This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

153 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 31 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

5% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

77% success

Giraffe

57% success

Oryx

30% success

Zebra

13% success

Wildebeest

5% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 153
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
Jersey

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2009
"Stunningly beautiful accommodation with views to die for.

Sun downer drinks from their viewpoint were unbelievable." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms W
London

"Relaxing mountain camp with great views"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2009
"We stayed at Mowani for 2 nights as the second stop of our holiday and had booked tent 9, the honeymoon tent. Although not strictly a view tent, I think most of the tents have great vistas over the boulder landscape that surrounds Mowani and #9 definitely did. We had an outside bathroom which was great and definitely different, but this also means you have to be comfortable with the insect life that comes with an outdoor space.

The tents themselves were perhaps the most basic accommodation of our trip, but the bed was very comfortable and not too hot either when the side "windows" were left open. The tents could perhaps do with a little fridge to keep water/drinks cold and also insects would tent to make their way into the tent as they can never be 100% sealed off, so it is good to be aware of this.

We had a great waiter, Eugene, who would serve us breakfast, lunch and dinner and he was a very affable character and we enjoyed the banter we would have with him at meal times. He was both efficient and friendly, and we received great service from him. The food at Mowani was good and portions large, but somethings such as pastries, break etc. were not as good as in some of the other lodges. The sundowners on a big rock provided great views, but when there are a lot of people at the camp it can become quite busy and private sun-downers may also be an option. We felt that there was at times some underlying tension between the camp management and staff as well, which did not always make the sun-downers the most relaxing experience.

In terms of activities, Mowani focused on the rock painting excurions and desert-elephant tracking. We went on the elephant-tracking excursion one morning, but did not find them despite our guide's best efforts. Interestingly, a couple we met later on our travels had stayed at Damaraland Camp at the same time and had sighted three herds of elephants so maybe that may be a more reliable lodge to go in April as the elephants will often travel around depending on where they think they can find water.

The scenery around Mowani is amazing and the plentiful rains in Namibia in 2009 meant that the ground was covered in knee/waist-high grass which made the surroundings very picturesque and interesting to photograph. Overall, Mowani was an enjoyable place to stay and experience something different, though if visiting Damaraland again, we may be tempted to try another lodge (e.g. Damaraland Camp or Doro Nawas) to experience something different as well." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2009
"What a simply stunning place! Our view tent here was our favourite room of our whole trip, the view over the surrounding landscape was incredible.

The food was excellent, and service in general was of a very high standard. Sun-downer drinks from the viewpoint, complete with a bar and nibbles was really special. We were on our honeymoon and they went to amazing extra lengths to make it feel special for us - a table for two by the camp fire under the stars for dinner one night, followed by breakfast for two on top of the viewpoint the next morning.

Vincent the manager even helped us change our flat tyre! Unfortunately due to the rains there was very little wildlife, but it was an amazing place just to sit and enjoy the sun and scenery." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & friend
Bodmin

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2008
"Mowani is yet another five star camp. The staff were wonderfully friendly and their smiles will be with us for months to come.

It is a fun place to stay with every comfort, and finding the desert elephants and spending time with them was very special.

We have lots of photos of the singing, the sunsets, the staff and warm memories of out stay." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Welling

"Fantastic Mowani Mountain Camp"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2008
"What a contrast to the Burning Shore!

Vincent (the manager) and his team were excellent. Particularly in view of what happened on our way to the camp (see comments under Europcar). As we were late for the afternoon activity Vincent took us out personally. He also handled the arrival of the replacement car (at midnight) so that we weren't disturbed.

All this and a stunning location as well. Can't recommend this camp too highly! Only wished we had booked for a longer stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D & Mr C
Stockport

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Now why were we sent to Kulala when MOwani came along - what a contrast!
Lovely lovely staff
Very welcoming
Good Food
Strange that you had to pay for Sundowners! Makes it look stingy! Just include it in the price if you are FBA and get on with it!
Great place!
Mowani is how it is meant to be!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"elephant safari was great"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Though each of the staff was friendly, we felt that this had a more formal atmosphere. (slightly colonial?)

The guide for our morning trip was excellent." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"Luxurious, very spectacular location. The sundowner spot was amazing, it was good to settle down with a drink and watch the sun go down over the mountains and granite boulders.

The staff were very attentive, making a real effort to accomodate my dietry requirements. We had the same waiter for the duration of the stay making the service feel very personnal. As it was our honeymoon they organised a romantic dinner by the fire and breakfast at the sundowner spot.

This was the best lodge we stayed in durng our trip." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr G
Surrey

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"It is the best place we ever stayed during our Namibian trip. Felt that we are in the 'out of africa'. The view is stunning.

We wish that we could have stayed there forever because the view is definitely one of the highlights! So peaceful there!

The service was outstanding.

Enjoyed the Elephant drive trip. Saw a baby elephant, only 3 days old - another highlight of our trip!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Netherlands

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"Perfect service and extremely friendly staff ! From the camp you have a beautiful view over the area and you stay in a very luxurious tent. At sundown a nice welcome-drink is organised at a beautiful spot on the rocks.

The safari the next day was very special: we saw a herd with three baby-elephants (one of them only one day old!) and also three cheetahs. Our guide Reynoldus really did his best to find the elephants for us! Wonderful place to stay!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 121-130 of 153
94%
153 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
119
25
4
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


94% (478 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (123 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (117 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (116 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (98 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


93% (42 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


85% (8 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


97% (6 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


93% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa