This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 421-430 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A
St Paul

"Wonderful rooms in a dramatic location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2007
"Wonderful spacious rooms with the added bonus of being able to sleep and shower outside.

Great view from the communal areas and pool." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Pix
UK

"The Place to see desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2007
"Excellent guides, amusing and informative." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
N Yorks

"excellent lodge"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2007
"johan and florencia really good managers, and and johan's astronomy really interesting.

lister is very good and enthusiastic guide, english needs a bit more polish." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr D
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2007
"This place has to take top marks for being the most friendly and welcoming of all our lodges.

Everything was excellent and we felt that we had known the staff for ever!

Top marks for the manager." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
West Sussex

"Exciting elephant safari"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"We were most impressed with Doro Nawas.

The staff could not have been more helpful, and quite often if we were just sitting around would come to make sure everything was all right and there was nothing we needed.

The accommodation was first class, but sadly it was a bit chilly for sleeping under the stars, although a lovely idea!

We all particularly enjoyed the off-road elephant safari." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr-W NYorks
UK

"Luxury in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"The whole place is to be reccomended to everyone. The staff and welcome were great and everyone seemed happy to be working there. Rooms were great and the family two lodge set up was very good. The pool was the warmest we tried with a marvellous view.

Morning views from the rooms have to be seen to be believed.

This is only a 2-3 night stay at most even though we did not want to leave. The elephant drive in the moring was VERY good and we were lucky to go with Barnabus and Isabelle. The latter was a vet studying the elephants. Between them they were more than we could have hoped for.

We saw two families of elephant and got he most amazing experience and pictures.

Seeing the night skies with a very good expnataion from the roof of the main lodge was another very good experience. This was done by the manager at the lodge.

The food was very good and the trip to Twyfelfontein was also very good on the hottest afternoon we had. The quide at the carivings was poor and did not really want to show us arouond. Barnabus tried very hard to make up for her lack of interest. The sundowner on the way back was also very good." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Nawas
UK

"Unforgettable elephant excursions"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2007
"Our room was lovely (although we lost power for a short time one evening) and the setting of the hotel is stunning. A really beautiful hotel.

Our hotel-organised trips to see the desert-adapted elephants were fantastic - although on our first trip the clutch went on our way back and the hotel had to send out another vehicle to pick us up. We did feel that on our arrival back hotel staff might have shown a little concern - we had been sat in the cold and dark for more than half an hour - but no one asked if we were okay. We had to rush to get to dinner. The food was cold - and the portion of soup so small it could barely have been a spoonful. The food on our second night was much better.

We did drive out to Twyfelfontein which was very interesting to see - but spoilt by the fact we had the least enthusiastic guide we could ever remember having - anywhere! No tip! (Someone at the site - nothing to do with the hotel)" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"Magnificant setting and wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2007
"Really magnificent setting setting and welcoming environment. Our guide Lister was really good at tracking the desert elephents which we saw on three occaisions.

Two nights was probably enough for what we wanted though you could easily stay longer, it was so comfortable." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Arizona

"Finally found it!"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2007
"We were doing a self drive. The section of road from Khorixas was corrugated bedrock with frequent dips - the worst we encountered in 3000 kms. The main road, C39, was not marked after Khorixas so after 3 hours driving we wondered if we'd gotten off on a side road. Finally came to a crossroads so could locate ourselves on the good map provided by Exp. Africa. The turn off for Doro Nawas was poorly marked (small sign off to one side) and went right through the middle of some familiy's farm. After 5 kms we saw what looked to be a burnt cinder on top of a hill in the distance. This is Doro Nawas.

A steep climb up bare, rocky hillside from our car lead to the reception. We were welcomed graciously and enjoyed our stay.The staff were gracious and helpful.

Unfortuately, the activities (not included) were very expensive...the afternoon, 2 hour, elephant drive would have been over $130. for myself and 13 yr old grandaughter and this was not a good value for me.

It would not be a good location for someone with physical problems (knee or hip weakness) due to the steep and uneven climb up/down between lodge and cabins." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs Meerkat
UK

"Excellent"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2007
"The trips were rather expensive especially the cave paintings - perhaps travellers would be better to do these independently as we had an awful guide" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 421-430 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa