This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 261-270 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Miss N
Leeds

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"As soon as you arrive in Sossusvlei it takes your breath away it is such a beautiful environment and Kulala Desert Lodge fits is perfectly. The chalet style rooms are amazing with views out from the porch stretching for miles with no obstruction from other chalets. You can sleep on the roof but it was a bit cold in September!

The staff here are very friendly and are only to happy to accomodate any of your needs, and you can join in with singing and dancing on alternate evenings but don't worry they don't pressure you join in, it is good fun to watch to, or sit by the open fire!

We had a brilliant guide Piertrus taking us on a sundowner nature drive and to watch the sunrise on Dune 45 along with a drive to Deadvlei, you can do these excursions yourself and save a few quid but we found the information the guide gave us very useful and would recomend it." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A & Miss L
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"I could not fault any of the staff or facilities at Kulala Desert Lodge. Our stay here could not have been made any more comfortable or relaxing.

Even the two guides who came upon us changing our punctured tyre before we had even reached the lodge could not have been any more helpful and cheerful!

Perhaps the only suggestion I would have is that if visitors are planning a hot air balloon trip, then to arrange this for their first full day in this area. Unfortunately we had ours planned for the day we were leaving and due to a sandstorm the previous day, the winds were still causing problems the following day so we were unable to do our balloon trip. If we had been staying another day, we might have then been able to do the balloon trip the next day." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"wonderful trip to the dunes & peacefull lodge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2009
"Very pleasant. Excellent" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Family P
Belgium

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2009
"Here we had a great welcome and detailed introduction and explanation of facilities and activities from the interim manager, but by the next day she was no longer around and there didn't seem to be anyone to replace her.

The rooms were lovely and our two kulalas were attached by a short verandah which was nice. However, there was a lot of noise from the generator until quite late and from cars arriving late and leaving early. There was also some bad smelling water in front of our lodge, perhaps from a leaking drain? The pool area was nice.

Rather than pay the very high price for an organised trip, we drove ourselves to Sossussvlei, which was really not far and was much cheaper as we just had to pay the park entrance fee. It also gave us the option to spend as long or as little time at the dunes as we wanted. The canyon is easily missed with the excitement of seeing Dune 45, but was really worth the walk." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2009
"Another very atmospheric camp in a stunning location. We didn't take any of the paid trips as we thought they were over-priced; £100 a head for a trip to the dunes was too much, especially when with a little more trouble you can drive yourself (and experience the dunes in more solitude!).

A general point is that Expert Africa could perhaps give a little more guidance on self guided trips from some of the lodges, as an alternative to those provided (at quite a high cost) by the camps themselves. The Namibia guidebook provided is good, but some personal hints and tips from Expert Africa would be very helpful.

I did raise one safety point in my feedback to the camp - the ladders to the roofs on the lodges (on which you can sleep otdoors) were not secured at the top and an accident is likely to happen eventually." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Norwich

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2009
"Magnificent location and dune drive was fantastic.

Very interesting river bed walk.

Excellent food first night but average second night." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms DM & MR VO
Belgium

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"The place is nicely located and nothing wrong with the accomodation.

But we felt the activities are very expensive though, and what made it worse was the management couldn't explain why (we didn't think most of it was for the guide and it couldn't have been the transport cost or entrance fees, we checked the cost of the latter one...).

We asked two members of the management, once when confirming to go on the trip and in the end when paying. In general the quality of information by the management was not as good as in many other lodges.

Fortunately we did have an excellent guide on our trip to the dunes (Petrus), which is why I wouldn't rate service as "poor"" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2009
"Wonderfully remote, again a very nice welcome after a long and dusty drive. Tremendous view from the room , and very nice touch for the staff to come and put some extra blankets on the beds and hot water bottles. Food was good.

We had a wonderful trip to Dune 45 and a sundowner to Sesriem canyon with Christoph, the best guide we had during our holiday to Namibia.

All the other staff were very attentive , courteous and professional, so much so we were sad to leave this wonderful place." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Chinnor

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2009
"A perfect place to stay if you want to access the dunes. We were the first people there in the morning and it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We could take some fantastic photos without any footprints in the sand.

The staff were very helpful and friendly

The food was good but I did feel that the puddings (quality rather than choice) could be improved upon." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2009
"The rooms were a bit tricky to access due to the uneven stony paths that were quite narrow and the steep steps upto the verandah. However, the tent and amazing views in such a peaceful location meant you did not want to go out. Again we were made to feel most welcome and able to relax.

The evening nature drive with N'gway (sorry for the spelling) was very infomative and he assisted John in and out of the vehicle in a very helpful and friendly manner.

The tour was expensive (compared to Anib Lodge which was a third of the price) although perhaps that is fairly standard in the Sesreim area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 261-270 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa