This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2010
"First impressions of the camp were very positive. The main area of the camp is stunningly designed with a beautiful dining area and pool. Cakes and tea provided at 3.00pm were much appreciated. The staff were very helpful and informative.

The rooms were beautiful but the bathroom was impractical for cold weather and the water was cold both days because there was a fault with the solar shower and it was freezing cold.

Once again there was a hard sell for the activities. The late afternoon walk was enjoyable and our guide very knowledgeable but not overly passionate about his job. We booked on the elephant tracking for the next morning which was again very expensive and were told by the staff there was only a 1% chance of seeing anything. We didn't know whether to cancel the trip or not but as there was nothing else to do we went ahead.

There was 2 people from Wilderness Safaris on the trip with us and they seemed to think we weren't leaving until 6.00am which seemed late to us as we were told 5.30am the night before. The guide didn't say anything to encourage us to leave earlier. Some locals told the guide that elephants had been spotted near the village the night before and we managed to spot the elephants off in the distance with binoculars.

We drove through some spectacular scenery, and did see some other game but nothing we hadn't already seen much closer ourselves. The guide was not informative and really didn't tell us much about anything. We were given a quick cup of coffee and a inedible biscuit before being rushed back to the camp because the Wilderness Safaris staff had to catch a plane at midday. We felt that we had left late and then rushed back to accommodate the Wilderness Safaris Staff. It was all very disorganised and unprofessional.

That evening the guide proceeded to tell us numerous times that he would not see us the next day, obviously wanting a tip. It was very embarrassing and annoying. He then said we were late leaving, once again hinting this was our fault, and that's why we didn't see the elephants. I also felt other staff were hovering about waiting for tips and felt very uncomfortable about it. We stayed at far less expensive places with far better guides who asked for nothing.

There was a lack of leadership at the camp and although everybody was very nice and friendly it was not the quality I would expect at the top end of the market. After all I had read about the camp it was very disappointing." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D&P& Mrs J&J
Essex

"Desert adapted elephants at Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2009
"When we arrived at the parking area for Damaraland camp, we discovered that our 4WD vehicle was capable to make the off road journey to the camp, which was a bonus for us.

The location of the camp is in spectacular scenery, and the rooms are modern and comfortable, but the lighting was somewhat inadequate. We reserved a full day for our guide Raymond to take us to Twylfontein and also to find the desert adapted elephants.

Our close viewing of a family of elephants whilst they were in transit owed a lot to Raymond's expertise. The staff at the camp gave us a warm welcome, but the level of engagement and commitment were not at the level expected by us, and that was a disappointment." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Dorset

"Our first safari trip"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"We felt we need not to have been collected from the road, our car, a Nissan Xtrail, athough not a 4x4 did have sufficient ground clearence to drive to the camp.

We had good welcome on our arrival but the immediate pressure to go on the dessert elephant drive at what we felt was a very steep price, set us off on the wrong foot. The rest of our stay was fine but not outstanding . The Desert elephant drive was brilliant and we spent some time watching a family group which we did thoroughly enjoy but we felt at 1100$ each it was grossly over priced compared with the other trips, equally good, that we took in Namibia." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Battersea

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"The camp and staff were good. We stayed 3 nights ,which you have to do to see the desert adapted black rhinos. This was a terrific trip,you should perhaps promote it more.

Raymond our guide set out with us about 5.30am on a very cold morning, for about an hour and a halfs drive to the higher slopes of Damaraland. The scenery was different from the camp site, nobody else around, Raymond said he had not been there for weeks and he found us the rhinos 5 altogether, one mother and calf .

We got really close to them on foot a magic moment! We also saw alarge group of elephants and to my husbands delight hundreds of Welwitcha planst in flower!

The elephant tracking from the camp was also very good The evening meal at the boma was good as well" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs R
York

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2009
"We were unlucky that it was very cold on the first night and just about impossible to get warm in bed. Otherwise this camp was not as good as the other two. There was not so much hands on by the managment." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Chertsey

"A great lodge in a stunning situation"

3 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2009
"Having been here twice before in 200 and 2002, I had fogotten just how awe-inspiring the scenery in Damaraland is. Since then the camp has been re-built to good effect. We are not the greatest fans of Wilderness's lodge management, having had poor experiences, but no complaints here. Everything was good, especially the food.

Everest was great as a guide and took us to a remote area for desert rhino, the Springbok river. A fantastic, if unsuccessful trip, it did throw up some problems. Only a single spare tyre was taken on the landrover. It was needed very soon and clearly had not been checked; it was very soft. Our 2nd puncture rendered us immobile and Everest had to climb the nearest mountain to get a phone signal to enable him to summon help. This came, complete with 3 spare wheels (!), 2 hours later. Had 2 properly checked spares been taken in the first place, the 2 hours saved could well have resulted in our 1st desert rhino sighting. Fantastic desert elephant, though and a bonus cheetah." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs I & Family
Keston

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"Wonderful, amazing location. Lovely staff who were very welcoming and infomative.

Excellent game drive trekking desert adapted elephant with very informative guide. A wonderful morning - found the elephants - a very enjoyable experience. The guide was very pleasant and informative.

Meal times were amazing with singing waiters and 2 giggly waitresses telling us the menus in their click language - such fun. A highlight of the stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C
Chelmsford

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"A well run camp, but not our cup of tea, with the basic (although new) rooms, very very hot, since facing the afternoon sun, and room 8, ours, was the hottest of all, being hemmed in by mountains and shale, so no air circulated.

Also did not like the communal table for all meals. However, the manager Paul, was the best manager we encountered, and ran a very tight ship." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Southsea

"Wonderful location and staff"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2008
"Our experience at Damaraland was just amazing. The views from the rooms and the general area are wonderful. The staff very friendly, helpful and happy. the activities well organised and guide excellent.

saw so many desert adapted elephants in the dried river bed and enjoyed the evening walk which offered spectacular views stretching for miles.

The evening meal spent out in the Boma, hidden from view of the camp was magical. Loved the staff sniging us into supper." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Red Bishops
Pevensey

"Great location"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2008
"This was unanimously our favourite place to stay, the staff were great fun and the location was beautiful. The refurbishments done in February were a pleasant surprise, the rooms were very plush.

Staying three nights meant we managed to see desert elephants on our first day and rhino on our second day (amongst many other animals and birds) without feeling rushed. Meals were great fun, especially the bbq, and star gazing and meteors were a nighttime highlight. We would happily have stayed far longer." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa