This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas
Doro Nawas

Reviews of Doro Nawas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

432 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Doro Nawas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Doro Nawas.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

85% success

Oryx

50% success

Giraffe

43% success

Zebra

25% success

Brown Hyena

12% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 401-410 of 432
Duration
Arrival date
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2008
"The chalet here was of outstanding quality, the sort of luxury we don't normally experience as a couple on holiday, what a treat! I adored the outside shower and thought that was a brilliant touch of luxury. Food was excellent and really liked the buffet style so that you could pick what you liked in the main meal and the staff brought you your starter and desert.

This place was 5 star to us. The service was impeccable with exceptionally well trained staff, almost scarily efficient when you are used to the standard of service in the UK!! The trip to see the elephants we felt was quite expensive but to see them so close up and as we were the only 2 on the trip it gave us such a lovely amount of time to spend just watching them." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Desert elephants
UK

"Thoroughly pleasant experience"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2008
"A dreadful road from Khorixas (due to being washed out after heavy rains), but well worth the trip.

Because of the rains, the desert elephants had strayed far from their usual haunts and had not been seen for three weeks - but our guide, Lester, found them for us in two hours in knee-high grass!.

All the staff were friendly and efficient, but our special recommendation must be for Florensia who is outstanding.
We would love to return there in typical dry conditions (if we can tolerate the road again). Actually, the road had been re-graded before our return journey - which indicates that they do a good job" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Photographer
IOM

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2008
"Rather gloomy main building. Outdoor shower was a novelty.

Pool definitely not nice !

Guide tried very hard to find an elephant but we only saw footprints. We would have prefered to stay further north (our first choice was Damaraland Camp which is closed for renovation)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The Baobabs
Kirk

"A fortress on a hill"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2008
"The main building is a rather forbidding castle like structure, which does however fit in with the surrounding rock. Iinside though is very pleasant and well laid out with an area on the roof for stargazing. The staff are incredibly friendly and open; we had a lovely waitress who announced the menu in the Damara language, with all the clicks.

We specially enjoyed the accommodation, large individual units with private patio, wonderful views, complete with outdoor shower and gheckos. We appreciated the opportunity of talking with the local staff and learning about the area from them. We thought the activites in general, apart from the early morning guided walk, were very expensive so we visited Twyfelfontein in our own car, and had more time with our own guide at a fraction of the cost!." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms Rockjumper
UK

"Doro Nawas an unexpected find"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2008
"Our journey to Doro Nawas was long and arduous. But when we arrived, it was an astonishing place! The lodge is part of a community conservancy project and we spent a great deal of time talking with the managers about what it is trying to achieve. It was very impressive!

The individual chalets were designed to such a high level and they were done so imaginatively, we felt we'd never seen anything like it anywhere in Europe or North America. One small design flaw - the ceiling fan only had one speed (very fast) and it would have been more comfortable to have a range of options. But otherwise it was luxury and stimulating detail and comfort all the way.

Food was similarly First Class and sophisticated. Service was fantastic.

The tours offered seemed very expensive. We chose to go to Twyflfontein to see rock carvings - and we would have liked to spend more time there. But we had an interesting drive, stopping at other places going to and coming from the site, so overall we were happy with our morning excursion." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Lewes

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2008
"Doro Nawas looked forbidding with its black stone, but was both luxurious (loved the bed with a view, and the outside shower as well as the inside one) and with probably the most cheerful staff of the whole trip.

We have cringed a bit in the past at the cultural dancing at a hotel in Victoria Falls: the little song and dance here after each meal, being by the people we already knew from serving us food or drinks, and singing some of their own songs with such evident enjoyment and humour, was different. Great fun, and I am a huge fan of African harmony.

The long morning drive not only found the elephants, it gave us at 45 minutes or more of relaxed and absorbing watching on the way out, then another shorter session on the way back, and that was excellent, not least because there were two calves of 4 weeks and 2 weeks.

And the landscape we travelled through on the rest of that trip was so varied, and our guide very informative on bushes, trees and birds.

Expensive place to stay, but well worth it. We enjoyed the rock carvings and the guided tour at Twyfelfontain which we drove ourselves to." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Longclaws
Edinburgh

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2008
"Great location, great room.

The food choice and quality did not match but they tried." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Berkshire

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2007
"We loved this camp - the location, the rooms, the staff - it was all perfect. Florentia, Johann & Jefta were all very helpful and friendly.

Jefta gave us a memorable day with the desert-adapted elephants and Florentia never stopped smiling - my daughters fell in love with her! On New Years Eve Florentia and the other female camp workers gave us an impromptu concert of African music which was a lovely way to celebrate.

n my opinion this camp has the best rooms out of all the ones we stayed at." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2007
"Trips to see desert adapted elephants was first class.

Very warm welcome.

Outside veranda now has canopy which provides welcome shade but perhaps spoils the appearance." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Cape turtle doves
UK

"Doro Nawas review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2007
"Doro Nawas was actually rather difficult to find as it hasn't got around to issuing a map yet. It is also a rather strange looking place, rather like an experimental laboratory in the desert run by a mad scientist. As ever the welcome was very warm - cold drinks and cool towels. The food and rooms very excellent.

We managed to combine two different activities into a single drive- seeing elephants along the river bed and then continuing to see Bushman art in the nearby mountains. Very interesting....but apart from that there is not much else to do. In hindsight we would have been better off staying only 2 nights at Doro Nawas and having an extra night at Waterberg." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Showing 401-410 of 432
93%
432 reviews of Doro Nawas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
311
96
20
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa