This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"A first class hostess at Damaraland."

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"We loved it here and were sorry to only be here for one night. Maggie, the boss, made it very very special and greeted us with song and said goodbye with song. The menu was read to us in English and click language and breakfast on top of a hill one morning was a lovely surprise with eggs cooked over a fire. Maggie ate dinner with us and entertained us all.

A first class camp thanks to Maggie and her team." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs D
Southampton

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"This Wilderness run Camp is faultless.

The manager Maggie makes a great effort to make your stay very special. She arranges a series of surprises, of which I won't say too much, except that they don't disappoint.

Our guide whilst staying here was Albert, who looked after us totally, nothing was too much trouble. He was very knowledgeable about the area and its wildlife and also good company.

Seeing desert elephant and a free roaming rhino were very special experiences." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs S
Hants.

"Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"Beautiful area ,took us longer to get to the pick up point than expected then waited an hour for transfer ,however delightful family at the tranfer point kept us entertained so this was not a problem.

Attentive staff and good food, long communal table for meals good as everyone fell into conversations. Alot of fly in guests.

Guide here was not as good as in other lodges, lacking in enthusiasm and English could have been better especially for guests whose first language was not English. Game drive lasted 5 hours and nowhere to stop for loo break, a challange for everyone.

Saw many of he desert adapted elephants which was a highlight." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The W family
Holland

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"Very beautiful surroundings and very friendly and dedicated staff! It was a pitty we only stayed here one night. We felt very welcome.

Great excursion! Breakfast on top of a hill and a singing welcome!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms S
Abingdon

"What a fantastic lodge with wonderful staff!"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"We absolutely loved Damaraland Camp.

The welcome was warm and we even had a card on our pillow welcoming us. The rooms were lovely and very well equipped. The food was excellent and we loved the way the staff introduced the menu and the wines which were included. Wilderness Lodges were of a very high standard with well trained staff but D Camp surpassed our expectations. We loved the long dining tables as we feel that this is a much friendlier way to mix people up.

The supper in the Boma was wonderful. Maggie, the manager of the camp, led us on a mission to hunt for our supper!! She led with the drum beat and we arrived inside the Boma which was atmospheric! A great evening. We also loved the fact that members of staff ate with guests each evening. The highlight was the musical welcome, a song from the staff, the singing at supper and the song to bid us farewell.

A wonderful camp and a highlight of our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The J Family
Herts

"A very special place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"Beautiful views, and great location from which to look for Desert adapted elephants. Lovely food, which was eaten all together around a big table. On the first night we had dinner in the Boma, which was a very memorable evening.

But the best thing about this camp is the team - who were incredibly warm, welcoming and friendly. They were fantastic with the kids, and really went out of their way to chat, and make our stay really special. We were only there 2 nights - but they remembered everyone's name (not bad, considering there were 7 of us!).

I have quite serious mobility problems - which made many of the camps we visited quite challenging for me. The team couldn't have been more helpful - they changed our room so that it was closer to the lodge, and just before we needed to get from the room to the lodge (or vice versa) either Richard or Albert would appear at our room, or at our table, to give me a helping arm - which was such a help, and very kind.

The team create a warm, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. They clearly love their work, and are justly very proud of their camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof D & Mrs H
UK

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"The highlight of this stay for us was the kind attention given to us for our wedding anniversary. We had a lovely surprise in our room before dinner with champagne, candles and snacks left for us; and for dinner we had our own table over by the pool surrounded by lanterns.

The boma dinner on the first night was also very good; we all went out to the boma (aka old cattle pen made of tree branches stuck vertically in the ground) - it was beautifully decorated with lanterns and we ate under the stars.

The drives to see wildlife were long (there are comparatively few animals round here) but rewarding - due to the effort and talent of our guide we got good views of elephants and black rhino - and the landscape is spectacular." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Melbourne

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2014
"Great flight from Little Kulala over the dunes, old diamond mines, past shipwrecks, seal colonies and flamingos...Wonderful scenery at Damaraland and another excellent guide.

Desert adjusted elephants a great sight. Visit to local village was very worthwhile (and our guide was a Arsenal supporter..my team!) Really enjoyed the hill climb..." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr F & Mrs B
UK

"Went that extra mile"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2014
"Well run establishment. The staff throughout were excellent as were the meals, service, tent, guides and accommodation." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms T
Ontario

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2013
"Excellent experience . Include all meals in package is suggested.

Activities were not experienced as we elected to hike around on our own." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa