This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani
Ras Kutani

Reviews of Ras Kutani

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ras Kutani and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I
Abergavenny

"Beach break at Ras Kutani"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Though ideally situated on the beach, it requires a 1 and a half hour car journey, mostly on metalled roads, however there were sections of very rough roads, making passage uncomfortable.

Once there our stay was very relaxing and exactly what we needed and hoped for." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr PC
SE London

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2019
"Giulia and Simon were lovely hosts as were all the chaps working around the lodge. It is a great place to unwind after the full-on days while on safari.

Did the Lagoon walk both ways by way of exercise in addition to beach walks and pool and ocean swimming.

The food was fine with varying menus (Indian, Greek, Italian and Barbecue).

Having enjoyed dining communally at the safari camps, we’d have been happy to dine with other guests but unfortunately the other guests did not seem keen on being more sociable.

" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Northwood

"The perfect wind down after safari"

7 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2019
"It was towards the end of the season when we arrived so it felt like the four of us had booked the whole place out. Ras Kutani is not a beach resort - thank goodness. It is a bush lodge on a very deserted stretch of coast backed by a lagoon. It is about as chilled and relaxed as you could wish for with the friendliest and most attentive staff. We were travelling with friends and had opted to have suites with private plunge pools. These are accessed by a winding sandy path and many steps. It is the only exercise you will get in this laid back environment which revolves around three full meals a day, so we think they are worth the extra. The other rooms looked very spacious as well. The lagoon rooms get good views but are maybe a little shy of natural light while the beach rooms ( I believe they are changing the nomenclature to 'garden' rooms) do not really have views or access to the beach.

Simon and Julia run the whole show with remarkable confidence and an ease which belies their youth. " See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Ras Kutani review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2018
"Already written a review covering both stays [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Really nice R&R before and after safari"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"I've just written a lengthy tripadvisor review of Ras Kutani, so this will have to be brief. We really enjoyed our stay and it gave a great opportunity to snooze and rest whilst watching the world go by. Room, staff, service and food were lovely and the setting beside the lagoon and ocean was wonderful.

Roads to/from the airport are a real trial and the journey takes 2-3 hours, but thats not RKs fault!!! The chaotic road journey does give you a chance to see Tanzanians going about their lives, which you'd miss if you flew.

" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Fabulous place to relax"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"After ten days of early morning starts on safari Ras Kutani is the perfect place to relax. Ideally situated overlooking a lagoon and the beach, one is lulled to sleep by the waves of the Indian Ocean. Nothing much to do but read, eat and sleep.

It was short flight, about 10 mins, from the domestic airport at Dar to the local strip for Ras Kutani, and then a short boat trip to the camp itself. You can do the trip by road, but I think flying in is well worth the extra.

Very relaxing environment, with welcoming and friendly staff and well managed by Simon who was very pleasant and friendly.

Our Banda looked out over small lagoon and the beach to the sea - it was very comfortable with a huge bed with mosquito net, a good dressing area with hanging and shelving for clothes etc. Twin hand basins and separate shower and flush toilet. Always plenty of hot water and very nice toiletries .. Good big fluffy towels.

The bandas are not all that private as you can see into those on either side of you. During our stay there were only 8 people there so it wasn't an issue but I'm sure if the camp was full it might be a different matter. There's a very nice verandah area with comfy chairs and hammocks overlooking, in our case, the lagoon.

Food was excellent, no complaints. Very varied and Simon arranged for the meals to be held in different locations within the complex which was a nice touch.

The location is a perfect place in which to unwind after a safari, there's not a lot to do, but that's what makes it the ideal place to relax. We understand
from Simon that the company which owns Ras Kutani, Selous Safari Company, have plans to close and renovate the whole camp. We would accept that the camp decor does need updating to some extent but by doing so, it might lose a lot of the charm that it currently enjoys. Something the company might want to consider." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dad
UK

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2018
"Our stay there was very good. The lodge overlooking the lagoon was super. I enjoyed sitting on the verandah with binoculars and spotting kingfishers and heron in the early morning and seeing the fish eagles scanning the sea. We only had 2 nights and 1 day there which was too short. We should have had 3 nights there to really unwind and appreciate all the facilities." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr RT
Sutton

"Ras Kutani - January 2018"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"A lovely spot, right on the Indian Ocean. Fabulous service, great food, a great spot to relax.

The rooms are exceptional, huge beds, lovely bathrooms.

We had a great time and I hope to return one day. " See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
E Sussex

"A restful start to our safari"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2018
"We had stayed at Ras Kutani two years before. It was even more delightful than we had remembered it. Very relaxing environment, with welcoming and friendly staff and well managed by Simon. Also excellent food. We only stayed for two nights but wished we had stayed longer." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Lonely traveller
Bens

"Sleep with the sound of the ocean..."

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2018
"The management do their best to make the place nice for all guests. This applies also for the staff.

The daily cleaning of the beach was a service that I estimated as I liked to walk long distances!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 88
98%
88 reviews of Ras Kutani by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
78
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tanzania Coast

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Amani Beach

Amani Beach

Amani Beach is a family-friendly beachfront hotel and the ideal place to relax for one or two days prior to or after a safari.


92% (5 reviews)
Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge

Kimbilio Lodge is a simple beachfront lodge outside the sleepy port town of Kilwa Masoko and an ideal base to visit Kilwa Kisiwani ruins.


100% (1 review)
The Tides Lodge

The Tides

The Tides Lodge is a pleasant, small barefoot beach lodge in a quiet location on the coast north of Dar es Salaam.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa