This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge

Reviews of Royal Tree Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Tree Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Ms O
Vancouver

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Mar 2012
"We stayed here only one night as a rest break after the flight down. It was pleasant and comfortable.

Dougie Wright, the manager, gave us a bit of a game drive, which we enjoyed at the time but was quite overshadowed once we continued on our trip." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Shropshire

"Royal Tree Lodge birding."

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2011
"We were met at Maun Airport by Dougie who soon had us at RTL after driving through mainly dry arid countryside (badly in need of rain). We had been allocated the Woodpecker cottage which was just great for both animals and birds. Dougie and Di were great hosts and the food was just out of this world.

Dougie did take us on a drive around the reserve where we saw many animals we wouldn't see out in the Delta. The rest of the time we did our own thing birding around the marked trails. Blue trail leads you down to the swamp area where there were many water birds and waders.
This was a wonderful start to our holiday." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Queensland

"Ideal place to recover from a long flight"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2010
"Safari camp accommodation without the associated high costs. Is in a fenced game farm with non threatening species such as eland, giraffe, zebra, impala , roaming freely. Can walk with safety and get the kinks out of the system.

For us it was an ideal spot to rest up and prepare for the real safaris" See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Motsentsela Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Nov 2009
"We were happy to stay in a quiet location outside of Maun while waiting for a day for connecting flights.

Being able to walk around the game farm gave us the opportunity to spot antelope we hadn't come across so far in our holiday, such as springbok and blesbok, but beware the anteater holes designed to trip the unwary!" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P & B,
UK

"Motsentsela Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2009
"We built in a first night here in case of travel problems - not in fact needed as our flights were on time and all our luggage arrived - but it was good to have some recovery/adjustment time after the long journey, and nice to be able to walk around unaccompanied." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr S & Ms K
Windsor

"Motsentsela Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Apr 2009
"Lovely lodge and I'm really pleased we stopped off there for a night rather than pushing straight onto safari camp. It was such a relaxing place to be and nice easing into being in Africa and the bush.

Our luggage did not arrive with us in Maun. No-one's did. It alll arrived 2.5 hours later on another plane! Motsentsela were really helpful. It was apparent from the outset that they would take us back to the lodge for lunch and then escort us back to get the luggage.

My husband went back to the airport with one of staff called Joe. The luggage was later than we'd been told so John and Joe went to a cafe for a cola and chatted about life, nature and Botswana. John really enjoyed this and Joe was very kind about staying after he was off duty.

The short time we were at the lodge we enjoyed wandering on the trails and both Kathy and Dougie were very helpful. Dinner was great fun - lots of interesting folk to talk to.

We were allowed to sleep in next day and have our breakfast when we woke up which was much appreciated. We thought all the staff at the lodge were charming and liked the ambience. I'd really recommend this place as a restful break before going onto camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Honey badgers
France

"Motsentsela Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2008
"Very nice rooms ans atmosphere, a perfect place for a stopover of one night. We had to pay for bottled water which might be debatable." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Firefinchs
Middlesex

"Motsentsela Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"We enjoyed very much our stay at the Montsentsela Lodge. We had decided to have a two night stay on the way in to give us an opportunity to rest after our flights and to acclimatise and this was very beneficial. We stayed the first two nights in the Hornbill lodge (with thatched-roof) and the last night of our trip in one of the tented lodges, both being very comfortable. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by the Manager only to find that the next day she had left and new Management had taken over, who were also friendly.

The lodge facilities were very clean, the staff friendly and efficient and the food was good and freshly-cooked. Our hosts did make point of warning us not to leave valuables in our room when we were out as there have been some incidents of theft recently (apparently by persons from outside, around dinner time, despite there being security patrols). The Hornbill lodge had no safe and the safe in the other lodge was of limited use as it was very small.

On our return to the Montsentsela we wished to confirm our BA flight booking and select seats. The Management allowed us to use the computer terminal but the dial-up connection to the internet is so slow that we could not complete the process of getting onto the BA website and make the seat selection before being cut-off ... the 45 min or so that this took proved to be expensive as did sending a short e-mail to family! Before our departure from Maun we attempted to get our BA booking confirmed at the internet cafe close by the airport but we were unable to do this because of an electrical power-failure .

We enjoyed walks within the enclosed game reserve at the Montsentsela when we saw giraffes, zebras and other non-predatory animals." See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Dusky sunbird
UK

"A very good first night stop-over"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"It was lovely to be greeted with a delicious cool fruit punch. A restful base with large comfortable rooms and nice outdoor shower - just what the doctor ordered after a long night flight and connecting flight to Maun. T

he walking trail around their game-park is a safe and gentle introduction to Africa, especially good for the younger ones in our party (ages 8 and 11). Friendly obliging owners and good food. Recommended." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Kalahari robins
UK

"Montsentsela Tree Lodge"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"Great place to overnight in Maun - especially when you have been really camping for a week - to soak in a hot bath - amazing !

The accommodation is very comfortable and the food and wine served in generous measure !

It is a delight to be able to go for a stroll through the bush and come across Kudu, Zebra and Giraffe, etc" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 1n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 31
88%
31 reviews of Royal Tree Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
14
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

With its tranquil riverside location, Thamalakane makes an excellent buffer between a tiring long-haul flight and the magic of a safari.


79% (39 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


71% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa