This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp


7°39’53.1"S 38°3’53.3"E

Reviews of Lake Manze Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

208 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manze Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manze Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Wild dog

53% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

94% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 208
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"Phil and Trisha were good hosts.

The standard of accommodation here was more basic than at the other camps (eg no electricity in the tent) and it was therefore a good camp to start with. Solar heating meant that morning showers - after sticky nights - were only lukewarm. Game viewing was excellent and guiding good, although better on the drives than the river. The location was helped by having the river/lake within easy distance which enabled game drives to be alternated with mainly bird watching on the water, although we also saw game, mainly elephants, along the banks.

Although the shower/loo was 'en suite', as it was open to the sky there had to be a mosquito net between the bedroom section and the shower/loo which meant a lot of zipping and unzipping when one went from one to the other, by contrast with all the tents we had at other camps.

The variety of game seen was good, the guides and drivers good and off-roading does enable you to see game which you would not otherwise see. The 'champagne' in the bush, overlooking the river on the first night was a nice touch." See all these reviews: 19n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Lake safari"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"This camp was everything we expected and more. We wanted remote bush atmosphere so lack of electricity and any sort of mobile phone signal and wifi throughout was great - the lodge has plenty of facility to recharge camera batteries which was all we needed.

We safaried on foot, by boat, by 4*4 and just by sitting on our veranda - all were breathtaking, but if we were to vote, the boat safari on Lake Manze was the winner - the boat guides were the best we had throughout our holiday - we could have sat and listened to them all day. Everyone is catered for as their requirements, no formula for time to go out or come back other than sunrise and sundown restrictions. The Masai escorts after dark added to the atmosphere as did the elephants munching around our tent on our last evening.

We would definitely return here." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Redhill

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"The standard of guiding and driving at Manze were outstanding, with the guides meeting our requests and requirements with 100% success rate." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Cambridge

"Three nights at Lake Manze"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"We'd been looking forward to our first African Safari and certainly weren't disappointed. We were met by Giraffes on the landing strip and the game continued to impress throughout our stay, both on boat safaris and game drives.

The tents were very comfortable and we enjoyed the experience of being part of the bush, without electricity. The constant stream of animals throughout the camp, particularly elephants, was a treat. Food was also good, lunches particularly, but didn't quite match the standard at Mdonya Old River camp where we went next.

We could always do the activities we chose when we wanted (walking safaris, boat safaris, fishing, game drives), although we kept swopping guides and swopping the guests we were with, which felt a little disruptive.

A special treat on our penultimate night was a private dinner on our veranda with a Masai guard.

The staff were helpful and professional throughout and made us feel very welcome.

We thoroughly recommend this camp, although it wasn't luxurious it was very comfortable and exactly what we wanted." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss J & Mr S
Sutton

"Truly Authentic and Amazing Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon and we were hugely impressed. I have been on safari before and stayed at some lovely camps, but Lake Manze really is to be recommended. It has a very authentic feel and really makes you feel like you are in the bush. All the tents are on the shore of Lake Manze and the views are superb. There was a constant stream of anumals that walked past our tent, both day and night.

We had initially toyed with the idea of doing the Northern Circuit (Serengeti, Ngorongoro etc), but chose the South as it seemed to be more secluded, less busy and more authentic. I am so happy that we did this as we weren't disappointed.

The camp is impecably run by Pippa, the manager and she is extremely welcoming and accomodated all our requests. There are a large selection of activities on offer here, namely full day drives (including a trip to the hot springs), morning and evening drives, walks, boat trips and fishing. There is lots to do at the camp and in hindsight we should have stayed 5 nights and not moved on to Mdonya Old River Camp, in Ruaha), which was slightly disppointing. Pippa was very informative about all these activities and explained each one in detail to us. She would talk to all guests before dinner to arrange the activities for the next day. I loved that fact that she always tried to make sure that each party was on their own for an activity at least one during their stay. This really showed that some thought had been put into this.

In terms of wildlife, the Reserve is absolutely teaming with animals and birds - I don't think 5 mins passed without us seeing something - even if it was only an impala! The only time we didn't see many animals was on the way to the hot springs, but we had already been pre-warned about this by Pippa so it wasn't an issue. We had some amazing experiences with lions, elephants and baby hyenas. Our guides and drivers were fantastic and hugely knowledgeable about everything. The only animal that we didn't manage to see was the elusive leopard, but hat wasn't through lack of trying on the part of our guides!

The food was good and very wholesome - the type of food you may cook yourself. There's always lots available and you never go hungry.

All in all, this isn't a luxurious camp, but what in lacks in luxury it makes up (and more) in hospitality! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this camp to anyone looking for somewhere to stay during their safari!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The S family
Bristol

"Lake Manze"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"We had a delightful guide, Emmanual, who was extremely knowledgeable and interesting so our game drives were excellent.

The location of the camp is excellent permitting game viewing from the tent and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing hippo, buffalo and elephant on the lake shore.

Our baggage was lost by the airline and did not arrive until after we had left Lake Manze but the staff were extremely helpful in lending us clothes and chasing the airline to forward our baggage." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
F family
Sherborne

"A wonderful time at Lake Manze Adventure Camp"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"All the more special for its lack of carpets and air conditioning: showering under the stars and lighted by oil lamps we felt we were sharing a well kept secret. If you want sophisticated luxury then don't come here, but if you want good comfortable facilities in a distinctive camp that suits its environment, then do.

The game was plentiful; much of it walking through the camp on a regular basis. Whilst sipping a cool beer I saw impala, elephants, monkeys, baboons and hippos from my tent's veranda. The staff were always friendly with wide, warm smiles, and the general good humour about the place made one feel genuinely welcomed. Our guide was an expert and charming. We loved the game drives, much of them off road. The trip to the hot springs was particularly scenic, and breakfast and lunch out in the wilds very special. We also enjoyed the boat trip, and wished we had stayed another day to do it again.

Loved it!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Family T
London

"Wonderful stay at Lake Manze"

3 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2012
"Great welcome from the team. Very comfortable tents. Food excellent eaten under the stars where possible.

Our driver and guide were first class. Found us wonderful game to view.

Really enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The M family
DC

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2012
"Manze's location is superb for wildlife. It comes to you - really astonishing. Pro safaris, water option doubles the experience. Low tech - no electric is a precious experience for a week; and a week is not too long at Manze. However, this is not a primitive camp. Food is very good, accommodations are very comfortable, and staff & mngt are very accommodating.

Although wifi is available, the need for all of that drops away with the basic tent camp, outdoor adventuring, flame lighting and good social surroundings. We had a really good time (w/ 9 yr. old daughter). Time of year makes a difference. Manze is good yr round except in heavy monsoon, but when its dry season the location on a lake makes it a wildlife magnet." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The K family
USA

"Lake Manza"

4 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2012
"We had a wonderful adventure while at the camp.

Our guide and driver were very knowledgable. The camp staff were helpful. We did see our fair share of game though we followed the guide's advice of "we shall see what we shall see." Some days were full of events and some not so much. We were able to take a day just resting at the camp. I would say that four days was the right length of time to visit.

We came a little before the big crowds, so there was plenty of staff to see to our needs. I liked staying in the tents, but did not enjoying sharing dinner with bugs. I don't suppose there is much that can be done, but I would have liked to have been better prepared.

Overall a great experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 208
93%
208 reviews of Lake Manze Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
147
54
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (69 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa