This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Mrs N
NI

"A memorable stay in Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"The roads in Damaraland are a little rougher than average in places. Arrival at Doro Nawas was memorable not only in the striking appearance of the buildings, but in singing-welcome.

The main lounge and the view from it are excellent. The accommodation is luxurious with excellent air conditioning. The wide patio windows can be opened and bed wheeled out to sleep under the Milky Way. An excellent experience: the hot water bottle and blankets are welcome as temperatures can drop considerably before dawn!

Our trip to see the Desert Adapted Elephants was a highlight of our whole trip. It largely took place along the dry riverbed of the Huab River with its sandy bed and magnificent mature trees. Our highly informative and humorous guide, Liberty, made the trip very worthwhile. His knowledge of the ecology was excellent.

The dinner at night is very atmospheric as the restaurant appears dark but for the superb use of solar lamps at each table, making the tables themselves brightly lit.

The braai night was amazing. It could have been an 'activity' in its own right. We were driven for 15-20 mins in the dark to arrive at a Chinatown type experience ... dozens of solar lights and candles complementing fire pits. A table for almost 30 was set out and each diner had a hot water bottle and blanket. The buffet service and the food itself was really good. The staff singing was very genuine and enjoyable.

Interestingly, the Lodge is something of a hub for the area. At one stage there were seven light aircraft present: some visitors were flying to Etosha.

A top class lodge with a great staff." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R M
Illinois

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"This is an excellent camp in a beautiful setting.

The food is great and the activities very satisfactory.

This is highly recommended for a visit to Damaraland." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
dublin 22

"fantastic chalets"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"We were initially disappointed with Doro Nawas after the friendly welcome we received in the 1st two camps. When we arrived, at about 3pm,there was no one in reception so we went into the bar- the staff reacted as those we had landed from Mars. They didn't know what to do with us and mumbled about our room not being ready.

However, once we got over this the service was great and all the staff were friendly. The chalet was the best of the trip, the outside shower was an experience! and the overall décor was fantastic - not to be missed.

We didn't do any activities at Doro Nawas as we just wanted to relax and that we did. Afternoon tea was lovely with tasty homemade cakes.

The food was really good and the courtyard with the fire and candles was cosy.

Overall we enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
Herts

"Highlight of Bush Dinner"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2016
"Nice gentle bush walk while others went to Twyfelfontein. Afternoon rest by well sited pool.

Second was evening trip for desert elephants. Easily found and good viewing.

Pity about the guide, reasonable driver but hopeless on client relations and information.

Evening meal set out in bush.

Nicely done, staff entertainment of singing pleasant and well done." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr T & Mrs H
Essex

"Doro Nawas , brilliant elephants!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"We liked Doro Nawas and had a wonderful guide for an early morning drive out to see the elephants , just made our stay!
Rooms were good.

Staff friendly, but real lack of information if you were travelling as a couple, the larger groups with a tour guide seemed to know what was going on!
The shop was never open" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs C
Lancs

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"Doro Nawas was special. Very welcoming staff with a welcome and farewell song for us. Henriks the manager looked after us well, as did all the staff. Rooms were spacious, with superb views of the area.

We had a wildlife drive to see the desert elephants with Liberty, and saw the group in close proximity for the duration of the trip. Liberty was very informative and made sure we had excellent views of the animals. We self drove to Burnt Mountain and the Organ Pipes and were slightly disappointed by these features and the road was bad compared to other gravel roads.

We were very impressed with Twylfontein and the petrified forest that we visited on our journey north. Excellent guides at both sites.

The museum at Tsumeb is interesting and gives a lot of information on the German influences in the area, particularly the mining. It also gives the history of their involvement in WW1." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"When we were booked in, the staff happily reunited us with our ipod. The singing on arrival and departure was enjoyable.

The room was excellent and the surroundings wonderful. The meals were very good. Pushing the beds out and sleeping under the stars one night was superb.

We did a short walk around the area (3/4 km or so) and enjoyed seeing various wildlife around us.

Staff were generally helpful and attentive, but attention to detail lacked on a number of occasions. Examples include:
- waiting at reception for nearly 10 minutes on arrival; perhaps the delay was to round up the singing chorus.
- we were not told that a glass of wine was included with each meal (and were not fully taken off our final bill which included a bottle of wine and a fair few beers);
- we were not told that on the second night dinner was a braai in the desert. We only just turned up at reception in time and were not really dressed for a meal outside;
- we were disappointed that there was no written information about the trips/activities, and no pricing. There was verbal information from the guides at dinner, but the content was inaccurate. We booked an activity, and our guide Liberty was very knowledgeable and informative, but the trip was not the one that we thought we had booked. Not Liberty's fault though, one of the other guides had given the trip details and taken the booking. (There may have been some hanky panky amongst the guides at play here). Fortunately, we did get to see the rock art and had an enjoyable trip but did not get to see the organ pipes.

Our comment are not intended as complaints, our intention is more to be helpful because Doro Nawas is so close to being excellent." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
G & H
London

"Brilliant in every respect"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"From the welcoming song to the song bidding us farewell we felt 'at home' - very welcome guests.

Doro Nawas' location - perched on a hilltop above the surrounding plain, with views to the mountains around - is commanding. The decor is in tune with the country, so the building fits in very well.

The rooms ('tents') are located at the base of the hill - all with private aspects across the plain to the mountains. You are able to open the sliding doors wide enough to roll out your bed onto the verandah and sleep under the stars - which was a wonderful experience. I also really enjoyed the outdoor shower, also located on the verandah.

The small but perfectly formed pool was a welcome dip after a hot morning's walk at Twylfontain

The most enjoyable part of our stay at Doro Nawas was, without doubt, the staff. Not only their singing - but their entire welcoming, friendly and helpful attitude." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Italy

"Great rough athmosfere at Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2016
"No special comment, great experience there, I would only recommend to go there by plane, it was a really long journey from Swakopmund...." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr M
York

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"This was a very different kind of experience, signalled by our first sung welcome, in the Damara language. Everything was extremely comfortable in the tented chalets arranged around the central areas, all with fine views.

We booked an afternoon trip to to see the desert-adapted elephants; we found it extremely exciting, as our guide located tracks and we left the jeep to walk towards a group of elephants. We had a perfect view of the group, across a gorge, which fulfilled all our hopes.

Later, we enjoyed an evening meal, with the menu again sung in the Damara language. The service was excellent and we would certainly recommend this lodge." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 111-120 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa