This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

139 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

7% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

77% success

Giraffe

57% success

Oryx

38% success

Zebra

13% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 121-130 of 139
Duration
Arrival date
Dune-hoppers
London

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"Fantastic. Had tent no 2 with a beautiful outlook to the west. particularly enjoyed sundowners and sunsets on the high granite rock.

The bushman art tour was so so .... might have been better to go ourselves and spend more time. But nature tour was fantastic.

Host and hostess and whole staff helpful and efficient. Enjoyed watching the many birds drinking from their series of rock pools while in the comfort of their spectacular `lounge'.

Our last morning breakfast on the high granite rock was a delightful surprise." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Goshawks
Merseyside

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2008
"A stunning location. The manager was exceptionally helpful.

As well as the main activities of rock art and desert elephants we enjoyed the interesting local self-guided walk." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The swifts
London

"Wonderful view from tent"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2008
"Most of the camps we stayed in were all-inclusive.

It is unclear why this camp is different and all activities and lunches have to be paid for separately. It seems a bit mean." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2008
"Mike and I are getting married this year - Mowani would be the perfect place if we hadn't already booked somewhere closer to home.

The sundowner view with bar was probably the best of our holiday and tracking the desert elephants with a guide who knew his craft was trully fantastic - it took 4 hours to find them but it was well worth it and also made us realise you do have to find them" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Pangolins
Bromley

"Marvellous Mowani"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2008
"Happilly in a 4x4, we had a much improved journey up into Damaraland. The Camp is wonderfully set in the boulder mountains, and we had a wonderful tented room, with fabulous outside shower.

The dining was excellent, with tables set for each room. Sadly our elephant safari ended in failure, after six hours searching (probably because the pregnant elephants in the herd had gone into the mountains to give birth); feedback has been given directly to the hotel over the lack of other info on this drive. The Twyfelfontain drive was good, but we ran short of time, and missed the burnt mountain and organ pipes - because we had to stop to help a broken down car - however Frederick was an excellent guide and made every effort to get us home for sunset.

The sundowners were great, even when we had a brief shower which produced a lovely rainbow. We did the local nature hike with a hotel guide (Lesley), but my wife lost a ring on this walk, which despite much searching, could not be found. On our last evening, the hotel made a fabulous gesture in setting us a table for dinner away from the dining area, and we had a terrific dinner with champagne by the rocks; on our last morning, we were humbled by the camp giving us breakfast on the lookout rock; a wonderful end to a lovely stay.

Three days after we left, and having moved on to Waterberg, our lodge had a call saying that Rachel's ring had been found! Mowani made every effort to get it back to us, and eventually had it flown to a small airfield in Windhoek, where we picked it up on our way back to the airport. We cannot thank them enough for this, which was a lovely thing to do.

Staying at Mowani was the highlight of our trip to Namibia." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Doormice
Norfolk

"wonderful location"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2008
"amazing location and tents with a fantastic view.

we didn't do the elephant excursion as we were ill but I gather they rarely see them in the wet season anyway
the food we had was delicious and the staff attentive

the only negative was that having brought us soup to our balcony for lunch one day they still had not cleared away the dirty dishes by the time we checked out the next morning" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms F
War

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2007
"We stayed at a veiw tent overlooking with 180 degree of the vast horizon; spectacular. The tent was well equiped and in good condition. The service was friendly and attentive. The food excellent.

Mowani put a lot of attention to the detail - sundowner drinks on the rocks overlooking the vast countryside, a log fire to relax after dinner and chat to the other guess before bed. On our last morning they laid a private table at the viewpoint on the rocks for our breakfast, a wonderful surprise. We felt really pampered.

We took the trip to see the desert elephants which was a long and dusty ride of over 5 hours but our guide was tenacious and found two seperarte herds, to our delight and satisfaction." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss F & Mr H
York

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2007
"The guide was exceptional (Reinhold) went out of his way to ensure we saw the Desert Elephants.

The Suite is something special!!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Mrs V
Kent

"Hot days at Mowani"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"Another excellent stay in Damaraland. Set among the rocks the tented accomodation fulfilled expectations (though some zips could do with some replacing}. and the otdoor shower and bath were appreciated.

The open style lounge and dining room overlooking the desert/scrub were comfortable as you would expect and on our first day the misting machine was appreciated. However the nest day it was exceptionally hot but too windy so the luxury of the mister was absent Meals were in general very good and staff attentive.

It is worth pointing out that in the heat on day two nobody moved about much so no trips were taken - something to bear in mind in the summer months.!

Also the tents retain the heat so for comfort maybe freestanding fans should be introduced." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs E
Broom

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2007
"Mowani was in a beautiful setting. The rooms and communal areas were exceptional. A highlight was the sundowner.

One night was the right length of time here as we felt there wasn't a huge amount to do although it was very nice relaxing by the pool." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 121-130 of 139
94%
139 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
23
3
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (448 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (118 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (111 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (94 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (35 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa