This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Ms R
Rotherhithe

"Outstanding hospitality in remoteness"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"This is a camp well away from anywhere! A great base for the nearby art at Twyfelfontain and we did a really enjoyable morning trip to see the Desert Elephants with William, where as a birder, was also pleased to find Damara Red-billed Hornbill, Benguela Long-billed Lark, Ruppell's Parrot and Bare-cheeked Babbler.

Anyway, the accommodation was great with large spacious rooms where the beds being on wheels allow you to move them onto your verandah for a night under the stars - thoroughly recommended! Housekeeping were exemplary with turndown service each evening and immaculate rooms.

Staff here were outstanding, obviously working very hard and making all guests trips nice and special. We had lovely food too - first night being a barbecue in the bush, followed by a nice three course meal in the restaurant the next evening. The whole place is set atop of a hill, overlooking the barren desert landscape.

A special place with attentive staff - no wifi though (not a bad thing to be honest)." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Romsey

"Fantastic Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Wow...what a welcome! It was a nice surprise to be welcomed by a lovely Doro Nawas song - and even for some of the kitchen staff to come out and sing it as well.

We enjoyed the evening meal out in the bush, which we believe they do 3 times a week. No mean feat for the kitchen staff and waiters! We were given hot water bottles to keep us warm, and the food was delicious - especially the soup. All the food was once again very nice, although breakfast on the first morning was a bit haphazard but I think it was due to so many of us being up early for tours. However, the cooked breakfast and cold selection was good once it had all come out. Breakfast on the second day when we had it later was more organised and tasted excellent.

The tour we booked onto to see the desert adapted elephants was very good. It was just the two of us and we got within meters of a family of 4 elephants where we stayed for about 2 hours watching them.

The room was very nice - spacious and light, and the honeymoon surprise was lovely. The bathroom was lovely too, unfortunately it was a bit windy in the afternoons for us to try the outdoor shower. The lodge itself was also very attractive and they made it look lovely at night with a fire and lanterns. The pool didn't look very inviting and we didn't see anyone in it.

On leaving we got another lovely song - it made me feel sad to leave this lodge. Again their English is excellent but also their willingness to show us their Damara Language brings special warmth to this lodge.

Before arriving at the lodge we did the rock engravings and burnt mountain. The rock engravings were good, and some imagination is needed. Although I get the impression different guides give different stories. Burnt mountain for us was not spectacular but maybe we went at the wrong time of day. We also visited the petrified forest after leaving Doro Nawas - my husband especially enjoyed learning how the trees have become fossilized, and they have a nice little craft shop there." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr A, B & B
San Diego

"Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Bored staff, perfunctory service. This was third "outside" eating experience for us, and we did not really wish to do this yet.

It served no purpose, plus the large crowd of people stood around waiting for buses to the dinner spot.

We asked and were able to walk there and back." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Droitwich

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2016
"Great to be welcomed by local singing and hearing the local dialect with its 'clicking' sounds. An amazing location even if the building itself was somewhat strange and not very scenic. First night we were taken out for a meal in the bush which was great.
Had a good trip to find Elephants, which we did eventually. Excellent guide and very knowledgeable.
The rock paintings which we did by ourselves were fascinating." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Sleeping under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2016
"We loved our stay at Doro Nawas. It is in a lovely desert location. The cabins are private and spacious. A real treat was being able to wheel our beds onto the patio and sleep under the stars. It was cold at night but we were cosey under the down duvets. A very special experience and we both slept extremely well.

Staff are charming and the service was excellent. We had dinner out in the "bush" the first night and it was a delicious buffet. Walking through the desert at night was fun. The next night was table service in the dining area. Food was excellent and the meals were finished with singing from the very good staff choir.

We went on a long morning tour to the desert elephants, rock carvings, and the living museum. Our guide was very good and I recommend the tour. We were fortunate as it was just the two of us on the tour. Many guests chose to drive around by themselves but we saw much more by having a guide. Plus self drivers would not have seen the desert elephants." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr N
New York

"Terrific stay at Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2016
"Beautiful location with great views. We were really impressed with the rooms - quite striking use of natural materials and yet very comfortable and roomy. Beautiful deck - tho, unavoidably quite hot during a good chunk of the day.

We had a wonderful morning drive and were very lucky to have our great guide all to ourselves. He was quite savvy about where to go and what to look for and very responsive to our interests - took us out of the way to see the Welwitschia when he learned we had not yet seen it.

Also had a lovely walk around the Twyfelfontein carvings; part of the route was a bit too challenging for us to manage but the on-site guide was sensitive and accommodating in adjusting for that." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs E
New York

"Just so-so."

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2016
"The staff was rather disorganized and inattentive to our dietary requirements. Also the food was not good.

On the plus side, the pull-out bed where one could sleep under the stars was an unexpected surprise.

Elephant tour was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Kim
Alexandria, VA

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 22 Mar 2016
"Beautiful lodge. The rooms had great views of the plains.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Same comment though about kid-friendly foods.
For adults, the food was top notch. Really great." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Doro Nawas - welcome from the local people"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2016
"Doro Nawas exceeded our expectations - the rooms are very spacious and have great views.

The food was excellent and the staff again very friendly and helpful.

Our evening drive to find the elephants also exceeded expectations, we were really lucky to find two herds together in the river bed (around 29) who walked directly towards us and then headed for the water hole where they drank and sprayed themselves with water and then dust. Our photos (and memories) are fabulous.

It is great that the staff are from the local community, they were so friendly and welcoming, you get a real feel for the true nature of Namibia." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
R & B
London

"Doro Nawas"

1 night Arrived 18 Mar 2016
"Overall, we had a very nice stay at Doro Nawas. We stayed only one night, the night prior to our trip to Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp, but we managed to do a late afternoon elephant drive, which was wonderful. And we saw many elephants!

The service levels were good--you could see the staff was trying very hard to perform to a high standard, particularly at dinner.

And overall, the place and rooms were very clean, although they were starting to feel a little tired, particularly when compared to Hoanib, which was simply outstanding in virtually every respect." See all these reviews: 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 121-130 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa