This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 411-420 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S
Syre

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2007
"Another place that blended well into its rocky surroundings. Everyone here was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were lovely. We pushed our bed out onto the deck to sleep under the stars, which was quite magical.

The food here wasn't great. Breakfast was ok, but dinner really wasn't. Pork chops were very leathery, and the lamb curry was made with scrag neck of lamb, which should be cooked long and slow until it falls off the bone. There was no way of separating that meat from the bones - it was far too tough. Maybe they are trying to cut costs by using cheaper, and in this case, inappropriate cuts of meat? We were late back from an activity so we wondered if the meal might have suffered from sitting around too long, but speaking to other guests, they also found the food left a lot to be desired. It was a bit surprising and a little disappointing considering the excellent food at Kulala Desert Lodge, also a Wilderness Safaris property. We did comment on the food on their feedback form.

Otherwise it was very good here and we coulld have spent longer. We were thrilled to see desert-adapted elephants on our activity." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr O
US

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"Rooms were beautiful with a great view of the desert. Dinner buffet was not up to par - the meat was tough and the fish was dry.

However, the staff was very helpful - we had a flat tire the morning of our departure and they were more than happy to help us replace it and to fix the original tire in case we needed another spare." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs Tru
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"Very impressive new Lodge well designed in every respect, giving great views but blending with the landscape. Food very ordinary with little choice. Very helpful polite and cheerful staff.

Guided trip to track the desert elephants very exciting. Trip to see rock paintings/carvings interesting but sketchily presented by local guide.

Overall a very pretty different type of scenery (Damaraland) and much appreciated after the desertland further south." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr I & Mrs K
UK

"Doro Nawas"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2007
"This was a quite stunning location. The views from the lodge were wonderful. The lodges themselves were huge and luxurious. You could see for miles all around. The staff were wonderful too. There was plenty of laughter and they seemed to be a happy team. It cannot be easy maintaining that level of enthusiasm continually.

The elephants were hard to find but that only made it a more enjoyable experience and it was good seeing them in the hills, a different habitat.

The swimming pool was a great place to unwind and take in the breathtaking views." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"wonderful place, lovely staff, saw lots of desert elephants" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"Excellent for Desert Elephants"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"An excellent lodge on the top of a hill with the thatched bungalows nestling below. Warm welcome but best if all-inclusive is taken.

Activity to see the desert elephants very good with an extensive cross section of the countryside. Guide points out flora and fauna. Ambience in the main building good. Food very good, staff interested and cheerful. Sang to us one night." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"Elephants at Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"We arrived to laughter from the staff at Doro Nawas - our car was absolutely filthy! Red dust combined with the driizzle along the coast - but Sylvanus quickly sorted it out for us and we were teased that we had a new car!

Our tent was beautiful, huge and I loved the outside shower. Its position was stunning, overlooking the desert and over to the mountains.Completely private --we could have been on our own, We didn't spend a complete night sleeping out but moved our bed out about 5am in time to watch the sunrise! A lovely treat to be able to do this and in comfort in a proper bed!

We drove ourselves to the organ pipes and Twyfelfontein and enjoyed those without wanting to devote too much time to them. We enjoyed relaxing around the pool and had a lovely early morning walk with a guide where we tracked the desert elephants. We didn't see them on foot but later that day we went on a drive and watched a herd of eight at close quarters. The adults were feeding whilst the youngsters caused chaos and were very amusing.

The staff entertainment here was the best - they were brilliant !!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B & F
Hexham

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2007
"By far the most magical of the lodges.

We went on our own to the rock art site - very interesting - but the petrified forest was not worth the minor diversion" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr L
Bristol

"Sleeping under the stars at Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"We're running out of superlatives! Another fabulous place, brilliant staff, good food. We pushed our bed out on to the balcony and slept under the stars - what an experience.

Desert elephants another highlight. Petrified forest disappointing - guide very offhand. Unfortunately this is where we ran out of steam a bit so didn't visit the rock paintings /burnt mountain/organ pipes. But what a place to relax!" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr African Crake
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2007
"Favbulous place could not fault it at all staff excellent food very good Trips/excursions well organised.

Desert Elephants were avmazing !" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 411-420 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa