This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp

Reviews of Impala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

275 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Impala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

9% success

Wild dog

60% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Eland

64% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 275
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2013
"An attractive camp on the Rufiji river, we loved our tent no 1 which was accessed by a rustic bridge and was surrounded by wildlife as it was on the edge of camp.

The boat trip on the first day ending with a surprise sun-downer was lovely, and we saw plenty of birdlife and bigger game such as elephant crossing the river. The rest of the time we had morning and evening game drives.Our guide Ezra and driver Victor were both very good and made sure we saw plenty of wildlife, though sadly not the leopard and cubs. We appreciated having the vehicle to ourselves, and one of the highlights was seeing the 6 brother lion pride.

The food was very good and we appreciated having our own table and the various dining areas especially the table on the last night which allowed us better views of genets and bush babies. Our hosts Barbara, Silvie and Francesca were helpful and attentive as were all the staff, especially Maasai Daudi who was usually our faithful escort after dark.

This part of Selous is green and attractive at this time of the year with the scent of Terminalia and yellow Cassia in bloom. We saw a huge variety of game and birdlife." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 3n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
G family
Twickenham

"Fantastic Safari at Selous Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2013
"Selous Impala Camp was a wonderful start to our holiday.

The raised tents were extremely comfortable and well kitted out and it was great to overlook the river and hear all the animal noises at night. The food was healthy, tasty and well varied. We were particularly pleased that the portions were on the small side in order to avoid waste. The service was faultless at all times and our guide Ezra was unbelievably knowledgeable about the reserve. The game drives and boat trips were rewarding, if sometimes a little too long.

Unlike other parks, the Selous is very quiet and it was quite common for us not to see another vehicle, or only one or two. The downside is that the game is sometimes harder to spot, though the peaceful atmosphere in the park more than made up for this. It was lovely to refresh ourselves in the pool in the afternoon! The camp is very well managed by Barbara and the other staff, who are always on hand to answer questions and deal with any problems.

To be honest we just couldn't find any faults with Impala Camp at all!" See all these reviews: 9n in Mozambique; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Milton Keynes

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2013
"Excellent service

It was wonderful to have a guide (Gerard) allocated to our family of 4 for the whole stay at the camp. This meant that we could go and see the animals that we wanted to, at the hours that fitted us as a family. He explained everything very well at a level of detail our children could understand.

All of the staff at the camp were extremely well trained, and attentive to our needs throughout the whole stay, without being intrusive. Nice little touches such as the complimentary laundry service, and drinking water topped up in the rooms.

Nice to have the pre-dinner campfire drinks and the opportunity to talk with other people also on safari, and the camp staff" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B Family
Cheshire

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"We were absolutely thrilled with Selous Impala camp - everything was amazing!

The managers were always checking that everything was OK for us and were very helpful in enabling my husband and I to go on a walking safari, leaving the camp to wake the children and bring them out in the jeep to join us for breakfast in the bush.

Our guide, Ezra, was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and patient answering all our questions. We appreciated having the same guide every day and Ezra played a large part in our enjoyment of the trip.

The location of Impala is fantastic on the river and the boat trips definitely added an extra dimension - they were a lovely way to spend the late afternoon having had a long game drive every morning. I must recommend the fishing! My son had the 'best day of his life' catching enormous fish, with Ezra and Faidha's enthusiasm adding to the excitement.

The camp was extremely well maintained and clean. It felt a privilege to interact and be escorted by Masai, and all the staff were spot on in terms of service.

We really enjoyed the Selous game reserve - we rarely saw more than 1 or 2 other jeeps, and saw lots of wildlife.

we felt the whole camp was very well organised - they clearly know what works well in terms of timings, and we felt they were very keen to make sure we made the most of our time there, never skimping on the length of time we were out on safari. The process of agreeing each evening what we would do the following day was easy.

Food was very good; it had a more local feel than in Zanzibar which we enjoyed.

The campfire was a lovely touch every evening.

To top it all, we had an anniversary surprise which was such a treat. A complimentary bottle of fizz by the river bank as the sun went down, and a handmade card - we were delighted.

As you can tell, I can't praise it more highly." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
NL

"fantastic selous impala"

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"our first safari - didn't know what to expect. So - here goes" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wiltshire

"Perfect For Us"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"We stayed in the family tent with my nieces aged 12 and 14. It was their first safari and the fourth for my husband and I. I can't praise the camp highly enough. The tent arrangement was ideal for us with two tents together on a raised platform with chairs to sit out, but each tent with its own shower room. Very comfortable and had everything we needed.

Quite a long walk to the main lodge and a Masai accompanied us to and from the tent during the day as well as after dark. The management team were friendly and efficient, our guide Ezra was excellent - knowledgeable and patient with two sometimes over excited girls! The food was very good, we enjoyed lingering over meals and so much prefer individual dining rather than the norm of communal dining. Good coffee too - as the management team are Italian they had a smart coffee machine!

It was good to be able to do boat trips as well as game drives which gave a bit of variety. We saw so much wildlife - giraffes in particular round every corner and more lions than my husband and I have seen anywhere else - everything we hoped to see apart from leopard and wild dog. The small swimming pool was very much enjoyed by the girls. The all day game drive was well worth doing and we ate a delicious picnic lunch by the shores of a beautiful lake with many birds.

We all had a wonderful time at Impala and were sad to leave!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Stockport

"Fabulous stay at Selous Impala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"We were so impressed on arriving at Impala Camp, the main camp area was beautiful and the view across the river from our tent was simply stunning!

Barbara and Andrea were excellent hosts and the service in particular from our waiters was superb. Our guides Omari and Victor were fantastic and we really feel that we've learnt so much from them.

Selous Game Reserve itself is very beautiful, the boat safari in particular was both relaxing and very interesting with excellent game. We felt that there weren't too many other vehicles on the drives and it was a perfect choice for our first safari! We particuarly enjoyed the al-fresco breakfasts on the early morning dives which were set-up in the most stunning locations. The team at Impala Camp were very thoughtful with the little touches- a handmade welcome card, champagne at sunset, dinner under the stars in different locations each evening.

We would highly recommend this camp!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H & family
London

"Magical Family Safari at Selous Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"WOW! What a magical experience for us all. We travelled to Selous with our three children aged 8, 11 and 15 and are all agreed it was a very memorable holiday indeed!

The camp is great we were made to feel extremely welcome and Barbara organised for us to dine an hour earlier as our youngest was very tired come early evening. The family tents were comfortable and well situated for watching activity down by the river and we were lucky enough to have a family of elephants spend a day and night eating their way through the trees in front of our tent.

We saw all that we wanted and more. My son was lucky enough to see a leopard but unfortunately the rest of us did not spot it before it vanished. Our guide MPogo was wonderful. He looked after us very well and was extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and Selous. We very much enjoyed the bush breakfasts and would not have missed these for the world.

We then continued our holiday in Zanzibar at Unguja Lodge which was equally magical. We left Zanzibar the day of the Nairobi airport fire and cannot praise Expert Africa, in particular Liz Woollen, enough for her efficiency and help in getting us back to the UK via Egypt - in as painless a way as possible." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs W & P family
UK

"Game viewing straight from the airstrip !"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2013
"Our guide, Andrew, and our tracker, met us at the airstrip and offered us a game drive rather than going straight to camp. Of course, we said "yes please" and saw lion, giraffe, elephants, hippos and crocs before even getting to camp. We were worried that the next 4 days would be a letdown but how wrong we were. Unforgettable experiences piled one on another

I've been on many safari trips before, in South Africa, Botswana, Zambia Ethiopia and Pantanal in Brasil, but this one was the best so far.

For my family, this was their first Africa experience, and I wanted them to see game in its natural surroundings without 50 other vehicles close by and with knowledgable guides who would respond to our questions and would try, within the rules, to comply with our wishes.
Selous is a huge reserve with very few camps and these are all small, so you do get an individual bush experience.
The trails are a bit rough but in return you see animals and birds in their natural habitat and, with luck, very close to. When you are tired of the bouncing in the open-topped Toyota Land Cruiser, you can do a bush-walk or a boat trip or a fishing trip or dip into the small swimming pool in the camp.

we had bush breakfasts every day - an experience in itself. And the sundowners ! Always in stunning locations seeing that red sun sinking under the horizon and driving back in the quiet of the evening gloom.

Masai always accompanied us around the camp, as it was open to the animals and snakes. even so my son couldn't leave his tent for an hour or so one day as he was visited by a baby elephant with its mother." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Lincs

"Fantastic safari camp"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2013
"The camp was perfect, much more luxurious than we were expecting. All staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The food was the best we had whilst we were away, which is surprising considering you only got to chose your main meal in the evening and all other food was a set menu. Our guide was very knowledgable and could spot animals a mile off." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 91-100 of 275
96%
275 reviews of Impala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
31
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (67 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa