This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Jacana family
Bristol

"Too short a stay"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"Sadly only one night at this camp owing to booking requirements. Drove up from coast at Cape Cross, stopping off at Twyfelfontein en route. Access to camp was much further eastward towards Bergsig from Twyfelfontein road junction than we had expected (about 30km). Sketch map could be improved and signs not very visible. Access road takes 30-40min to drive in 4WD. Lodge gloriously sited in valley looking south towards mountains.

Were looked after tremendously well. Supper was under the stars in the camp's hidden kraal on a night when shooting stars were expected and falling. Next morning went on trip to look for desert elephants: mission successful (viewed from 10-20m away) and plenty of other wildlife seen. Lodge arranged lunch for us before we moved on.

Felt very personal and friendly place to stay and would have liked to have been there longer to find out more about the local community (camp offers cultural trips to the nearby village). Some walking in area, but we didn't have time to follow trails." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Crowned plovers
NL

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"An excellent experience. We were fascinated about the history of the camp and by the two senior ladies in charge (Lena and Corry) with whom we had interesting conversations. Felt well informed by the time we left and very impressed by the Conservancy model they described to us.

Coincidentally our guide in the next camp (Boni) had for 9 years been chairman of the conservancy council for Torra conservancy and it was interesting hearing more from him about how it was negotiated within the community. I wish he would come over and work his magic on our Parish Council!

Everest the guide was not very communicative but brilliant at locating wildlife and has superb eyesight." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 8n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Harriers
Switzerland

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"Warm welcome and enjoyed our stay very much. Excellent rooms and made to feel very welcome by staff who sang beautifully. Special evening meal in bush was a treat! Beware of horrendous roads at times.

Dune elephant safari was well coordinated and leisurely. Not many animals present in this area and glad we did not do full day safari, as distances and road conditions to try and find them are unwarranted.

Recommend reading about training and development of local staff from reading material in room." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sitatungas
Sterling

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2008
"First find this tucked-away 'camp'. The Bradt guide was not helpful and after a long haul from Cape Cross we arrived quite late, having turned back to ask directions at a local village, because the turning was far from being 'just after' crossing the river - more like 7km to the north. They were getting worried by the time we arrived!

The community camp was not what I expected but the concept was explained. The welcome was warm and professional and the manager was knowledgeable. I was curious as to why so many non-African staff were employed, at all levels, but maybe the local pool of employable labour is too small - it is pretty isolated. The morning nature drive with a local guide, to see the desert elephants, was outstanding and a demonstration of off-road driving technique! The local area is very scenic and this is a great plus for a stay here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr U & Mr G
Germany

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2008
"Beautiful landscapes combined with sightings of oryx, ostriches, impala, desert elephant and mountain zebra. Black rhinos, however, come at an extra bonus, and while our guide went out of his way to find them - he sprinted up several hills to see if he could find them on the other side of the mountain range - the effort unfortunately remained fruitless. On this drive, we saw some fresh lion tracks, which certainly added to the excitement, but the lion did not show either! Game is quite skittish, not surprising considering hunting is taking place some time of the year. Some dinners are served BBQ style in an open area some 200 yards from camp, beautifully lit by a large number of small lanterns." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Goshawks
Merseyside

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"The wildlife tours were interesting but involved too much time driving (6-7 hours with little stops).

The team spirit of the staff was great and we enjoyed their singing and the special surprise dinner in the kraal in candle light.

Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable about the desert elephants and their locational habits." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2007
"We were told to be at the pickup point at 14.00 hrs and so had a hairy drive to be there in time. In the event it clearly did not matter when we arrived, which would have resulted in a more relaxed journey.

The camp is in a fabulous location and again all staff from managers to the cooks and guides were lovely and welcoming. Activities were good with a mixture of walking and driving. The only negative point is that the tent was a bit 'tired' with staples and safety pins holding up blinds. Also holes in the window netting." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Aardvark
uk

"Damaraland. Upmarket tenting"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"Only stayed overnight to break a long haul and did not do any excursions but overall impression very favourable. Site good, staff welcoming and efficient. Tents okay (and due to be replaced this year). Food good.

Only minus point is elaborate indemnity form which requires to you absolve them from practically any act including, in effect, gross negligance on their part. I'm happy to accept risks from game but not from food poisoning!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"loved the singing at damaraland camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"I really loved my stay here, the hosts and guides were all very friendly, cheerful, and professional, the food was really nice, and we loved eating in the boma one night. It was the first time that anyone had sung in the evening and we really enjoyed that, as well as the menu being read out in "clicky language".

The pool was a welcome refreshment after the drive on the dirt road and the mountain bike ride a good bit of exercise after several days of eating lots of good food. The view here is incredible and we had two nights here to enjoy some peace and quiet which was wonderful. Thanks for such an enjoyable stay!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K
Toro

"Fun Staff at Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2007
"Met by smiling and singing staff. Large walk-in tents widely scattered about the property and set in dramatic wilderness scenery. En-suite was fine, though shower a bit iffy. Dinner was preceded by much singing and dancing ("We are the staff of Damarland Camp - wecome, welcome, welcome"). Staff at this camp was the most friendly, the most fun, and the most interesting to talk with. They are all local and take great pride in being one large camp family.

Food was the best of the 3 camps, with wonderful breads at breakfast and good filter coffee. On the second night, we had dinner in the Bumi; beautifully lit by candle-lanterns, all the food cooked over an open fire, and lots more singing. Anyone who enjjoys interacting with local people on their travels, and appreciates wild, mountainous scenery (some of it very similar to Monument Valley), will thoroughly enjoy this camp, as we did. However, because of the limited activites available, a 2 night stay was just about right.

The major activity was the game drive to track Desert Elephant and we were lucky enough to spot 2 Bulls, and then a small herd, with babies, in amongst the trees. Later on, we drove up to a look-out point for refreshments and a spectacular panoramic view.

I do have one complaint. The tents are accessed via narrow, winding gravel paths bordered by rocks. Unlike the other 2 camps, these paths are not lit in any way and can be quite treacherous, as it is easy to miss your footing and stumble over the rocks. Heavy-duty torches are kept in the office, but if you forget to ask for one at lunch or tea, you are in the dark for the walk to dinner. Also, if you do get one, it is removed from the tent next morning. We had with us an emergency penlight but this was useless for the purpose. The Bumi dinner was somewhat marred by this problem. It's a bit of a hike first to the main lodge and then to the Bumi, and while we did have a staff member with a torch leading the crocodile of guests, this really only illuminated sufficiently for the first in line.

I most strongly suggest that a heavy-duty torch be provided for each tent and kept there, so that it is available each evening." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 101-110 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa