This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House
Galton House

Reviews of Galton House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

147 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Galton House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 101-110 of 147
Duration
Arrival date
Ms P
Clayton

"Galton House comfortable stay in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 18 Dec 2014
"We had a little difficulty finding the Galton House, but this was our first night in Namibia.

The breakfast was excellent and the common rooms very pleasant. We had three rooms, and one of the rooms did not have hot water." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2014
"As before [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"A Good Stopover"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"Light, airy, comfortable accommodation. Friendly staff.

Not very exciting surroundings." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms R & Ms M
New York

"A pleasant stop over"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"This was the last stop on our trip. We had a tough time navigating from the north through Windhoek's rush hour and hilly streets to get here. But we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room, offered us a glass of wine, and recommended a nice restaurant for dinner. They also booked the taxi for us.

The room was small but worked well for our last night in Namibia - WiFi, TV, etc. Breakfast was good - typical of all the breakfasts we had during out trip.

The only minor snafu occurred during checkout. It turns out they charged us for the wine, but needed exact change for it which we didn't have. So that took a little running around to resolve. The easiest solution would have been to waive the charge but that didn't seem like an option.

We preferred Elegant Guesthouse (where we stayed our first night) over Galton, though we did enjoy our brief stay here." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Horsham

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2014
"Great guesthouse towards the North of Windhoek. We dined here rather than go out on arrival after a long flight. This was fine." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs E
Surrey

"A nice place to stop overnight on arrival"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2014
"This was a very pleasant spot to spend a night after a difficult and tiring flight - clean, quiet, well-equipped in terms of amenities and with good food." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Perfect stopover"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2014
"Whilst not luxurious Galton House was good value and provided everything that we needed for our first and last nights in Namibia.

The staff were helpful and professional and were flexible providing us with a light evening meal on arrival and the sandwiches we fancied on our last night." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P
Maidstone

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"The room was quite small with adequate but basic furnishings.

Tea and coffee were not provided in the room - only in the hotel kitchen.

We had to leave for an early flight before breakfast was served and although we had been promised a packed breakfast, this was not available on our departure." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"See earlier comments. [Ed: see below! ]" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The W family
Holland

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"Very friendly and helpfull staff.

Our flight was planned foor the evening but we could use the facilities and had lunch during the whole day." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 147
90%
147 reviews of Galton House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
81
59
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa