This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J & Mr J
Reading

"Great friendly desert camp - really helpful."

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"A wonderful location with excellent facilities. Good tent.
Best of all - outstanding friendly and helpful staff. A really good atmosphere in the Lodge - the staff were all well trained and it felt a really nice place to be. We got a puncture on the approach to Kualala - the manager immediately took care of the vehicle and asked a colleague to change the tyre and mend the puncture for us. All effortless and no formal charge (thank you!).

Our guide up the dunes was very good, well informed and competent.

Very very good service all round - thank you. One small comment - I think I undertook climbing Big Daddy too lightly. I got up there but thought maybe visitors might be warned that it is quite challenging climbing up in the heat (obvious I know!)" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
I&C
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Y
Cricklewoo

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2015
"Beautiful location. Good food and service. You can spend some of the night on the roof of the chalet (the staff make a bed for you if you ask).

Regarding the activities, we could see no reason to take their rather expensive trip to Sossusvlei since we had our own vehicle (if you go with them you get to Sesriem through a private exit from the lodge; we had to drive an extra 25km). The sundowner trip also seemed expensive and pointless." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Hereford

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"An amazing place - excellent from start to finish.

The sunrise trip to Sossusvlei and the sunset trip to Sesreim Canyon were both excellent.

Staff very friendly and helpful.
" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs M
UK

"Good base for visiting Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"We were warmly welcomed, albeit by 3 different people in quick succession, making it difficult to work out who was who!

Beautiful location with lovely views of the sunset. Comfortable room. Expensive trips but cheap drinks!

We went on the early morning trip to the dunes. We would like to have had more detailed information about the exact itinerary before committing to the trip but the guide seemed unable to tell us exactly where we would be going. We suggest that an information sheet with details and costs of all the available trips should be left in the rooms.

It was good to take advantage of the lodge's private access to the dunes. We enjoyed climbing Dune 45 and the tail of Big Daddy. Deadvlei was fascinating and beautiful. With hindsight we would have preferred to have gone to the top of Big Daddy and missed out Sossusvlei which was not nearly as interesting as Deadvlei but this was not presented as an option. The guide was helpful and gave us useful information about the area.

Evening meals were excellent and we enjoyed the staff singing to us ( and they appeared to enjoy it too).

We thought that we had lost my husband's mobile phone (we eventually found it on its side in the safe, out of range of either natural or artificial light) and the staff were all very helpful and concerned about finding it.

Although the service at the lodge could not be faulted, we were slightly less comfortable with the packaged feel of the Wilderness Safaris approach." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Shropshire

"Comfortable and stylish lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Lovely room with private deck, but it was far too hot to sit out on it, even if we'd had the time. We only stayed 2 nights and did as many activities as we could. These seemed a bit pricey, but guiding was excellent and we got much more out of the experience than if we'd driven ourselves. An extra night would have allowed some relaxation time or the option of a balloon trip.

Although we had a fairly comprehensive (tick box) briefing as part of our very warm welcome here, we were never exactly clear on what was extras (wine, laundry etc.) and what was included , but the final bill seemed fairly reasonable for such an enjoyable stay. As with every place we stayed, staff were friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P M & family
UK

"Great location for visiting the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"This is a lovely camp with excellent accomodation, great staff and a relaxed atmosphere.

Our guide, Joas, was excellent and we really enjoyed our Sundowner drive and our morning trip to the dunes. Kulala's private entrance to the park is a big advantage and saves a lot of time. The morning trip to the dunes was a highlight of our trip - we climbed Big Daddy and took spectacular pictures at Deadvlei.

We took the opportunity to sleep on the roof under the stars, which was a great experience. This lodge is slightly larger than some of the smaller camps we stayed at so the experience is less personal, but it is still highly recommended." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr N
Hagley

"Great activities - very friendly"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"The accommodation was very good - swimming pool was great and activities - quad biking / dunes were excellent and guides outstanding - food very good" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms & Mr S
Switzerland

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Great place in a fantastic location!

The food was excellent; we loved dining at the terrace and watch wildlife passing by. There was traditional dance performance one night. This is a perfect place for star gazing.

Kulala is very eco-friendly; we loved the idea with plastic refillable waters and paper bin bags replacing plastic ones." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Mrs A
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"We spent two nights at Kulala Desert Lodge and were very happy there. It was our second experience of a Wilderness Safari camp and we recognise some of the common features: the spectacular setting, the startling architecture, the tastefully appointed rooms, excellent food, ecological facilities and fabulous staff.

Suama was our guide to Sossussvlei and she was excellent in how she explained everything about the terrain, the geology, flora and fauna. Additionally she skillfully managed a group of very different abilities, allowing them to enjoy as much climbing and walking along the dunes as they could.

I had an incident at Kulala Desert Lodge which illustrates excellent staff service standards. I had thought I had lost my mobile phone. It turned out that it was in our room all the time. All the staff, from the manager downwards behaved in an exemplary fashion in they way in which they dealt with this and I was impressed.

I slept on the roof of our chalet and again the star-studded night sky is something I will never forget.

We were very sorry to leave Kulala Desert Lodge." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa