This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge
Kulala Desert Lodge

Reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

326 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kulala Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 38 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kulala Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

95% success

Zebra

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Brown Hyena

7% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 291-300 of 326
Duration
Arrival date
Dune-larks
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2008
"Service really welcoming, friendly and attentive, a few minor blips. Location perfect for early-morning dunes trip with J-J our excellent guide." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr U & Mr G
Germany

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2008
"The lodges location with private access to the National Park makes sightseeing really enjoyable" See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dune-hoppers
London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2008
"Excellent in all respects.

Balloon ride was fantastic.

We were not given key to our chalet but having a key was not necessary. Wonderful relaxation area with comfortable chairs and fire." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2008
"Another beautiful place and we met the man who originally built it when we did a balloon ride.

The ladies singing in the kitchen was wonderful and encapsulated this place - it had a family community atmosphere where all the staff looked after us and each other. It is remote, and there is still a drive to the dunes which if you have the legs you must climb, do as the locals do and go barefoot.

The food was excellent and you can't but admire the staff who make sure you have breakfsted before dawn as you go out to see the sun rise.

Climb a dune - hard work especially for the heavier guys but the views from the top are stunning and the run down just the biggest laugh. This is a beautiful place and one of the reasons we went to Namibia in the first place and it didn't disappoint. Brunch in Soussevlei was a perfect end to the trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Pangolins
Bromley

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2008
"It was a very long drive to Kulala from Windhoek for us (and I imagine for any 2-wheel drivers); the D854 is awful! Luckily, we arrived as the sun was low, and saw plenty of wildlife as we arrived near the lodge.

Our room was very nice, and the staff very attentive, if a little (only a little) slow at times.

The activities (Sossusvlei sunrise, and Sundowners trips) were very good, and our guide (Djibril) excellent. Kulala really is superbly placed to take advantage of their "back-door" into the park, beating nearly all those who have to enter the park at Sesriem (40 miles away) at sunrise.

The combined staff entertained us one evening with lovely singing of local songs, which was fun." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sparrowhawks
London

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2008
"Stunning location, and buildings look wonderful in the setting. It was great to have opportunity to sleep under the stars on the roof of your hut.

Service was very good but did not feel quite as homely/personal as some of the other lodges we stayed. They have their own private park entrance which is a big plus." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Photographer
IOM

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2008
"The access road was in poor condition and we complained to the manager.

The manager (Jonathan) was exceptionally helpful when we laft as the Tsauchab river flooded at Sesriem and he arranged for us to use their private gate to get onto the tarred road to Sesriem.

Our guide who took us to Sossusvlei was excellent." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Rose

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2007
"Great Staff, pool needs a good clean. We really enjoyed our stay and everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The only let down was the food quality. Dunes amazing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr H
California

"Convenient access to Sosuvlei"

2 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2007
"Service was decidedly mixed. The hotel was nearly empty, and perhaps they gave everyone time off, but it was hard to even get a glass of lemonade in the afternoon. The trips were very generic -- you and 500 of your closest friends get to tramp across the dunes at Sosusvlei.

The guide was very sweet, but basically untrained on the biology of the region. Wilderness Safaris knows how to promote itself (lots of advertising material for other camps available if you want it!), but the experience here was very generic.

The advantage of this site is that it has a special entrance so you can get into Sosuvlei before the crowds, but our Land Rover broke down, and we missed the window." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Cape turtle doves
UK

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2007
"Another warm welcome at Kulala with cool drinks waiting for us. The food here was rather good although I wasn't able to eat much as I still wasn't up to scratch. The first evening I spent in bed.

Our visit to Sossusvlei was very interesting with an informative guide and lots to see. Unfortunately we were unable to climb Dune 45 because of the large number of parties ahead of us. We spent time at Deadvlei and then had lunch. That evening we drove out into the desert for a "Sundowner".

The following morning Amanda went on a hot air balloon trip but I had to cry off as I was still feeling unwell. She really enjoyed herself.
Our only adverse comment about Kulala was the wind which blew incessantly in the evenings and made eating out both chilly and difficult." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 291-300 of 326
92%
326 reviews of Kulala Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
215
90
16
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (138 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a very convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa