This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G & Ms W
London

"Beautiful rooms"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2013
"Absolutely stunning location with gorgeous room. A real luxury.

The staff were friendly and accomodating.

A small criticism - and I feel almost guilty even mentioning it as there seemed to be other guests that enjoyed it: The staff like to sing. A lot. When you arrive. When you arrive at the sunrise breakfast. When you arrive at the outdoor BBQ. When you leave. It all is a bit too much after the fourth song!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
Hampshire

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"Arrived at pick up point at 5pm as requested but no vehicle present. Namibian local phoned through to camp. Nothing happened approx 1 hour - told they had problems with the land Rover. Collected 6pm by apologetic Charles, but when arrived at camp told that our pick up had not been arranged by travel agent. This seemed v unlikely as nothing else EA has organised has ever failed. Showed them Sabina's letter and pointed this out. Later apologetic letter with champagne.

Larger camp, quite a few children. Greeted with singing by Namibian staff and ate outside in Boma, more informal, quite fun. In the morning went on game drive to see desert elephants which we found eventually. A bit concerned that in his enthusiasm our driver seemed to drive a bit randomly across the fragile country (we know that in the arid conditions it can take ages to repair damage done by vehicles).

Gave us lunch which I don't think was officially included and drove us back to our car at our convenience. Game drive was a significant additional cost here." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms E
Sweden

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2013
"A perfect place to experience the fabulous Namibian landscape! If you were not interested in geology before you will be when you get here.

Not so many animals but instead I enjoyed the peace and quiet and the opportunites to do some walking. Very refreshing after all the driving on bumpy roads! Visited two local villages which gave a good insight in the conditions of life in this harsh environment." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2013
"Another camp with happy, welcoming, singing staff, led by the wonderful Maggie. Once more we were welcomed with champagne and rose-petals. Nestor was our able and friendly guide who took great care to find things to interest us.

We were ready for a rest after our camping experience and enjoyed the accommodation and outlook. The trackers were successful in finding a rhino with baby, and sensitive, not only for our safety but also for the welfare of the animals when the mother became a little agitated. Most enjoyable.

A delightful surprise evening meal was given to all of us in a lamp-lit secluded area." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
South Bank

"An excellent place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2012
"This was another highlight of our trip.

The camp is incredibly well-run by Maggie, all the staff are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and the happiest we came across - they seem to enjoy working at the camp as much as we enjoyed staying there, and they sang to us at every possible occasion !

Tracking desert-adapted elephants with our guide Pasqual was a wonderful experience. Maggie totally surprised us with a dinner in the Boma (she said we were going for an evening walk !) and a sunrise breakfast on a ridge overlooking the desert. Nothing was too much trouble and we would rate this camp as excellent." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The Leemings
Kent

"Great to return"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"It was very good to find that some of the staff we met 10 yrs ago were still there & particularly so that Maggy, who was being trained when we last met her, is now the very successful manager. She is still quite a character!

Our drive down the Huab river valley was remarkable for an amazing "Attenborough" elephant experience. We were very close to a complete elephant family behaving just as they were meant to do at water holes & watching the 1 yr old unsuccessfully trying to get up the soft river bank (until he had a push from mum) was hilarious.

Overall Damaraland is a staggering area" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr D
Suffolk

"This is a brilliant and beautiful camp"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2012
"Everything about this camp was excellent. The drive from Terrace Bay on the C39 was interesting as rhe road climbs up from the coast. We arrived at the pick-up point on the C39 well before our arranged time but when the camp was told of our arrival we were picked up immediately. Our welcome was very warm and friendly. Our chalet was very comfortable with a good view down the valley ( we had no.9 ). We took the morning trip to look for the desert adapted elephants which may seem to be a bit expensive but we were out for seven hours and it was a worthwhile experience, although we only saw one bull. The early morning start in the Land Rover was a bit cold and the ponchos and hot-water bottles provided were greatly appreciated.

We stayed for three nights and on our second full day just relaxed and walked around the surrounding hills by ourselves in the morning before going for a guided walk in the afternoon after "tea and cake" time.

The evening meals taken "en famille" at a big table were very pleasant, with wine included. We had interesting discussions with Wayne and Anthony from the camp personnel as to the structure of the Manchester United football team and the merits of the VW Golf GTI. Some topics are universal!

Our overall impression was of a friendly, well-run camp. We had a lovely send-off from Erica, Maggie and Co. and we were deloghted with the present of the Wilderness book they gave us. Another place we will visit again and can recommend to anyone." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C
Buckinghamshire

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2012
"Another Wilderness quality camp albeit more basic than Little Kalula.

Very comfortable, extremely helpful and friendly staff and guide. Can't fault it." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs B
Portugal

"Wonderful place"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2012
"A really great camp run by an efficient and very friendly team. The manager Maggy deserves a special mention as she runs what it seems is a very happy place.

We will not forget the first mornings breakfast when we were taken to the top of a hill and everything was laid out including a fire to cook by. All done just for us two. We then had a super game drive with Willem and spent sometime watching the elephants playing at a waterhole. A truly magical experience for our all too short time there and is a place we would love to revisit." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Northants

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa