This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge

Reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossus Dune Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossus Dune Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Mrs K
UK

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2012
"We booked here to be inside the park for access to the dunes at sunrise and sunset, which was a huge advantage. We were pleasantly surprised by how good the lodge was. Excellent food and friendly staff. Good rooms, although ours was a tediously long walk from the central facilities.

Sossus Dune Lodge could however benefit from better management. While the staff were helpful, they did not appear well managed, as we found on several occasions, including when trying to find somebody to let us check out when we left." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"A very peaceful camp inside the National Park"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2012
"Although there are 24 rooms, there were only four occupied during our three night stay, which meant it was very peaceful.

Comfortable large room with great views towards the dunes. Food was good and cheerfully presented. We felt that a bit more attention to detail would have made our stay even better." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The B Party
Hampshire

"Another great stay at Sossus Dune Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2012
"Our second visit and it was nice to see that standards hadn't dropped in the last 4 years.

All staff were friendly and helpful and, as is common in Namibia, very proud of their hotel.

The food was excellent with all meat dishes very tender.

The rooms are spacious and nicely designed and there is lots of hot water for the shower. Great view over the empty desert.

The complex must be well built as there was a tremendous gale on our first night with the wind howling all night - bit scary but we and the room survived !

there is a lovely lounge to sit in after dinner - but no one did so !" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The H family
Chester

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"Marvellous place to stay. Being within the park is a big advantage in terms of seeing the dunes at dawn and dusk. The rooms were lovely, and so were the staff.

We also very much enjoyed the food.although because of the number of rooms, the restaurant was a bit of a barn. They have tea and coffee on tap continuously, but they (and others on our trip) didn't keep replacing it as often as they should to ensure it was hot.

We drove ourselves to see the dunes at dawn and dusk, feeling that the trip at sunrise was rather expensive for four people. In fact, by doing our own thing we were able to stay more isolated which enhanced the experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs S
WA

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2012
"When we were planning our trip we debated about staying inside the park or outside the park. We are very glad we stayed inside the park so that we could be at the dunes at sunrise before most people got there.

The hike up the dune was energizing and the views were terrific. We went with the lodge's jeep and were happy to have someone else do the driving." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr P &R & Ms H & S
UK

"Sossus Dune fab location in the national park"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2012
"We stayed here for two nights after travelling from Mariental. The location is fantastic being inside the national park with the advantage of early access to the Sossusvlei area. The rooms are huge and beautifully furnished with amazing views and a deck on which it's nice to have a drink and watch the sun go down.

Paul had his 50th here and the staff made a very nice (and big) birthday cake, what a surprise! The food was good and the service was excellent.

Tip - put your toe into the pool before jumping in to test the temperature it's freezing! Highly recommend is the local hot air balloon trip which was amazing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
J, A, D & M
UK

"A small refuge in a vast wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2012
"Expert Africas warnihg re needing to pay a deposit and take an inventory of room contants proved not correct. This is apparently only required in Chobe. Staff were wonderful and so friendly. Scenery spectacular especially sun sets. Dune 45 wonderful.

Birdlife in Sossusvlei Pan wonderful and very tame. Feeding from hand. Many problems with our vehicle. Our Budget Hire 4 x 4 not a good vehicle at all and totally unsuitable for soft sand. See later comments. Rangers needed to tow us out." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr O & Ms L
Singapore

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2011
"Beautiful Location, and very helpful staff.

Sossusvlei was one of the highlights of our trip, and getting there before the 'rush' is a real advantage." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 6n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms T
Oxon

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"Great location but a government camp and that showed in the odd service!!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms J & Mr S
USA

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"After a rough start when we had trouble finding the reception area from the parking lot and encountering a unhelpful employee, our experience improved.

We signed up for an early morning guided trip to Dead Vlei lead by Paul. We had a very enjoyable morning despite the fog that obscured sunrise. Paul helped arrange for early shuttle service for us the following morning so that we could have another chance of seeing Dead Vlei and Sossusvlei in the sunlight.

Being inside the gates was essential for early morning photography. (People with 4 x 4 vehicles have the best access to the Sossusvlei and Dead Vlei areas.)" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 136
89%
136 reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
48
6
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa