This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 271-280 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs B
Snettisham

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2009
"Getting to Kulala in a clas D car was stressful, especially as C19 was very rutted and the final 14km from road to camp over sand tracks caused some problems, and worries about the return journey. Strongly advise a 4x4 for this.

It also take a very long time (6-7hrs) even without punctures or other probs. Lodge was very good but couldn't seem to arrange a bedroll for the roof area.

Very friendly and enthusiastic staff, but seperate tables kept guests very seperate from each other so little interaction. Not sure why we were on half board as this caused some confusion as to what was included." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs G
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2009
"The chalets at KDL were lovely and well equiped, it had everything we needed. The meals were all very nice, including the afternoon tea. The serving staff were very quiet, it was often hard to hear what they were saying, but they were very efficient and polite. They also did some singing and dancing for us one night during dinner, which was wonderful.

I feel guest should be aware how expensive the trips are with camps under the Wilderness Safaris group, and it's a bit of a shock when you find out. Given how cheap things are locally, it's surprising to find out the main activities are around €100 per person for a 1/2 day trip.

We did the dune trip as that was the main reason for being there and it was an excellent experience. Our guide (Naguiri) was very knowledgable and really looked after us. We also did the self-guided walk along the river bed near the lodge and came across quite a few antilope.

The location can't be beaten as you can see the dunes from the lodge and watch the sunset over them from the deck, and their private entrance into the National Park is a real bonus for getting there for the sunrise." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms G
Glamorgan

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2009
"Excursions are expensive. We booked this hotel to take advantage of its location inside the Nat Park but to actually make use of this we had to take an excursion and couldn't self drive. Might be worth mentioning this." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J x 2
Birmingham

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2009
"OK but not a luxury lodge which it claims to be. Food nothing special.

Trip to dunes a bit of a rip off - nearly twice as much as our similar trip to Fish River Canyon but without the same quality of guiding and picnic." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
MrB & DrT
London

"Dune with a View !"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2009
"Another fantastic Wilderness Safaris operation.
The proximity to the dunes and the easy access via the private gate into the Sossusvlei National Park are a real bonus here, allowing one to lie-in until 5am before heading out on a sunrise dune drive (!). However it is a long (about 14km) and very rough drive to the camp from the main road.

Very welcoming staff as always, nice to find husband and wife teams again.

Very high quality of accommodation-shown by the high quality of things like the bed linen, pillows , towels and toiletries. Food was excellant.

Staff entertained us with singing in the dining room after dinner-excellant. Our guide Dawid was very knowledgeable and coped well with the mixed fitness levels in our group.

The one and anly thing I could say was less than perfect was the swimming pool which looked somewhat dirty.

Balloon flight - Absolutely wonderful.
We were almost late due to a problem with our pick up (they went to the wrong lodge), but we made it just in time. I liked the fact it wasnt too crowded-the basket held 16, and there was plenty of room.

The pilot, Astrid, was amazing, and took us up to 900m, and then down to just a few metres above the ground, and rotated the basket so that everyone got a good view of everything from all directions. We actually didnt see much wildlife - a few springbok, oryx and ostrich, but the scenery was wonderful. The flight lasted about an hour and was followed by a very good champagne breakfast. Pricey, but an unforgettable experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"There was a slight mix up on arrival as our voucher stated that we were staying in the desert lodge however it transpired that we were actually booked into the wilderness camp - thankfully were were able to stay in the desert camp as we would not have appreciated having to drive another 44km after a very long day of driving!!!

The camp was fine - no problems with staff - we found the food to be ok but not up to the standard we had got used to in Wolwedans! The lodge were exceptionally helpful with our car trouble and were more than willing to help with our flat tire with minimum fuss!

We also felt a bit less relaxed here as it was expected for all guests to take part in all activites with litttle flexibility re: times/type of activites. We left from this lodge to fly in a hot air balloon with Namibia balloon safaris and this was an amazing activity!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs O
Jersey

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2009
"Lodges were clean and functional although we did experience problems with the provision of water whilst we were there that affected both the hot water and the toilet - understandable bearing in mind the remote location.

Views from the dining room and outside seating area were stunning.

More could have been made of the outside seating area of a night to be able to admire the clarity of the outstanding night sky. As a result everybody tended to congregate inside of an evening.

Walking trail was enjoyable. The ability to fly down to the lodge was a big plus as not only did it save two days travelling there and back but also afforded you stunning views from the plane." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Tennessee

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2009
"The setting and proximity to the dunes weere absolutely fantastic." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs M
Helensborough

"An "Interesting" place in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2008
"Kulala is certainly ' different', it is exactly what you would expect if you had studied Web photographs of the place. The rooms are very well appointed with great views of the dunes. The restaurant is a great place to view the wonderful scenery whilst dining ( as long as there isn't a raging dust-storm going on).

Our visit was made even more 'different' by the arrival of a dust-storm on our first evening, which covered everything in brownn dust, and then solid cloud cover in the morning, when we should have been viewing the sunrise! On the positive side, not many people can claim to have climbed the sand dunes in the rain. In no way do we blame the owners for these two events.

Our only criticism is that there is totally insufficient shade in the pool area, unless you are on your own, you swim or fry.

You could not ask for better service from the cheerful, smiling staff." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Sossusvlei - The star"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"Excellent location and conveniently close to the Sossusvlei area. The private gate is a real advantage to step into the Namib-Naukluft National Park early in the morning.

The Camp itself is nicely located and perfectly fits into the surroundings.
Servicewise, although good, has lost the character of a small "private" camp, and one could sense some mass tourism. Sometimes people seemed fatigued of running the same activities everyday.

Balloning with Namib Sky Ballon Safaris (Eric) was enjoyable and very professional." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 271-280 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa