This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 251-260 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H & Mr D
Oldham

"Great sunsets over the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"Whilst we had a nice time here we considered it to be expensive for what you got - I guess, from the price we paid, we were a little disappointed. The main thing going for this place is it's private gate to the dunes but as this could only be accessed by going on one of their drives you either had to pay for a rather expensive trip or make the 35k drive to the main public entrance (and back of course) before you even start to drive the 'dune road'.

We had pre booked and pre paid for 2 trips on one of our days at the lodge which were good. When we visit this area again though,we will probably go for one of the lodges near to the main public gate and do the trips ourselves as we did not feel the time saved by the private gate justified the cost.

The food was OK though it was always on the cooler side of just warm. The bar and dining room also lacked atmosphere though the pool and terrace were nice and relaxing.

The chairs on our private 'veranda' were very tatty and needed replacing or at least a lick of paint.

Though the comments above are negative we nevertheless had a lovely time here due to the natural beauty of this unique area of Namibia." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs L
Northants

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"After Zebra River Lodge, this was an absolute paradise. The central facility (restaurant & reception) has a spectacular view out across the desert to the Dunes. Our accommodation was wonderful. It looked onto the distant dunes and (from the roof) the waterhole, and from the balcony we could imagine we were alone in the desert.

The staff here are just out of this world. They are permanently cheerful, enthusiastic to help and to know that you're having a good time. They engage continually with the guests and provide excellent service. They have been very well trained and create an ethos of quality and warmth. Twenty out of ten for them, they are marvellous.

Our guide, Petrus, gets thirty out of ten. His local knowledge, the wonderful things he showed and explained to us, his conversation during our adventures with him, made our stay here one of the finest moments in Namibia. He was not just a guide, he was an encyclopedia, a great person and our guru while we were with him." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms M
USA

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2009
"Generally good. Felt that kitchen could have been more creative with food. Also, noticeable difference in quality of service on second night (seemed there had been a shift change)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Ms JL
W London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2009
"Setting was tranquil and the lodge never felt full, even when all the rooms were occupied.

Our activities were very well organised and we felt cared for right throughout. We enjoyed a night under the stars and our sundowner from a nearby hilltop where we got some beautiful photos of the area. The pool was nice for a midday dip.

Two days was just the right time to spend here to visit Sossusvlei, Dune 45 and Dead Vlei, as well as the local canyons and having a private entrance to the park was a real plus because we didn't have to drive as far." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Inverness

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"Very friendly reception and staff and good facilities with attractive outlooks and good pool. Rooms a nice combination of tent/thatched roof/stone bathroom.

Excellent trip to the dunes for dawn with a serious walk up a dune away from the crowds. Then on to Sossussvlei and some more tremendous sightseeing. Excellent roof terrace for sunset viewing.

Food good on one night but very poor on the other, with meat managing the rare feat of being both fatty and stringy. Staff very keen to help but perhaps overly so at the dining table where glasses, cutlery and crockery were removed before they were finished with.

There also seemed to be a lack of local autonomy or ability to make relatively minor decisions. This was not a major issue, but as later became apparent, seemed a characteristic of the lodges managed and staffed by Wilderness Safaris. We were later informed that all decisions are taken at HQ in Windhoek, even down to choice of menu, but this may not be wholly accurate." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"Great location and some lovely staff especially on the evening that they sang to us all. The drive could have been better timed to get us to the dunes earlier to get the best light for photographs..." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"The dunes were spectacular"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"The lodge is comfortable, with tents on stilts overlooking a riverbed and dunes. The option to sleep on the roof was nice.
The common areas, particularly the dining room, need a bit of work---the dining area looks like a "canteen," and the lighting is horrible.
The guide who took us to the dunes was excellent, and hiking those magnificent dunes in the early morning light was a wonderful experience.

Rating probably would have been excellent had the food and the atmosphere in the dining room been a bit better (the food was probably the worst we had in 2 1/2 weeks in Namibia)." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"A highlight of our holiday"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"The scenery / the location / the facilities and the dunes were great. The only downside was that we were initially we were told the start was at 5.45am but that was then changed to a later time. We then failed to get to Dune 45 to climb by sunrise. We actually went up Dune 40 which was prob better but we were late and rushing. The guides did not seem to realise how they had slightly reduced our experience.

The food at this lodge was not up to the same standard as we got elsewhere although was still better than average." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss TT
London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"We loved Kulala Desert Lodge. It has the most beautiful view over the dunes and is much closer to the dunes than many other lodges as it has its own entrance to the park (though frustratingly this entrance cannot be used independently, you must go on a guided tour to use it).

The rooms were a bit more basic than expected and could definitely do with some refurbishment. The staff were fantastic and we particularly liked the guide David." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"Great place, great welcome, and fantastic location, with good rooms, very good food and excellent entertainment - the only place where everyone was invited to take part in the African singing and dancing after supper - the atmosphere was really special and great fun - the staff made you feel very welcome.

The sand dune activities were also very enjoyable despite the early start, and picnicing in the desert was very civilised." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 251-260 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa