This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge

Reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossus Dune Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossus Dune Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Mr D.T.R
Corby

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Hampshire

"Sossus Dune Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2013
"Great location to be in the Dunes for Sunrise. Good packed breakfasts." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Amazing place. Great service."

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2013
"We loved that place. The rooms are excelent, in a unique location.

Very nice personnel." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kingsley

"Breakfast in the Dunes brilliant!"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2013
"Could not have a better location and being able to see the sunrise before other people in the dunes was a privilege.

The guide for the Sunrise tour was excellent and the breakfast amongst the dunes an experience never to be forgotten.
Also went to Dune 45 for sunset - spectacular!

The staff generally could not have been more helpful and friendly. Luckily all our luggage was taken to our room as it was a bit of a hike on the boardwalks as we were in one of the furthest rooms. The room itself was a joy and the stars at night spectacular.

A very special place, would have liked to stay longer." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr B
Charlotte

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2013
"This is the only place to stay if you want to get to the dunes early. That is all I need to say in this review. If you want to get the shot of the Deadvlei in the shade and the dune lit like the Franz Lanting shot...then put off the trip until you can stay here.

We loved our room. The meals were excellent. The thing we disliked the most was the parking area was below the lodge. You were dependent on walking or having someone come down and pick you up by car and take you up. THe problem was that the person picking you up also took people's luggage to the room. So if you were unlucky to arrive at the wrong time...no one was there to pick you up. So we had to hike up with all our luggage. I think 50% of the time we had to hike the distance. That is really unacceptable. They desperately need a dedicated person.

We saw Oryx on the way into this lodge but never saw any animals at the watering hole here...but this is not why you are here. I wish they had a better map. I am very good with maps and assume they are accurate in orientation. Their map was not and I made some decisions based on it that were not accurate that cost us valuable time. I think something more organized to reference that described the hikes nearby and options of things to do would have been nice.

In the area, we enjoyed the hike at the Ses Reim Canyon very much. We hiked up Dune 45 and loved Hidden vlei and its serious hike and Dead vlei. Elium Dune was ok but we didn't hike to the top ...so maybe I didn't give it enough. I strongly recommend the helicopter ride to deadvlei for serious photographers. Our hot air balloon ride was cancelled but after some discussion we decided the helicopter was really the better option for us anyway. If you have a car, there seems to me no reason to do any activities with this lodge." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms T & Mr C
San Fran

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"Pricey for the value, but travelers have no other choice! We had two wheel drive car, so we had to depend on the shuttle to take us to the dunes.

They told us to park at the 2wd car park and wait for the shuttle which will come by around 6:15am, in time for the sunrise. They didn't come till 6:45am, way AFTER the sun rose by the time we get to the dunes! The shuttle driver claimed that he was not contacted by the Dune lodge to take us up there. Who knows what's the truth. It is annoying to spend that much money and stay in the park, THEN MISS THE SUNRISE.

We were also given a room stuck behind a pile of rocks, while there were other empty rooms in the lodge." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Sossus Dune Lodge in the National Park"

2 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2013
"Superbly designed and constructed spacious and clean chalets, very private with stunning views and game wandering past the deck. We sat for many hours on the deck with binoculars just watching. The lounge/bar/restaurant were excellent as was the food. The staff were very friendly and helpful although the bar service was sometimes a little slow.

We went on a sundowner drive to the dunes with a really good guide, who was extremely informative in respect of the location and also in respect of Namibian life. The three of us were lucky enough to have the desert to ourselves that evening! This enthused us to get up early and make our own trip to watch sunrise the next day." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
VIC

"Perfect location and ambiance"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2013
"Relaxing and very spiritual. Guides were excellent and whole experience a great joy" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & friends
UK

"sossus Dune Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"Ideally placed to visit dunes before dawn. We did this each morning twice in our own vehicle and once using the Lodge tour. We also had a lodge tour in the afternoon to Sossus Vlei when it is much quieter.

The Lodge vehicles work out at about £45 per person but I felt they were worth it for a hassle free ride through deep sand. Service in the Lodge was much improved from when the Lodge opened and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had packed breakfasts each day which were fine..

The only inconvenience is the long journey from the farthest rooms to the main buildings." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P, Mrs A & Mr W
UK

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2012
"The lodge was beautiful, nice big spacious rooms and lovely setting. Location was stunning, and meant we could come back after sunset. We were a little chilly at night, and some extra blankets would have been good.

The restaurant staff were very slow, and the food wasn't very special, but nor was it inedible." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 136
89%
136 reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
48
6
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (154 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa