This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Great damaraland lodge"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"Lovely camp with great reception area and we had a lovely cabin at the end of the row, with a beautiful view. The food was imaginative, and there was a main course choice.

Staff made a great effort to talk to everyone and draw everyone together.the day trip with breakfast on the hill top was great then followed by a trip to find the elephants all in the river bed. We were told there was a trip price list in the room, but we couldn't find it, and it was quite expensive, but a great trip.

All the transfers, and leaving car by goat farm were simple and efficient." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
I&C
UK

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"Wonderful location and enjoyable activities." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
W Party
Chorleywood

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"There was a feeling that everything was done on auto pilot and it was easy to find fault with relatively little things. The staff were friendly but were allowed to coast and it seemed that this was because there was no overall management.

Our guide, Teak, started by trotting out the conventional patter for the average guest and was at first resistant to our clear objectives as to what we wanted to see. Eventually he cottoned on and he worked very hard for us, going the extra mile so that we had some wonderful sightings of elephants.

At our last dinner at the camp, I sat next to Vanessa, a young manager, who had only been at the camp for three weeks. I told her about some of the little things that we had observed and she responded positively. She was obviously intelligent and sensitive to how delicately things had to be handled with some staff who had been there for years but realised the necessity for change. The next morning, things dramatically improved. Staff were attentive, nets were placed over the breakfast things and starlings were shooed off the butter." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms & Mr S
Switzerland

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"This was our favorite place in Namibia.

Great location, views to die for, lovely staff (especially Corbiana and Patricia) and traditional dinner at the fire. Make sure to take the desert elephant trip - it has been our closest encounter with wildlife so far. Breakfast up on a mountain was another highlight of this trip.

This is a place you will never forget..." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Hampshire

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"A semi-wilderness camp in luxury en-suite tents, each with their own verandah looking down the valley. Excellent food and service from a team of staff who seemed to love their work and were keen to explain everything about the camp and the area.

On our second night all of the staff sang to the guests after dinner. The first couple of songs were probably arranged as part of the evening but the next half dozen songs were clearly because they were enjoying it so much! Very memorable.

Safari drives excellent." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Devon

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"Our favourite place, staff remembered everyones name, having a cooked breakfast on a hill top was something else.

When we arrived staff rushed out and sang a welcome, set the standard and it did not slip." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P M & family
UK

"This camp is fantastic"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"We travelled all around Namibia and this was the highlight of our trip.

Whilst very remote, it is definitely worth the extra effort to get there. The accommodation, setting and atmosphere are superb and the staff fantastic. We really liked the communal dining experience and we met some very interesting people, who we hope to catch up with in the future.

Our guide, Chris, was excellent - very informative and interesting. We really enjoyed the morning trip to see the desert adapted elephants along with the spectacular outdoor breakfast at sunrise - definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The food and setting was first class.

A special word of thanks to Adams, the chap who guarded our car at the pick-up point - he was a real character.

We enjoyed the impromptu stargazing provided by the guides. We were very sad to leave." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Maidstone

"A short but memorable stay"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2015
"The best welcome of a fantastic trip, and then what a send off! Singing appeared to be a speciality of the camp and of our lovely, funny guide Dawid!

Stunning location but so sad to hear that so few elephants remained in the area at the time we were there. Wish we had had longer..." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms T
N London

"Lovely camp for desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2015
"Overall we found the activities enjoyable and our guide Richard enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The main focus was looking for desert elephants, and he did his best to find them despite the herds travelling very far from where we were. He also showed us the amazing landscape of this area as well as other unique animals and birds. We appreciated the guide's willingness to stay out as much as we wanted, even if it means sometimes we're late for the meals.

The camp is located further away from other camps in this area, which gave a nice secluded feeling. Most times we don't see other vehicles aside from where we found the elephants.

The camp atmosphere was nice, and we enjoyed interacting with the staff. It felt genuine and personal despite the camp being part of a bigger safari operator. Nothing to complain about the room or facilities. Sundowner snacks were very good. We enjoyed the view from the main dining area." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
PV
Ireland

"Greeted with a song"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2015
"Beautiful location . Wr felt we were the only people there. (Although the camp was full!)" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa