This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Hants

"A wonderful lodge in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2016
"It was 39 degrees in the shade when arrived so be prepared for heat. A superb lodge and very eco friendly.
Petronella and the staff were first class and thanks to the mechanics for changing a tyre for me.

The facilities were excellent and the accommodation stunning but too cold to sleep on the roof.

We did an evening Game Drive and Sundowner, a trip to Sossusvlei and a trip to Sesriem Canyon. Our guide Alfred was superb and extremely knowledgeable.

Just stunning!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms O
Vancouver

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2016
"We had a great time here and loved the location. We had a very nice tent off at the far end so we could pretend we were all alone with the scenery.

Our guide on the Sossusvlei trip was really good. Otherwise, though, service was friendly but slightly off. We never really understood what the activity options were. Perhaps there should be a schedule posted? Nor could we determine the cost of our drinks (we were on a half board tariff) until we checked out." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Wonderful location.... And even better staff"

2 nights Arrived 17 Mar 2016
"We had two nights at Kulala. The rooms are great, the food excellent and the pool, view etc all wonderful.

All of this was very well supported by extremely friendly and helpful staff - particularly Petronella who was very supportive over an issue we had with our hire car including taking multiple phone calls and staying up until late one night with us whilst we were waiting for a replacement to be delivered despite the fact that she needed to be up again for 6am managing guest check outs the next morning.

Our evening nature drive and morning drive to the sand dunes were also excellent, with dead vlei and 'big daddy' being everything we had hoped." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr DN
NW London

"Good Lodge for the Namib Desert"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2016
"The lodge has it's own gate into the Namib Desert National Park, allowing you to enter straight from there at sunrise, which is useful compared to all other lodges that are outside the park (there is only one that is inside the park at the moment).

The little chalet rooms have recently been extended and are very cute, all offering a great view of the dunes in the distance. They also have a flat roof space, where you can request a mattress to be laid out and sleep literally under the stars - of which there are so many visible, it's incredible! This aspect of the lodge is really cool!

We did the Namib Desert tour, but really disappointed at our guide: we left 25minutes and stopped at a non-spectacular point (Dune 1) to view sunrise and a talk about the wildlife, when you should actually make sure to get to the photogenic dunes as quickly as possible to view the amazing color changes there at sunrise. The guide didn't understand this - he didn't even stop at more interesting dunes on the way to Sossusvlei. Given the namib desert and deadvlei were the main reason we went to Namibia, this was quite a disappointment. We even sat down with the tour guide the night before and stated that we wanted to leave as early as possible and he confirmed departure times with us. We then ended up leaving 25 minutes later than we should have - partly because we were waiting for other guests - something I have no understanding for when it's meant to be a sunrise experience.

In addition, there was a school class of 35 staying at the lodge while we were there, which we were surprised the lodge or Expert Afria (if known) didn't tell us in advance as they knew we were celebrating our honeymoon. Knowing this we might have opted to upgrade to Little Kuala - or as a gesture the lodge could have upgraded us when they saw our disappointment.

The staff were friendly, but not that attentive. E.g.-
1) they set out a twin mattress on our honeymoon
2) the same waitresses would need reminding about our dietary requirements even after serving us every meal.
3) needing to repeatedly remind staff to put out the mattresses in the evening.
However, the Food & Beverage Manager Brodwin really made our stay! He went extremely out of his way to cater for our dietary requirements - something none of the other lodges had done to this extent and was really touching!

Having said all this - the own gate really does make a difference (with the right guide) if you don't want to stay in the government run lodge within the park. So staying at one of the two Kuala lodges is definitely recommended - we will probably opt for the more luxurious little kuala next time." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Ys
London

"Highlight of our trip - Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2016
"Beautiful situation. A really "well-oiled" establishment with very personal service.

Our guided trip to the dunes with Stephanus was magnificent. He stopped wherever we wanted for photos and took us on a wonderful trek up Big Mama Dune and walking in both Sossusvlei and Dead Vlei. The tour was personalised for the 2 of us and included a stop for refreshments after the main climbing and walking. Steph was well informed and took us also on an evening nature guided tour, with sundowner drinks and snacks.

The staff at Kulala all seem to be happily working as a team and infuse a delightful atmosphere. They put on a 30 minute singing and dancing show at dinner - far removed from usual touristy shows - it seemed to be an expression of THEIR enjoyment.

Steph said that Wilderness Safaris are very good employers and there does seem to be good training and career progression." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Singapore

"Great Eco-Friendly Lodge with Private Access"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2016
"Kulala Desert Lodge is a comfortable lodge with wonderful amenities for the traveller while remaining environmentally friendly (ie, no air-conditioning). What really makes it great is the level of service, the friendly staff, the delicious food, and the amazing panoramic view of the dunes from the dining room. An added perk is the private entrance to the park - which means a quicker arrival to the dunes before the other tourists.

If we returned during cooler weather, we would stay here again. If not, we may try Little Kulala only because 12pm - 4.30pm resting time was so uncomfortable. The private shaded pool at Little Kulala sounds like a great way to get through the heat of the day!

Tip: ask for your bed to be made up on the rooftop of your chalet, because it is an amazing way to see the stars!

Suggestion: It would be great if there was one cool area to escape to within the lodge during the midday heat. Presumably that would be the pool, but it was under the blazing hot sun so did not feel very tempting in 40 degree weather! This may only be an issue if you travel during the rainy season as we did." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Nelson
Baar

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2016
"Wonderful location.

We missed airconditioning as it is still very warm even during the night. Food was average.

The staff was very friendly and, in particular the guide was very good." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
PG Wales
UK

"Kuala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2015
"Amazing location, wonderful young woman guide, Suama.

Climbing the Dunes and going down into the gorge at Sessriem was a wonderful day. We also enjoyed a nature walk with Suama learning about the trees and plants and their uses.

The food was good and the camp choir really sang and danced with great skill." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Amazing location"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"This really is a spectacular setting and so convenient for access to the Namib-Naukluft dunes.

Staff are lovely and helpful. The food was excellent." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington

"Kulala - Sossusvlei!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"Anything this close to Sossusvlei is going to be excellent, and it was. This was a very nice camp, with attractive accommodations, and fantastic views of the desert. Sunsets over the dunes were wonderful and watching the balloons float over the horizon was also very nice in the early morning.

First rate, food and service - typical of Wilderness Safari camps. The guided trip to Sossusvlei - breathtaking - was well worth it. The guides know how to navigate the deeps sands and had interesting information to share. It is easy to see why Sossusvlei is one of the crown jewels of Nambian travel.

The only downside was the wind and ensuing sandstorm. But that's mother nature and part of the Nambian package." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa