This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp
Mowani Mountain Camp

Reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

139 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mowani Mountain Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mowani Mountain Camp.
Lion

7% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

77% success

Giraffe

57% success

Oryx

38% success

Zebra

13% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 111-120 of 139
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Welling

"Fantastic Mowani Mountain Camp"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2008
"What a contrast to the Burning Shore!

Vincent (the manager) and his team were excellent. Particularly in view of what happened on our way to the camp (see comments under Europcar). As we were late for the afternoon activity Vincent took us out personally. He also handled the arrival of the replacement car (at midnight) so that we weren't disturbed.

All this and a stunning location as well. Can't recommend this camp too highly! Only wished we had booked for a longer stay." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D & Mr C
Stockport

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Now why were we sent to Kulala when MOwani came along - what a contrast!
Lovely lovely staff
Very welcoming
Good Food
Strange that you had to pay for Sundowners! Makes it look stingy! Just include it in the price if you are FBA and get on with it!
Great place!
Mowani is how it is meant to be!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"elephant safari was great"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Though each of the staff was friendly, we felt that this had a more formal atmosphere. (slightly colonial?)

The guide for our morning trip was excellent." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"Luxurious, very spectacular location. The sundowner spot was amazing, it was good to settle down with a drink and watch the sun go down over the mountains and granite boulders.

The staff were very attentive, making a real effort to accomodate my dietry requirements. We had the same waiter for the duration of the stay making the service feel very personnal. As it was our honeymoon they organised a romantic dinner by the fire and breakfast at the sundowner spot.

This was the best lodge we stayed in durng our trip." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr G
Surrey

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"It is the best place we ever stayed during our Namibian trip. Felt that we are in the 'out of africa'. The view is stunning.

We wish that we could have stayed there forever because the view is definitely one of the highlights! So peaceful there!

The service was outstanding.

Enjoyed the Elephant drive trip. Saw a baby elephant, only 3 days old - another highlight of our trip!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Netherlands

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"Perfect service and extremely friendly staff ! From the camp you have a beautiful view over the area and you stay in a very luxurious tent. At sundown a nice welcome-drink is organised at a beautiful spot on the rocks.

The safari the next day was very special: we saw a herd with three baby-elephants (one of them only one day old!) and also three cheetahs. Our guide Reynoldus really did his best to find the elephants for us! Wonderful place to stay!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Damara Dik Diks
UK

"Views of such beauty and magnitude"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"Mowani, like Kulala, felt slick on arrival. But once again, we were treated so well, given (not requested but wonderful surprise!) the best room - luxury! - and the whole Mowani experience is so special, that we couldn't believe here was another lodge of such high standards. We have constantly told our three sons, that this is a one-off holiday and to savour every view, every meal, every place we stay at! Mowani's viewpoint was the best of all and the sundowners there memorable. I swam in the plunge pool each day and loved its clear cool water. The staff were excellent. The rooms were beautiful and with the best views. Food delicicious.

We took a guide on the desert elephant safari and he found elephant for us and that was wonderful. Worth doing and worth the money. We loved the rock dassies running around on the rocks! Wanted to see a leopard and just missed one spotted at breaksfast! We felt it might be useful if the owner had a board up somewhere visible for guests to read - noting down leopard sightings, for example. Our sons were disappointed not to see the leopard and perhaps had it been made clearer that the camp did have leopard around, then we would have been on the alert more. Better communication on animal sigthings would have been good for us.

It is hard as so often one is only one night in the camp but we were lucky to spend two nights! Loved the fire lit outside each evening. Very good shop. Might be nice to know more about how the camp began and who started it up and why it was sited where it was. Worth visiting Twyfelfontein rock paintings - did thi son our own and glad we did it. Our picnic lunches on day of departure were beatifully made and even had hand-decorated paper bags as did the brown paper bag into which my shop purchases went - very individual service here and the staff must be congratulated.

Mowani had the best view of anywhere I think and we shan't forget it ever. Our only positive criticism might be that our children were in a room a long way from us - so we couldn't check on them easily. More sensible to have us next to them. But the children loved seeing the lizards and rock hyraxes (dassies) and for them, it was a beautiful place, as it was for us." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2008
"This was our favourite camp. The scenery around here is very mountainous and beautiful. Sundowners were particularly special as they were enjoyed on a rock plateau with fabulous views of the sunset and they were accompanied by excellent canopes. Views from most of the "tents" were also stunning.

After our meal on the second night we were entertained by the staff who sang a number of traditional (and less traditional) folk songs. This was very special.

One of the highlights of our holiday was the morning game drive in search of desert adapted elephants. Our guide, Aton, was excellent and went to extrordinary lengths over very difficult terrain to find the elephants. We were eventually able to get close to a herd of about twenty elephants, including three young ones, for amazing photo opportunities. We must have observed the elephants for half an hour or more in total." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Royal Albatross
UK

"Great views and service in the Mountains"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2008
"Mowani is in a great location, with fabulous views. The arrival procedures could be a bit more slick - we were fooled by the position of the car parking area, and having parked, then didn't know where to go! Clearly we were supposed to drive to the main area of the Camp and then return the car to the carpark below. This really wasn't obvious.

We had a great welcome and were then taken to our tent, along a lengthy and quite uneven pathway. Quite how the porters negotiate these paths with suitcases has to be seen and appreciated. Fortunately, torches are provided to find your way after dark.

The sunset viewing is a good idea - with nice drinks and snacks available. The lounge area is located by a water feature which attracts lots of birds - great viewing at close quarters!

We took a trip to find Desert Adapted Elephants which was fabulous. Watching the elephants' progress across the landscape to the waterhole and being able to follow and observe them was truly magical. Less magical was the ride in the back row of the vehicle - the Guides would do well to know that it gets really uncomfortable in the back row when you travel for long distances on the dry river beds. We left our seats (i.e. were thrown up in the air) probably 20 times! Be warned - sit close to the centre of the vehicle and you'll be much more comfortable!

After the trip, we discovered we were missing a camera and the staff searched the vehicle and found it for us. They were very concerned to ensure it still worked, as they had already washed the vehicle down and the camera was a bit wet. It was entirely our fault for leaving the camera in the vehicle and we were so grateful at the helpful and caring attitude of the staff and the General Manager." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dune-larks
UK

"Holiday Highlight"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2008
"The most wonderful three-day stay. The setting is magical, with a pleasant trail amongst the boulders to wander each evening. The service is exceptionally good, the food unbelievably so given the remote location.

We must mention Vincent, the manager, who was helpful beyond the call of duty when the car broke down five miles away. He sorted everything so we could continue our holiday untroubled. The safari in search of desert elephants is a 'must' and we would like to compliment Frederick, the guide. Is there a 5plus rating?!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 139
94%
139 reviews of Mowani Mountain Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
108
23
3
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (448 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (118 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (111 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (94 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (35 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa