This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 131-140 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Driffield

"Hugely interesting"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2016
"Particularly attentive staff" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Phil
London

"Great views from the roof of the hote;"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2016
"Very warm welcome by very friendly staff. Food was very good.

One of the best rooms we stayed in." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2016
"Avoided Cape Cross as long drive ahead and had seen enough fur seals, glad we did as met couple who's wife had been bitten by one. Arrived 1.30pm, stunning Lodge on hilltop.

Welcomed by Bennie with cold towels and drinks followed by 3rd degree health & safety from Agnes. Good salad for lunch. Shown to huge beautiful, gloriously cool room.

We dashed to Twyfelfontein to see Bushman engravings, well worth a visit. Cost us N$160 (Lodge charge N$1000+). Good dinner.

Early start, lovely breakfast as sun rose. Collected by guide Gift in very ancient, noisy, enclosed Land Rover. Needs renewing considering the price of Lodge & Game Drive. Wonderful exhilarating morning with herd of Desert Elephants. Returned to most delicious beef salad.

A great place, would have liked two nights rather than one." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Singapore

"Luxurious accommodations with 360 views"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2016
"Doro !Nawas was simply enjoyable. The room was beautifully laid out, and the main dining area was even better - with cosy sitting areas, a little garden, an outdoor verandah, and a rooftop terrace that afforded 360 views of Damaraland, as well as amazing stargazing in the night.

The guides here were also fantastic, and the service staff were friendly and helpful. We had an east-facing room so we enjoyed stunning sunrises (and rainbows!) every morning from our beds.

We would definitely return to Doro !Nawas in the future.

Tip: The Elephant Safari is highly recommended!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Mrs G
Malaga

"Unique place"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2016
"Slightly mixed views on Doro Nawas.

The setting is gorgeous and we had great sunsets seen from the verandah, excellent food and a lot of fun with the local Damara staff who were most attentive. We did however find it rather expensive for what it offers and N$800pp is over the top for a game drive especially as we did not see any elephants or other exciting game.

It was very hot when we stayed at the end of January, 45 degrees with a hot wind, and A/C would have been very welcome. One night would have been enough for us." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr S
Wales

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2015
"Nicely positioned. Food was average.

My wife slipped badly in the outdoor shower.

The floor gets very dangerous when wet." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Drs L & J Whitley
UK

"Amazing place to stay for Christmas"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2015
"Doro Nawas was a magical place to stay for Christmas - the staff were the friendliest and most attentive of our whole stay. The staff made a massive effort to make our stay memorable and definitely succeeded.

Everything about the accommodation was amazing - outdoor shower looking out over the desert, beds that can wheel outside.

The main building really was special, built around the crest of a hill, with access to the roof (where we had Christmas Dinner at sunset - the most spectacular I have ever seen). The pool was small but perfectly formed with wonderful views out across the desert and mountains, our kids spent 2 very happy afternoons there.

We went on their Desert Adapted Elephant safari which was great - found a family of elephants with a baby and followed them for a couple of hours. The guide was very knowledgeable and made the safari great fun.

This was a really, really special place to stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Ant
Surrey

"Doro Nawas - a really lovely camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2015
"We thought Doro Nawas was delightful - a wonderful setting and very friendly and helpful staff. The chalets were very spacious and charming with great views over the plain and the ability, if you wanted to, to wheel your bed onto the verandah and sleep under the stars.

We had a very good morning game drive to find desert adapted elephants and drove ourselves to see the rock engravings and organ pipes.

One highlight was the impromptu (or so it seemed) singing by the staff at the end of the meal on our second night." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
W Yorks

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2015
"We used our stay here as a rest day and the facilities more than assisted this. The rooms are very spacious, private and comfortable. The view from the room was great for a relaxing sundowner.

The introduction to the lodge was poor, with no mention of any possible activities offered by the lodge, no real time spent showing the lodge / room and the free refillable drinks bottles were not mentioned to us, we found them on a table near to the restaurant with our names on.

The service for the restaurant improved with staff being more helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Chiswick

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2015
"Despite the bizarre main-building architecture, the individual chalets were attractive, appropriate and generous.

The elephant spotting is pretty sure it seems, and rewarding. In quality and service, although a whisker down on its sister Desert Rhino Camp, still excellent.

What was amazing was the change in scenery that took place about 15 kms before Noro Nawas, coming from DRC." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 131-140 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa