This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs S
Toronto

"Great Safari to see Desert Adapted Elepanhts"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2016
"Doro Nawas was our favourite place to stay. The hospitality and the safari was first class.

We loved our stay; the welcoming song, the bush dinner, the sunset, the scorpions at night, and last, but not least the Damara people." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M & M of
Auckland

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2016
"HOT as hell! Swimming pool was a god send - and a few beers!

Food, accommodation and service was excellent. Loved the singing welcome and farewell!!

Elephant safari great and the guide very knowledgable and funny. Was so amazing tracking the elephants and getting so close to them." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Bucks

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Nov 2016
"The reception by the staff on arrival was lovely. They all sang as they did on both nights that we were there. Really a treat.

The location is only minutes from the airport and the quality of the accommodation is first class. I would say that it was the most impressive of the camps that we stayed at.

Slept under the stars.

William the guide was very helpful and located elephants for us. There is not a lot of game at this time in this part of Damaraland but the camp and the staff (and the other visitors) made it most enjoyable." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr E & Ms S
Sweden

"Worth staying for min 2 nights."

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"I think that this was another great lodge, worth staying more then 1 night at." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2016
"A beautifully situated luxury lodge in a desert circle - the situation is unparalleled. We were unfortunate in that there was a sandstorm in the afternoon of our stay and it was too cold to sit out and enjoy the sunset or the fire pit (which looked magical). The lodge itself was great though and the rooms beautiful.

Only comment - this was the place where the food was hardest with our children as there was no choice and the food (although lovely), quite challenging for children - e.g. starters of beetroot soup or aubergine with moroccan spices." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss M
Margate

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"A real haven away from it all in a stunning part of Namibia - the welcome was amazing, our room huge - I took advantage of the opportunity to sleep outside!

The restaurant and bar area were so cosy and the staff really couldn't do enough for you. We did visit to the Living Museum which was very interesting and our guide Boetie was very friendly, interesting and knowledgeable. The pool was a welcome retreat from a long drive!

You're really made to feel like part of a family here" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & D
Cork

"Amazing place to stay"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2016
"We were blown away by this place! Very remote location but fabulous facilities. We were greeted with local singing and dancing which was lovely. All the staff were very helpful. The main restaurant/bar/lounging area with outside deck is a really lovely place to relax.

We were only staying one night and would have liked to be here a second night to really enjoy the experience but they were booked out. The accommodation was really something special - so well designed and spacious, very impressive - with the outdoor shower area and the beds that could be rolled out to sleep outside.

We had a Bush dinner on the night we stayed - fantastic dining outdoor under the stars. The food was good as was the wine.

The bonfire in the courtyard was not lit the evening we were there as we had a Bush dinner but it would be a lovely way to spend some time if it had been. As we were staying only a night we did not do any activities here." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bruce
Harrogate

"Singing oasis!"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"greeted with the Dora Nawas chorale led by Hendricks the maitre d'hotel we were made to feel really welcome at this this hill top lodge/hotel. Busy centre and not far from the airstrip at D.N. Close to lots of other attractions it is somewhere which could make an excellent base for exploration.

Fantastic help from the hotel staff (especially Hendricks) when we faced meltdown with car problems." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs
Bath

"Doro Nawas was different (in a good way!)"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Doro Nawas was great - as it was run and staffed by local people it had a different, more 'african' feel to it in many ways.

Lovely location in beautiful Damaraland, with an excellent safari guide for the desert elephant excursion.

We really enjoyed the bush supper on our 2nd night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"Not disappointed - this was one of our favourites last year and had not changed.

The staff are friendly, helpful and can sing as well!

Desert elephants were found in abundance, rooms lovely and well cared for, food delicious, the Friday night BBQ. a treat." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 101-110 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa