This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 311-320 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"A dune experience"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2007
"The trip to the dunes was very good but an enclosed vehicle needs to be used by the lodge. Uncomfortable return journey due to wind and sand.

A great location for the lodge. Welcoming and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr L
Bristol

"Great welcome at Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2007
"Staff outstanding. Extremely well-managed Lodge. On arrival and return from trips we were greeted with drinks before entering Lodge. Chalet very comfortable with amazing views.

Sessriem Canyon a little disappointing after Fish River Canyon!

Trip to the dunes amazing but unfortunately very windy that day. Deadvlei well worth a visit although we found the walk very tiring, but we are not the fittest people in the world! Early morning balloon flight the next day highly recommended. Previous day's flights cancelled because of the wind. Champagne breakfast by the dunes a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr African Crake
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2007
"Beautifull setting well organised only let down by VERY poor food." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
St Paul

"Perfect place to sleep under the stars!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2007
"The morning trip to dunes was overpriced - if you have a 4x4 we would recommend driving yourself." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr D
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2007
"For a top class establishment the dining room felt like a school dining room with unsmiling staff who hardly acknowledged your presence.

The manager welcomed us but the whole place aeemed to treatits guests in an off-hand manner.
The guides were good and friendly.

The ballooning was just magical! The balloonist was really experienced and looked just like Crocodile Dundee.

He landed the basket neatly on the back of the trailer and then we had the most amazing breakfast with champagne." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr DS
Surrey

"Good for the desert."

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2007
"Early morning trip to desert and dunes very good. Guide only average, more of a driver than an expert on the area.

The lodge wasn't really prepared for vegetarian meals." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr J
Heathfield

"AMAZING LOCATION"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2007
"EXCELLENT ACCOMODATION.

BECAUSE THERE HAD BEEN A MIX UP WITH OUR ACCOMODATION ON THE SECOND NIGHT AND EXTRA BEDS HAD TO BE SQUASHED INTO THE ROOMS, TRACY HAD TOLD US THAT THEY WOULD BE BENDING OVER BACKWARDS TO KEEP US HAPPY. tHIS WAS NOT ACTUALLY THE CASE. oN THE SECOND DAY THE WAITRESS ANNOUNCED THAT WE WERE NOW ON ALL INCLUSIVE, WE QUERIED THIS SO SHE CHECKED BUT CONFIRMED THIS SO WE HAD A FEW MORE DRINKS THAN WE WOULD NORMALLY HAVE BOUGHT. wE PRESUMED THAT THIS WAS BECAUSE OF THE BOOKING ERROR.ON CHECKING OUT, WE WERE BILLED FOR THESE AND OUR EXPLANATIONS POO POOED AS THE WAITRESS WAS NOT ON DUTY.

WE REFUSED TO PAY, SO SHE SAID SHE WOULD CHECK OUR STORY AND CHARGE US ON OUR CARD LATER. TO DATE THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED.

ON THE OTHER HAND THEY WERE HELPFUL WITH OUR CAR PROBLEMS. THE STAFF EVENING ENTERTAINMENT WAS A HIGHLIGHT.

WE FELT THAT THE EVENING MEAL PORTIONS WERE UNGENEROUS." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr-W NYorks
UK

"Our first proper Sundowner overlooking the Du"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2007
"The welcome and rooms were amazing. The staff could not be more helpful and split our FBA across two days so that we could do a game drive and sundowner after arrival and the dune visit the following day. The kulalas were marvellous with great views.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. His name was David. The food was good but the sweets and cakes were rather sickly. The starters and main courses were good. The service was great and the sining in the evening of the first day was very good with all the satff joining in.

The drive to the Dunes was much colder in the open top than we had anticipated. The ponchos were very good but we got rather wind-burnt. Lunch had been left or taken by another driver so we did not have quite as much time there as planned. We would have like d to go up Big Moma or Big Dada, but that might not have suited all those in the landrover." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AT
UK

""

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2007
"The way to the room we were in needed lighting up. It was very dark and the torches did not work very well. I would in future take a small torch of my own.

Lunch was not as it should have been in the trip to the sand dunes. There was some type of mix up." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Nawas
UK

"Unforgettable dunes and ballooning at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2007
"Again the hotel itself and our room were lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. Our trip to the dunes (Willem was an excellent guide) and the balloon flight were unforgettable.

The food was a little ordinairy for one meal. Much better for the other. But generally cold!

The swimming pool didn't look especially inviting when we arrived (there had been 10 oryx drinking from it the previous night!!) and there was some algae on the first day. It looked much cleaner the second day!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 311-320 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa