This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
AB
Essex

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2011
"This was superb - Erica and her boss [lady whose name began with A I think] epitomise all that's brilliant about people in Namibia. They are passionate about their lodge, their country, the flora and fauna and the guests. They made our stay here very memorable.

Rooms were fab and very good use of grey water. I'd definitely go back here and tell everyone this is a fab place to stay. I was too ill to do the elephant trip - but the guys who went had a sublime time - the guide kept going and went beyond the call of duty. I think they were out for nearly 6 hours!

Wonderful place." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The S family
Scotland

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"This place was that wee bit more special and it's sense of belonging in the area was palpable. Staff were very friendly and had a lovely gentle nature and clearly keen to give us a feeling of being in Damaraland.

We especially enjoyed out cook out in the boma, and even including safaris this is what our daughter will remember best. PG did a great show as the dinner host. Eating at the big table with everyone was great in a place like this, and for us was better than the individual arrangement in Kulala.

Our guide for the elephant safari showed a sensitivity for his elephants (and had to work hard to get us to them), and the area and local people. Expensive safari but we will remember Damaraland camp fondly." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A
Cambridgeshire

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"I received an extremely warm welcome from Maggie and PG. And spent two wonderful days with guide Johann.

Johann thoughtfully planned out the activities over the two days, adapting the itinerary to suit our interests. On both mornings we had superb sightings of the desert-adapted elephants, and also spent the perfect amount of time enjoying the scenery and learning about the fauna and flora of the area.

On the second night we were treated to dinner at the boma; a magical setting." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
R, M, A & P
W Sussex

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"The accomodation and service here were excellent and the camp is clearly extremely well managed.

They could be a little clearer on what various activities cost, (it could be that I missed some pertinent information). We were made very welcome and was probably the best location of the holiday." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Twickenham

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2011
"This was the highlight of the holiday for us. We loved the relaxed informality, the friendliness of the staff, and above all the peace and beauty of the location. We were there for three nights - the first two were quiet, and the place was full for the third night. Every day was great.

The elephant tracking was very exciting, especially as the elephants were hard to find! The boma 'surprise' outdoor dining was a great way to meet the other guests, and we liked the family table where everyone dined together and shared the day's stories. The staff were great, especially Maggie and PG, and our guide Albert was exceptional - patient, knowledgeable, and just right for this idyllic spot.

Our only comment is that the guided walks on offer were too short and easy (although the climb to watch the sun rise was a never-to-be-forgotten highlight). This place has a fantastic potential for longer and more interesting walking trails." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
NZ

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2011
"We were very happy with the Camp. The staff particularly were wonderful and the food excellent. We did have to drive a long way very uncomfortably (not because of the driver, Albert) but because of the recent flooding.

As you probably know we all got sick there and were unwell for a few days. We suspect the water was compromised but we were well taken care of by the company. My one comment would have been that if we had had our lunch with us, we could have gone on and seen the cave drawings and made a day of it rather than having to drive over the terrible road again & again!!

We saw a herd of 25 elephants and were able to sit and watch them for over two hours which was one of our African highlights" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Earlsfield

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2011
"Amazing location and views, very friendly staff and guides, food was also very good. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Guildford

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"Really enjoyed this camp, Situation and staff were excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Mrs J
London

"D.Camp in Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"Arrived by car from Swakopmund at 5pm. Lovely first evening meal in the Boma under the stars - staff singing was very harmonious.
A wonderful day spent black rhino tracking, even though it was very hot and quite exhausting.

Went birding and looking for the desert elephants the next morning. Just us with guide - a brilliant.morning and then a delicious lunch before leaving.

Spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. No mosquitos. Relaxed friendly atmosphere." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & family
UK

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"The best camp/lodge in our 2 weeks as voted by our family of 4! The staff seemed very happy and engaged - more so than anywhere we visited. The two guides who collected us and returned us to our car were friendly, informative and took time to talk to us at length, and the female camp leader who greeted us was very helpful.

Communal meal outside with several nationalities all mingling together added to the enjoyment, as did the fun singing and dancing, and the star-gazing lesson! Food was well-cooked and tasty - but obviously not geared up to offer the range you would find in a lodge.

Very nice roomy luxury tents with desk, reading lights, bath robes etc. Bathroom to the side - curtained-off rather than door.

Very relaxed feel to the camp, with cushioned seats looking out from the communal area to distant mountains - n.b. Don't look for a traditional farmhouse when looking for the meeting point - more a series of animal enclosures and small huts - we nearly missed it in the dusk!
-
Be prepared that you may find your car has been washed during your stay by the local farmer who guards it - so a tip might be in order!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa