This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J & Mrs V
UK

"Stunning desert location!!!"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"Breathtaking location and superb welcome and staff. Nothing too much trouble.

Super 'room'. Star-gazing session, tribal songs at dinner, good food and wines.

Bush-breakfast, desert elephant safari, mountain-top sundowners and Boma dinner memorable highlights.

Excellent and knowledgeable safari guide.

Traditional tribal song farewell - quite moving." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"A really rewarding experience."

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2016
"This was to become our best experience to date.

We were met by Teek who was to become our guide for the duration of our stay. We arrived at the lodge to be greetly by drinks, cool towels, and a welcome song from the staff. This was to become a trend during our stay here. The staff would sing and dance after every evening meal. And also sing a goodbye song on our departure.

The elephant drive and outdoor breakfast led by Teek was an unforgettable experience. The evening meals which are communal, and themed, so that they are different every evening. They were truly an unforgettable.

The lodges were marvellous, and I would recommend this camp to anyone." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss S
Lifton

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2016
"This is a truly remarkable camp located amongst stunningly beautiful mountains - quite breathtaking scenery...

It deserves the highest of accolades.

Abner our Guide for the Desert elephants was outstanding - by far the best guide of the whole holiday. The Staff manage to engender real enthusiasm for whatever they are doing.. Two of the Cooks were happy to give me a guided tour of their kitchen !

The Manager contacted Wilderness Safaris at Windhoek Airport in an attempt to track down any progress reports on Katrina's missing luggage." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms HHL
Taiwan

"Great hospitality!"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2016
"Everything is perfect except the location of our chalet. Our chalet faces the sun in the afternoon so it is very hot indoor for the short break in the afternoon and no socket.

I like the activity of visiting nearby village very much. I appreciate the wilderness safari works well with the nearby community which benefits both from tourism.

We parked our car at a village and we were so surprised that they not only keep an eye on our car but washed it! Thank them a lot!
Please convey our great thanks to villagers. Beautiful and friendly villagers." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J&V
Florida

"Great fun. Terrific staff."

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2016
"The staff & camp atmosphere made this our best in-camp experience.

Gwen, Rose, Rhianna, our guide Abner & others made it a wonderful place to stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
Kornhall

"Camp of the singing Desert Roses"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2016
"The camp is another true oasis in the desert and well worth more than two nights visit, we only wish we could stay longer. The perfectly charming yet utterly professional, mostly female, stuff made our stay here a most wonderful experience. These young ladies with all their accomplishments are a treasure and cannot be praised highly enough!

The camp itself is well situated in the landscape and the staff enhance the stay with bush breakfast on a hilltop at sunrise (a loo with a view included) and magical boma dinner after dark. We went on a guided walk on the first afternoon. The one hour uphill walk was worth every step as we were rewarded with a beautiful sunset and we learnt a few things along the way about the geology flora and fauna of this seemingly barren land. Surprise Boma-dinner and stargazing ended a fabulous day.

The nature drive to the riverbed was great next morning and we happened upon the desert adopted elephants fairly early. It was a great gathering of about 30 individuals, a breathtaking sight. We spent an hour or so in the vicinity, watching them feeding and then we turned back to the camp letting the elephants spend the rest of the day in privacy ( hopefully). Great and generous lunch waited for us and then we could enjoy the camps cool pool. Our guide was a little reserved at first but once we started to ask he revealed a broad knowledge of this unique place and even the stars." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P&K
UK

"Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2016
"Ten plus km up a rocky track to get there from the road - after the most amazing drive up the skeleton coast. Somehow better rooms than anything so far - with views to die for - different again. A sung welcome, the evening menu in click language - you have to hear it and dancing/singing too - and it is really clear no one is being coerced to do it - warms the heart honestly.

Out with Richard to see the elephants - out of Africa breakfast and the loo with a view hard to beat and on to the rock carvings. Pool very welcome for a bit of rest and relaxation." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
Shrewsbury

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2016
"Considering its location in a remote area it was pretty good." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Great staff created lovely atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2016
"We had a wonderful time at Damaraland camp. The staff goes out of its way to make your stay enjoyable.

We particularly enjoyed the morning breakfast in the mountains as well as the Boma dinner." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Wales

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Dec 2015
"Completely fail to understand why this place is so much more expensive tha Doro Nawas. Pssition less attractive. Room smaller but of very good quality. Food good.

But none of the small differences added up to £100 a night." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 41-50 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (127 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa