This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 301-310 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Syre

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2007
"Blends in so well with its surroundings that we didn't see it until we were quite close. It's possible to sleep on the roof of your room here, but we didn't as the space was very small and we weren't sure how good our ladder navigating skills would be in the middle of the night!

Very comfortable and everyone was friendly and helpful. The food here was excellent.

Although the lodge has its own access to the Park we weren't at the dunes for sunrise, so if this is important to you, perhaps it would be better to stay nearer the gates at Sesriem." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss F & Mr H
York

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2007
"Excellent location, great staff!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr O
US

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2007
"Lodges were beautiful with a great view of the red dunes. The dining was excellent, the staff was friendly and professional. We enjoyed sleeping on the roof at night.

We enjoyed an early morning guided tour into the park, entering through Kulala's private entrance. However, we would have benefited from driving into the park ourselves and staying a liitle longer to climb the dunes.

Overall, great experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
Broom

"Fantastic views"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2007
"The service was very good and the rooms and atmosphere were lovely. The views were spectacular. We were slightly disappointed with the trip into Sossuvlei because we were delayed and left late.

The guide himself was very good and informative but in hindsight we would have preferred to drive ourselves in order to get in a bit ealier and also to have more time to do walking and explore the dunes - being with a group made it a little restrictive." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Tru
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"Larger than Wolwedans but still fairly personal, despite an overnight 20 plus busload, somewhat voluble, as may be expected from a big group. Slightly disappointed that our Room was the furthest from the main complex but guess someone has to be there. The pool was not in use due to lack of water.

Our guide for two days, Hans, was extremely personable and his two years working in England gave him a great understanding of our culture and priiorities. He was polite but ambitious and we wish him well in his career! The camp has the advantage of a quick access to the Soussusvlei Dune area, good enough reason on its own to make this your base for exploring the famous red dunes, a number of which face you across the desert from your room . You can enjoy their particular splendour at sunrise and sundown without moving from your balcony!

Best if you can get your guide to take you out to "Big Daddy" and "Big Mummy" early in the morning before the bus crowds arrive through the Sesriem Park Gate. You'll then be able to walk up the Daddy Dune ridge and helter skelter down barefoot into the dead Acacia "Lake" in peace and with maximum fun! Further wandering and picknicking in the "fertile" Soussesvlei area is a must! Vestiges of greenery give promise to the beautiful tranformation of this location when the rains come.

Wouldn't we, like many, love to return and see it again in its multi splendour with the birds, dragonflies, animals and coloured flora and fauna! Jonathan our general camp manager told us his phone rings constantly when rain is forecast, so many wnating to share in the spectacle. The Sesriem Canyon is worth a viisit, if only briefly as an overture to the unforgettable spectacle of s Sundowner among the Red Dunes.

Hans took us on a long day's excursion to the Naukluft Mountain Park, a very memorable contrast to the Namib Desert. An hour or two's walk up into the mountains in and alongside dry riverbeds cheered on our way by families of fig eating baboons and enlightened by real tumbling water and colourful flora we "discovered " a series of beautiful tumbling rock pools. Too much for Hans. "Hallelujah"! He was in and savouring something the dry Camp pool could not offer.. We felt gratified to have experienced the Namib and Naukluft in one stay! To be recommended!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr I & Mrs K
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"This had a wonderful setting at the edge of the dunes and situated in the "big landscapes" which we came to Namibia to see. All the staff were very helpful and polite. I had a puncture there and the staff had it repaired in no time at all.

We would recommend the evening trip to the dunes. Whilst we explored ourselves by day, Koala's location meant that a sunset trips on the dunes was very accessible and a wonderful experience.

Very happy with our visit there." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"dissapointing service at kulala desert lodge"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"This was the only place where we have negative comments, we received a lacklustre welcome, which we may not have commented on had it not been that everywhere else we were greeted with a cooling drink, smiles and details of the lodge and activities. We were not told about the activites etc and had to go and find someone after dinner to find out details for our morning balloon ride, i had to go to the kitchen several times to ask for the hot water thermos to be filled up and the place seemed deserted most of the time. The morale there seemed low, staff disinterested and hard to track down.

It is a shame as the location is so close to the dunes and the morning drive with albert was fabulous (once we had tracked donw a guide to find out what was possible) - as was the breakfast as sossouvlei but i would not recommend staying here" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr P
Penny

"Disappointment in the desert"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"I completed a detailed evaluation sheet including the points below and discussed them in outline with the management before we left. They represent a fairly unsatisfactory experience of what is described in your brochure as a distinguished establishment.

(i) The food was badly prepared and presented. Vegetables were overcooked and distasteful, often cold and even unrecognisable - a pat of rice, grey and lukewarm, for example; meat was either tough or unattractive; puddings were ordinary, obviously frozen, and unappetizing; one first course, described as 'bruschetta', two pieces of sponge slopped with plum sauce, was inedible. We have never experienced anything quite as awful as this in a public restaurant, let alone one that was so fulsomely written up.

Both my wife and I were, on different occasions, quite seriously ill with clear symptoms of food poisoning; the manager put it down to a change in drinking water ('even when I go to Swapokmund I get a stomach upset through drinking a different kind of water') and this despite his earlier assertion that his water was entirely safe. It's never easy to link eating habits with food poisoning and we can only suspect; contenders as potential culprits were warmed rice and inadequately stored cream. So, a suspicion that this menu was not only unappetising but potentially dangerous. Our symptoms persisted long after leaning Kulala.

Kulala's problems stem from poor management. Causes for concern, beyond the kitchen:

(i) Security; there is no sign of this; we complained twice, without any response, of a forced and broken bolt on one of our room doors. We asked about locks on the doors, again a question treated with indifference. This may seem an odd enquiry since we subsequently stayed in 'tents' without even walls let alone doors. There, though, there were in force clear security precautions. And, anyway, I wonder how an insurance company might respond to a claim for lost or apparently stolen goods from an unlocked room. This may not be the point; but it's crucial that if guests have concerns of this sort that at least they sould be addressed. Risk has to be managed not ignored. One of the toilets in the public area was without any sort of lock.

(ii) Early calls were either late, very late or entirely ignored. In the latter case, this happened before a ballooning trip which was the responsibility of another organisation some distance away. We might have missed our booking had we not woken independently - once bitten.

(iii) There were three organised trips. Two of these were very expensive and poor value for money. The dull visit to the Sesriem Canyon, a long way with a dull subject and an uninformative guide at that, and the nature drive in the evening which constituted a drive round the lodge's estate, were both glorified excuses for the statutory sundowner. The third, Sossusvlei visit was potentially more interesting though here our guide was equally disenchanted. Me: 'Do you take this trip often.' He: with an onvious sense of boredom: 'Yes; every single day.' Management could have helped with some coordination and education - we never had the same guide so three diferent individuals rehearsed the same tired, and already well known, facts about the acacia tree, the habits of the termite and the sociable weaver.

So, charming staff who had little idea what they were supposed to do and how; poor, floundering, management. In almost every way this was not an acceptable stay. I would be concerned not only for the reputation of Wilderness Safaris - they're big enough and well enough represented elsewhere to cope, anyway - but for Expert Africa; I would strongly recommend that until you have assurance that these issues have been addressed, you should not recommend this lodge to your clients. Have you heard this sort of thing before?" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr S & Ms M
Banstead

"Not ideal for landscape photographers"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"We wanted to be able to be in position within the sand dunes before sunrise. Although the lodge has its own gate, by the time we entered the area the sun had risen. It would have been better to stay closer to the main gate, which was apparently a 45 minute drive from the lodge." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
B & F
Hexham

"Kulala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2007
"The hot air ballooning trip, though expensive, was an absolute must - out of this world!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 301-310 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa