This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge
Sossus Dune Lodge

Reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

136 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossus Dune Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossus Dune Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 136
Duration
Arrival date
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"Sossus Dune Lodge was better than I expected as it was a NWR property, even though it is their flagship lodge.

The chalets were huge and even had bathrobes, fridge and a hairdyer. The only thing missing was a safe. Downsides were that the rooms got hot in the afternoon (talking to the manager he said he did realise this and that they were hoping to put air-con into the main lounge area in the future so that people could at least go there to read etc in the cool).

I would probably think seriously about this if travelling here in the summer and secondly, that there was no shade at the pool (manager also said this was being done imminently so perhaps worth checking if this bothers you). Staff were all very helpful and friendly and food very good.

Do ask the way across to the dunes if driving yourself rather than go back to the gate as they did not volunteer this info on check-in." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2009
"Being unable to have 2 nights at Kulala Desert Lodge, we moved 10kilometres to Sossus Dune Lodge which was a good experience and the rooms were fantastic - the bungalows were very large and very comfortable. However we found the atmosphere quite lacking and very down beat - the food was good but the service was very stiff.

The dining room was spacious with great views but again very formal - it was memorable for the luxurious living but not for the atmosphere." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs AS
York

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"The rooms here are fantastic, although if you are in the end ones as we were it can be a bit of a walk.

Not all the rooms can see the waterhole, although there was not a lack of views.

The views of the sky were amazing - (I know this out of anyones control but WOW).

Service here was hit and miss, it was as if some of the staff did not really know what they were doing (a common problem in goverment run/NWR accommodation) eg we booked an early morning drive to Dead Flei leaving at 5.30 and were told to be prompt. We arrived at 5.20 only to be told it had already left. I went back to the room to get my car keys and by the time I returned the driver was there. However we then waited until 6.00 before leaving as another couple was supposed to join us.

The early morning Dead Flei views are an absolute must!

Check out was slow - especially if trying to pay with a credit card." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Mr B
UK

"Not worth the money"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"This was probably the worst experience we had in Namibia. This was the third property we stayed run by NWR. As usual they have the best locations to build their lodges, charge a heft price but without the service.

The lodge reception and accommodations were on top of a little hill, guests have to park their vehicles at car park at the bottom of the hill and transport by lodge's golf cart to the reception. When we arrived, no one was at car park to direct us or transport us to the lodge reception. We waited for 10 minutes and decided to walk up to the reception ourselves. Half way up the hill, a golf cart turned up and the driver apologised for not meeting us on our arrival citing the excuse of shift change.

We were met by the duty manager, Louis Armstrong Jnr who gave us information of the lodge and the activities they offered. We wanted to do the balloning trip on morning and he offered to book for us. The booking was later confirmed and time and venue were given." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Hexham

"Magical Desert Stat at Sossus Dune Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2009
"Liked the position of the Lodge in the Park and raised walkways and the rondavels on stilts. Lovely pool.

Particularly liked our Herero gude who was very knowledgeable. Got us to a dune overlooking Dead Vlei for sunrise. Good breakfast set out for us beside Sossus Vlei." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Huntingdon

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2009
"A great place to stay inside the park so you are able to enjoy sunrise and sunset without having to dash to or from the gate at opening and closing times.

Only thing that lets it down are the dining arrangements. The kitchen is so far removed from the dining area food arrives cold which is a pity because the food itself is good." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Dr R & Dr M
UK

"Sossus Dune Lodge - first posh grass roof"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2009
"Recommended to us - we had our own grass roof and timber chalet with luxurious bedding.

Accomodation could not be faulted. Run by the park extremely well. Very handy for early morning trip to dunes.

Wish we had stayed here a day longer - bad judgement on our part. I have no complaints about the food served in the restaraunt... but everything else was so amazing...." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Sossus Dune Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"Everyone wanting to visit Sossus Vlei should stay here! We were really impressed with the location and the quality of our room. The big advantage is being able to have an extra hour inside the park gates, morning and evening. The room was really spacious, with a great balcony, comfortable sun-loungers, bath robes, filter coffee & biscuits.

Our evening meal was also excellent, particularly the oryx.

We were a little disappointed with the lack of information available to us when we arrived. For example, it would have been useful to know
(i) that the lodge has its own road into the park and you don't have to waste 15 minutes driving back to the main gate like we did
(ii) that you don't need a permit if you're staying at the lodge
(iii) that lunch is included, even if the booking states you're on a dinner, bed & breakfast plan
(iv) what time you are expected back at the lodge after sunset
(v) that you apparently need to make a reservation for breakfast (our ballooning trip was cancelled so, having been told breakfast was from 6am, we turned up at 6.10 to find that 'the chef is still waking up'! They eventually started serving at 7am when other guests arrived but they didn't set a table for us or take a hot food order as we shouldn't have been there. We ended up setting our own table and skipping hot food as we'd already wasted an hour of daylight.)

A few minor improvements would make this place fantastic. We'd definitely stay here again." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Great location for Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2009
"We stayed at Sossus Dune because it is the only lodge inside the gate and being keen photographers we wanted to be at Sossusvlei for sunrise. As far as the location goes you can't beat it.

The lodge itself is lovely - it has been very sympathetically designed to blend into the landscape and the rooms are beautiful. After saying that there is a lack of atmosphere at Sossus Dune. The staff were all very helpful and eager to please but didn't have the passion which staff at other lodges had. There didn't seem to be anyone in charge when we were there - maybe this is because it is state owned - and i think this showed.

But it was definitely the best place for us to stay. We met so many frustrated photographers at Sossusvlei who hadn't managed to get through the gate until sunrise and then had to drive a further 60 km to get to Sossusvlei. Some of the lodges do have their own private gates but I understand you can't take your own vehicle through them - you have to go on an organised trip.

Beware at Sossusvlei there isn't much sign posting. We arrived before anyone else and had no idea how to get to Deadvlei. In the end we had to wait for another car to turn up to show us where to go. The sign had in fact fallen down but there weren't many markings.

We also went ballooning while at Sesriem which was wonderful. Expensive but well worth it. An experience we'll never forget.

One tip we would give - if you can afford it and you are used to driving a 4X4 we would definitely recommend hiring one. Most of the roads we drove on were gravel roads and we were very pleased we had a 4X4." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2009
"Overall this stay was a little disappointing. Whilst the location is very beautiful and being inside the park gate is a plus we felt that the accommodation was almost over-the-top luxurious (does a bathroom really need matching his and hers washbasins?). Also, we felt that the staff were also almost trying trying too hard (in a rather formulaic way rather than naturally wanting to please) to be a sophisticated, up-market lodge and somehow it didn't quite work.

On arrival we were greeted not once, but three times! First by someone with a posh tray with two damp face-cloths, rapidly followed by someone-else with two small soft drinks followed by a third person with a tray with two glasses of sherry which hardly seemed appropriate after a 4/5 hour drive from our last stop.

We were then 'checked-in' by Engelbert (one of the managers) who wasted no time in trying to sell us their N$500 sunrise trip to the Sossusvlei dunes which we always intended to do under our own steam. We did do the sunrise ballooning trip on our final morning which was a marvellous experience although it didn't quite have the 'wow factor' that I 'd anticipated. The breakfast on landing was a super experience being in such beautiful and remote surroundings (although the 'champagne' was, in fact, sparkling wine) which, with the trip costing about £300 person seemed a tad naughty." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 136
89%
136 reviews of Sossus Dune Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
48
6
5
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge offers comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (328 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

Bullsport is a cattle and game farm with thoroughbred horses offering warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience.


89% (176 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (153 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (98 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (62 reviews)
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

The igloo-style chalets at Rostock Ritz offer exceptional desert views and make a convenient stopover between Swakopmund & Sossusvlei.


90% (41 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


93% (37 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert H-stead Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Desert Homestead Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (19 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (14 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


70% (6 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


100% (5 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


No reviews yet
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa