roof to look at the stars. It is a little drive to Sesriem and has a long and rocky drive (7km) this was not a problem for us - we felt out of the way here, away from the bustle of Sesriem and we saw Bat Eared Foxes on the drive in.

Staff were excellent - they got us up early for hot air ballooning (which was a superb experience) the quality of the food and dining experience was high.

A real desert atmosphere." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Drs B
Pennsylvania

"good location, amazing views"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2015
"We were very lucky with the guide. Michael was excellent! Thank you!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Aberdeen

"Excellent base for exploring the Namib"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2015
"We really enjoyed our stay at Kulala. It had a really nice 'feel' to it - good service and good food but not ostentatious or complicated. The staff were very good, personable and remembered our names - impressive given the visitor turnover.

Our room was very comfortable, and well laid out, with a good view. We liked the rooftop place where we could look at the stars (we weren't brave enough to try to sleep up there, but other people do). If you want to drink tea and coffee in your room, you have to ask for a thermos of hot water to take back there, but we never wanted to because there was tea and coffee always available in the main area (and cake in the afternoon).

The main area of the lodge was comfortable. All our meals here were good, and as one of us is vegetarian we particularly appreciated being given two good choices. It is good that they give waterbottles and so we could top those up at anytime.

We did two activities at Kulala - we went to Sossusvlei to climb a sand dune (we chose Big Daddy) and see Dead Vlei. This was amazing. Then in the afternoon we went to Sesriem Canyon, which was interesting but couldn't beat climbing the dune. The guide for these activities, Oscar, was great, probably the best we encountered during our stay in Namibia." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Newport

"FABULOUS LOCATION"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2015
"THE DUNES AND SESRIEM CANYON TRIPS WERE FANTASTIC" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa