This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
Olive Grove

Reviews of Olive Grove

Wildlife sightings and reviews

337 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Olive Grove and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 141-150 of 337
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"A cool oasis in a noisy town"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"A very friendly welcome and enjoyable dinner in the courtyard from a good menu.

A very pleasant room with big bath and shower, wide range of toiletries and bathrobes. Friendly and helpful staff helped chase up our car collection and transfer to the airport." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Yorkshire

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2014
"This was a nice guesthouse. They were helpful when we arrived and telling us where the restaurant we had booked was and other requests. They provided us with a fabulous early breakfast.

The room was pleasant although it would have been nicer with a door to the toilet rather than a curtain. It was perfect for us in that it was close to the arrival spot from the north relatively easy to get out for the airport and extremely close to the restaurant which we went to." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Maidstone

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2014
"Great place to stay one night to recover from flight from UK." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms B
Brussels

"Olive Grove - quality accommodation"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2014
"We enjoyed our stay at Olive Grove and would highly recommend it to other travelers.

All staff members were professional and pleasant to deal with and the manager had a good rapport with her staff. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with Namibian touches. Wi-fi access was good in the room. The food was excellent both at breakfast and at dinner. The Olive Grove team successfully managed to create a laid-back atmosphere for guests, while providing a very high standard of service.

We did not take part in activities at this location so cannot comment on this aspect of the accommodation." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr O
California

"Comfortable Stay in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"We only stayed one-night, after a delay in our flight with South African, but I sure wish it had been two.

Everyone was very helpful; our room was very pleasant; we walked into town to change currency and visit a few shops; our dinner and packed breakfast, prepared for our early departure, were excellent." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family G
Oxordshire

"Olive Grove was delightful"

1 night Arrived 14 Jul 2014
"Very warm welcome from manager. Rooms well appointed. Good food." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
W family
Gwent

"Great place for first night in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2014
"Excellent food and comfortable accommodation" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2014
"A delightful way to start the holiday. A lovely room with very welcome hot water bottles placed in the beds as winter in Namibia in early June can be and was very cold! We had the evening meal in the hotel which was well served and of a high standard. Staff were very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Prof & Ms M
Santa Fe

"Not applicable"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2014
"We cancelled this second visit to the Olive Grove because our first visit was so unsatisfactory.

We stayed at the Hotel Heinitzburg instead. That's a whole other story." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Dr L
Maryland

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2014
"It was a bit difficult to locate. The wifi did not work (which was problematic mostly because Paul's father was in the hospital and we were trying to stay in touch).

It was a bit difficult to get out for our very early flight (e.g. the front door had a large bar across it which I had to remove, but no one had warned me about it) and all the lights were off on the stairwells. They did pack us a bag of snacks as we missed breakfast." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Showing 141-150 of 337
88%
337 reviews of Olive Grove by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
168
148
14
5
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (100 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


95% (37 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


92% (5 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa