This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 181-190 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Ms WM & Mr DS
Dublin

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"Kulala Desert Lodge was really lovely.

Chalets are great and the reception/restaurant/main bar building is lovely also. It was the first place we'd seen any kind of Namibian singing and dancing and we really really enjoyed that! The manager there is lovely and treated us very very well.

We appreciated the opportunity to dine as a couple as well, which we welcomed from time to time, rather than having to eat in a group.

One thing which we felt was a real shame though is the fact that using their access to Namib-Naukluft Park is prohibited. We were getting a little fed up of driving at this point and the opportunity to use their access to the park would've been very much appreciated!, even if they'd wanted to charge a fee. I think they could meet people half-way and consider that their guests have paid money to stay there and some sort of deal would be worked out whereby guests can use the access to the N-N Park for a small fee, or no fee preferably!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Newbridge

"Lovely lodge in a beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"We arrived tired and dusty to the warmest of welcomes. Staff could not have been more helpful

Accommodation - best tent I have ever stayed in! Nights were cold but climbing into a very comfortable bed where staff had placed hot water bottles was wonderful.

The views from the veranda are amazing and so peaceful

Special mention for our guide Ambrose who took us to the dunes at sunrise. Lovely, friendly and knowledgable man who made our trip" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Dr F
San Fran

"Convenient for Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2013
"We chose this lodge for it's private gate access to Sossusvlei, and we were within the park within ten minutes of hopping in the Land Rover. The dunes at sunrise are stunning.

The lodge is a bit larger than we'd expected and very busy, but it all flowed beautifully, and in the end the experience felt quite personal.

The entire staff does a bit of singing and dancing during dinner, which was lively, and at times, hilarious. Great fun." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms J
UK

"Great camp for visiting the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2013
"Good camp but feels like it needs a little TLC as regards maintenance. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was good.

The only real downside is the cost of the trips - you have to do the morning drive to the dunes because that is why you go there but the afternoon drive to the Canyon is very poor value, particularly if you are self drive." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Amigos
Spain

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2013
".

[ Ed: In their general feedback, these travellers commented:

"I dislike response forms here I have to spoof the system by putting in a full stop if I do not wish to write something on a particular page." ]" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Germany

"great lodge in sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2013
"great lodge (chalets, pool, view, activites) competent, helpful and friendly staff" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Miss W
UK

"Perfect Desert Location"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2013
"Perfect location for visiting the desert dunes." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Gloucs

"A good lodge in a remote area"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2012
"A very good, remote lodge in an area of stark beauty. We had an excellent guided half day trip to the desert dunes." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Freiburg

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2012
"Remote location. Friendly staff. Very good welcome. Everything included (including laundry service!) Good food.
Edward the guide excellent." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"One night not enough at Kulala Desert Lodge"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2012
"We arrived as a group were leaving for an evening tour of Sesriem and although we were asked if we wanted to go, after the seven hour drive from Windhoek we just wanted to unwind. We had chosen to drive the C26 partly so that could see the view at the top of the Spreetshoogte Pass. Frequent stops to look at the views and the wealth of bird life along the route meant that it took longer than planned. The view was a little disappointing as the famous Namibia fog / mist had rolled in though we did get a good impression of the vastness of the Namibia desert.

The accommodation at Kulala is in individual chalets which are large tents overlooking the river bed and the distant dunes with a more permanent section housing the bathroom. The evening meal was a buffet with a wide choice of meats and vegetables including an excellent ratatouille. The lodge was not full and we were a little worried as they wanted us to go out the next morning with a family who wanted to be out all day. We could not do that as we had to leave by about mid day for our next destination. However they quickly found another guide so we were able to set off at day brake with just the very knowledgeable guide and ourselves.

Although we had seen many photographs of the dunes the actual sight of them up close in the early morning takes one's breath away. This is a must see experience on any Namibian visit. Kulala's location with its own entrance means that you can get to Sossusvlei in advance of most other groups though we were a little delayed as we stopped to look at birds en route. Do not stay here though if you want to explore with your own vehicle. It is along way back to the entrance and then it is 60 km from the entrance to Sossusvlei itself. You won't be at the dunes at the best time of day. Better still to go with the tour from the lodge.

The only minus point is that we were booked in for only one night. With hindsight we should have stayed two days so that we could have spent more time exploring the area, as our morning was a bit rushed.
All in all a lovely spot to stay, with friendly staff and excellent food." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 181-190 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa